The Counterfeit Agent (John Wells Book 8) and over 2 million other books are available for Amazon Kindle . Learn more
£13.96
  • RRP: £19.99
  • You Save: £6.03 (30%)
FREE Delivery in the UK.
Only 1 left in stock.
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon.
Gift-wrap available.
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See all 3 images

The Counterfeit Agent (John Wells 8) Hardcover – 11 Feb 2014


See all 19 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
Hardcover
"Please retry"
£13.96
£9.29 £0.49

Frequently Bought Together

The Counterfeit Agent (John Wells 8) + The Night Ranger (John Wells 7)
Price For Both: £20.35

Buy the selected items together


Product details

  • Hardcover: 384 pages
  • Publisher: Headline (11 Feb 2014)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1472208234
  • ISBN-13: 978-1472208231
  • Product Dimensions: 15.6 x 3.4 x 23.9 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 3.6 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (12 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 550,474 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Author

Discover books, learn about writers, and more.

Product Description

Review

A genuine talent (The Sunday Times)

Ingenious (New York Times)

Gritty and fast-moving (Observer)

One of the best new spy writers (Sun)

Book Description

Ex-CIA agent John Wells returns in NYT bestselling author Alex Berenson's latest thrilling spy novel, for fans of Robert Ludlum and David Baldacci. --This text refers to the Paperback edition.

Inside This Book (Learn More)
Browse Sample Pages
Front Cover | Excerpt | Back Cover
Search inside this book:

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?

Customer Reviews

3.6 out of 5 stars
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

Format: Kindle Edition
Book #8, in the John Wells series

This latest adventure re-assembles most of the author’s familiar cast of characters and sets them on a race against the clock. This series has taken John all over the world but this time the focus is on Turkey and Iran, where a nuclear plot may or may not be taking shape. The premise in “The Counterfeit Agent” is far from original although Mr. Berenson has given it quite a personal twist and along the way has provided us with a well-crafted thrill ride and a believable act of betrayal.

This novel’s arc takes John through a treacherous twisted world of spies. The author knows how to pace and provide a plausible plot and like the previous books his grasp of geopolitical realities and the murky politics is highly noticeable. We have all the machinations we can imagine coming from Langley and the self-serving professionals jockeying for advantage. John is getting older but still is a killing machine, which has endured torture, been wounded, was injected with poison and yet he manages to pull through to take another mission and save America from going to war. This story is action packed, mimics what we suspect is happening in the real world and is full of surprises. Although many issues are solved, the ending a cliff-hanger leaves us there to find out the resolution…so stay tuned…

Although this book is entertaining, I prefer my story not to leave doors wide open and force my hand to see the outcome. After a strong start and keeping a steady pace the unfinished ending was such a disappointment that I can say this latest was not my preferred adventure and this by far...maybe rehashing the same old theme is getting stale and I need to break free from this in order to enjoy Mr. Berenson again in the future…..
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By Bobbewig TOP 1000 REVIEWER on 9 Mar 2014
Format: Hardcover
In The Counterfeit Agent, John Wells is asked by his former CIA boss to undertake a freelance, private mission. Without going into detail about the plot, it involves the threat of nuclear war between the US and Iran, with Wells being charged with using his unparalleled skills, including his ability to go undercover as an Arab, to try to uncover if the threat is real, or made to look real by another "player."

The Counterfeit Agent is the seventh book in the John Wells series, which has become very formulaic. While it is moderately entertaining, it is far less interesting, suspenseful, well-plotted, and as much of a page-turner than most of the early book in the series. As a matter of fact, it wasn't until its last 40 or 50 pages that The Counterfeit Agent generated any real thrills -- and then the book just ended without any "conclusion!" That is, to be continued in the sequel to follow in about a year or so.

Further on a comparative basis, The Counterfeit Agent falls considerably short in terms of dimensionalizing his main character and particularly his supportive characters; to the point that readers who have not read most of this author's previous books might feel they don't know the characters well enough to care much about what happens to them.

After my, at best, moderate satisfaction with The Counterfeit Agent and steady decline in satisfaction with each book in this series, Alex Berenson has now dropped from being one of my "don't miss" authors to "a let's wait and see what others think first" authors.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
I'm a huge fan of the John Wells series. The book was captivating and clearly leaves room for a follow on. I must admit I had been expecting a bit more exploration into his relationship with his family, but I guess that come in succeeding books. I'm taking one star off just because those who like this genre aren't going to find anything dramatically new in this one, but it was still highly entertaining
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Format: Kindle Edition
I started this book with high expectations having read the previous books in the 'John Wells' series. The story started OK but then became lost in a poor plot which was very easy to see through. This series has had its day in my view. The ending (whilst not wanting to spoil it for others) was, in my opinion, very disappointing.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Format: Hardcover Verified Purchase
I found this story tedious to a high degree. How many times does Wells (imprisoned/manacled) get to outwit two idiots who are guarding him, instead of them just whacking and dumping him? The first time he gets beat up it's because he acts like a complete simpleton….and it hardly advances the plot….it's like a porn movie that just sets you up for the next tired action sequence. I found none of the characters particularly likable or believable, and the action lame.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
By Gwynj on 19 Sep 2014
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
Alex Berenson is a great writer. The story runs along with great twists and cliff hangers at the end of each chapter. Always makes you want the next one to come out as soon as possible.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again


Feedback