Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars9
4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
7
4 star
1
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 June 2014
This is a good find with plenty of stories that are not just to catch the culprit. Well written twist between Harley Quin turning up and Mr Satterthwaite realising something may happen. Dead Man's Mirror though is really a Poirot story that features in other collections.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2015
I love Agatha Christie and love everything she writes. This is quite different to the poirot and Miss Marple books but none the worse for that. They are light hearted and easy to read but also very enjoyable.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 April 2014
I hadn't read these before but I love Agatha Christie and they didn't disappoint. Nice to have a little gentle romance in with the crime and they're different to the others I've read for that reason.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 December 2012
I hadn't read any Quin novels for a while so I a moving this collection with the added pleasure of Satterthwaite to boot.
If you're an A.C fan,make room on your nightstand for this one
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 May 2016
If I had to rescue just one book from my Agatha Christie collection, this is the one... it's sublime; sad and joyous and life affirming all at the same time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2016
quinn and satterthwaite are great, agatha christie is always a great read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 January 2016
Delightful stories with a mysterious, supernatural angle.
Loved them.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 4 March 2004
This book has all the stories featuring Mr Satterthwaite and Mr Quin, the Mysterious Mr Quin, Three-Act-Tragedy, Dead Man's Mirror, The Love Detectives and The Harlequin Tea Set. Two of Agatha Christie's favourtie characters.
Mr Quin is a mysterious character who turns up and stands in the background giving out little hints and bringing important bits of information that would usually be ignored. Mr Satterthwaite is a slight snob who moves in the highest circles observing life and enjoying dramas.
The short stories in The Mysterious Mr Quin are wonderful, extremely clever at getting the reader and characters to see how if you look at something from a different angle in can put a whole new perspective on a situation.
Three-Act-Tragedy features Hercule Poriot with Mr Satterthwaite, it starts with a seemingly natural death of a vicar in which only a few people don't believe that the death is natural and are proved right when another man dies in practically the same way. A compelling story with a twist at the end that will surprise most readers although some people will figure it out.
The last three novels all run along a similar vein as the others. People looking at something one way then being shown another way to look at the evidence which gives it all new meaning.
Although these stories are different from Agatha Christie's normal mode of writing they do get a little predictable once you get used to the way the writer's mind worked while writing these stories.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 December 2014
nice item thank you!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse