The Call and over 2 million other books are available for Amazon Kindle . Learn more

Buy Used
Used - Very Good See details
Price: 2.79

or
 
   
Have one to sell? Sell yours here
Sorry, this item is not available in
Image not available for
Colour:
Image not available

 
Start reading The Call on your Kindle in under a minute.

Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here, or download a FREE Kindle Reading App.

The Call: Discovering Why You Are Here [Hardcover]

Oriah Mountain Dreamer
3.8 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (4 customer reviews)

Available from these sellers.


Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition 3.99  
Hardcover --  
Paperback --  
Audio, Cassette, Audiobook 18.72  

Book Description

6 Oct 2003

Following in the tradition of The Invitation and The Dance, The Call is based on an inspirational poem, exploring how to live well, and continue to live a life full of integrity, commitment, happiness and passion.

The Call continues the inspiring work create by Oriah Mountain Dreamer in her previous best selling books The Invitation and The Dance. In The Call she takes her message to deeper levels which will appeal to both her long term followers and new readers alike.

Each chapter of this book begins with a line from her new poem, and explores our ability to open up to the adventure of living.


Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought


Product details

  • Hardcover: 224 pages
  • Publisher: Element; First Edition edition (6 Oct 2003)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0007151136
  • ISBN-13: 978-0007151134
  • Product Dimensions: 19.8 x 13.4 x 2.4 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 3.8 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (4 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 1,209,441 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Author

Discover books, learn about writers, and more.

Product Description

Review

“Oriah has the gift of being able to slip inside the soul’s secret and brings its desire to voice. The Call is at once fierce in its urgency for Becoming and yet so patient in its compassion for our frailty. Her grounding intuition is: if you attend to your depths, they will guide, shelter and transform you. The Call is a gift of healing and renewal. Enjoy it!”
John O’Donohue, author of international bestsellers ‘Anam Cara’ and ‘Eternal Echoes’

About the Author

Oriah Mountain Dreamer is the author of the international bestsellers The Invitation and The Dance. She is a popular public speaker and travels all over the world promoting her work and her inspirational way of thinking which has inspired millions.


Inside This Book (Learn More)
Browse and search another edition of this book.
First Sentence
It comes most often just before I fall asleep. Read the first page
Explore More
Concordance
Browse Sample Pages
Front Cover | Copyright | Table of Contents | Excerpt | Back Cover
Search inside this book:

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?


Customer Reviews

3.8 out of 5 stars
3.8 out of 5 stars
Most Helpful Customer Reviews
4.0 out of 5 stars Reaching out to yourself. 29 May 2013
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
This book confirmed what I knew already, God is all around us and within us at all times. Oriah teaches us to access his presence within us and use this presence to enhance our lives and that of others. Inspiring.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
5.0 out of 5 stars Insightful 4 April 2013
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
Well written book in Oriah's usual style. Insightful, thought provoking and relevant.We should all strive to heed our own call!
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
4.0 out of 5 stars Self-decovery personified 10 Jun 2012
By Lucinda
Format:Hardcover
`The call' is the moving and stunning conclusion to an epic trilogy that began with `the invitation' and continued with `the dance'. This is a book that opens a window into your heart and which delves down into the very depths of ones soul, exploring what we know of ourselves through the eyes of other people thus handing us a mirror to look into. It helps the reader to explore who they are as an individual by understanding ultimately what it means to be human, by what makes us unique, distinctive and most singular as human beings. By letting go you are able to be honest with yourself and through courage find out much more than you would have thought possible, which will shock you, surprise you and touch your heart. This by far has to be one of the most truth-drawing books that I have ever encountered, where the author reaches out to you with her brave humanity as a poet and lover with such skin-and-bone honesty, that I found to be most personal. You are nourished by all the wisdom that she carries as you begin to learn so much about life and yourself in it, with such vision that gives light to the darkness. I found myself re-evaluating my actions and thoughts on life and on myself, which led to the most life changing consequences that all took place because of a decision that I had made since reading this remarkable book, hence I now certainly hope to be as proactive as I possibly can be. I was touched by how much of herself the author puts within her work, so as to give it more meaning and depth of feeling. Even the reader who feels most contented within their minds and who are sure of themselves and their futures, I do strongly urge that they read this book as it would certainly have an impact on any reader's life. Read more ›
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing end to the trilogy! 7 Sep 2003
Format:Hardcover
What a shame - I adored the first two books "The Invitation" and "The Dance" and therefore was eagerly awaiting this book. However, I felt disappointed to say the least, where the other books had encouraged readers to look within themselves this one felt heavily religious! Far too goddy a book for me and although I too love Rumi poetry I was surprised to see it so widely represented in some of the actual wording of this book.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)
Amazon.com: 4.0 out of 5 stars  17 reviews
33 of 33 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Call to be at peace 7 Sep 2004
By Reader - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Hardcover
I have read two of Oriah's earlier books, the invitation and the dance, and the third in the trilogy i like even better than the other two. Oriah speaks to the reader with absolute honesty - on her relationships, her family, work, fears and hopes of everyday life - and how she deals with it. I particularly liked what she said about finding your 'word' or the one word around which inner dynamics evolve. And her clarity/differentiation between ego and essence is incredible, a noteworthy approach to practical spirituality needed for modern times.

This is definitely not for the average self help person or someone who just wants to 'make it work' with ten points on how-to- it is more for those of us who struggle with finding inner peace and authenticity in all that we do. Also the author has a very verbose style of writing that may not appeal to many - particularly those who are not very word-oriented and that might be something to watch for.
46 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Call: Discovering Why You Are Here 21 May 2004
By Gwendolyn - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Hardcover|Verified Purchase
Stunned by two negative reviews, I feel compelled to add my thoughts about this book--a book which I have heavily highligthted and found to be thoroughly honest. The author deals with the not-so-easy aspects of the spiritual journey with a direct 21st century awareness, using her own life as example. Anyone on a genuine spiritual journey of their own will understand what she means when she writes: "Create a gap in your story and sit within the gap, sit in the emptiness of not knowing who or what you are until an awareness of your essential nature fills you." This is one more book to add to my library of hundreds of volumes of spiritual literature, many of which I gathered while in seminary working towards a master's degree in Spritual Direction. Along with The Cloud of Unknowing, works by the Desert Fathers, Teresa of Avila, Julian of Norwich, Evelyn Underhill, Joseph Campbell and others I add Oriah Mountain Dreamer for speaking bravely to our time and, more specifically, to my life.
20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Spiritual Workbook 6 Nov 2003
By Peter Marmorek - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Hardcover
Even more than its two excellent predecessors ("The Invitation" and "The Dance") the third book of Oriah's trilogy is a handbook on how to live. While influences of both the Sufis and Lao-Tze (Taoist) are present, the voice is clearly unique and powerfully original. Grounding her teachings in stories from her life, Oriah marshalls a persuasive argument that the core issue in our lives and our relation to Spirit is not that we need to do more, but that we need to accept who we are. The meditations offer clear and practical steps towards accomplishing that.
This is a practical book, that can be enjoyed whatever the reader's religious views are. Highly recommended!
9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Flowing with the call 28 Mar 2005
By Lola Jovita - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Hardcover
Most people spend their entire lives a walking mummy ... dsepite whatever external appearances they create for others. Oriah Mountain Dreamer shares yet another poem on the soul of our existence. Careers, stimulation, hobbies, and societal pressures are masks to out true callings. With her eloquent pen and angelic usage of words ... Oriah offers readers a lyrical remedy and recipe to begin/continue the journey towards living in alignment with our true calling.
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Call 5 May 2008
By Knowledge Seeker - Published on Amazon.com
Verified Purchase
I buy audio books because I drive 20 hrs a week. I was listening to the sections were she talks about the word each of us came to earth to work on. I ran through 3-4 words, but non of them seemed right. All of a sudden "I am worthy" popped into my head. I was sitting at a stop light & glanced at the license tag on the car in front of me, and it read "U R WORTHY". I might have second guesses myself before this message, but not now. Just what I needed! I recommend this book for anyone searching for an answer to why we are here.
Were these reviews helpful?   Let us know
Search Customer Reviews
Only search this product's reviews

Customer Discussions

This product's forum
Discussion Replies Latest Post
No discussions yet

Ask questions, Share opinions, Gain insight
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 

Search Customer Discussions
Search all Amazon discussions
   


Look for similar items by category


Feedback