Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars301
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£3.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 11 February 2016
This 2013 crime thriller focuses on a police emergency call centre employee Jordan Turner (Berry), who receives a call from a teenage girl which ends tragically. Emotionally affected by the incident, Jordan is working as a trainer for 9-1-1 operators six months later when another girl is kidnapped Jordan handle the call made via the girls mobile phone, but what will the outcome be?
From the outset this is bursting with tension and atmosphere and while the overall plot doesn’t seem that interesting, it is incredibly good at sucking you in as Jordan tries to guide the kidnapped girl in an attempt to save her.
The single disc offers play, scene selection and languages [English audio descriptive or for deaf and hard of hearing].
Despite some obvious flaws and liberties taken to create atmosphere/tension, this is extremely gripping and provides an emotional rollercoaster, the troughs of which are always higher then the last, escalating the tension to the nicely twisted end. Some gore and cringing ‘Oh No!’ moments add an horrific aspect, not for the sensitive.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 December 2014
I really loved this one. It has Halle Berry and Abigail Breslin. The last time I saw her was with my daughter watching Nimm or little miss sunshine - here she is quite different, in a bad situation, and she is still great. The plot is quite gripping. Contrary to many reviewers, I found the Saw-like ending quite good and it took me by surprise. The villain is suitably bad, some other "thomas harris" movie comes to mind but you will see. Honestly as thrillers go this is a good one and I recommend it.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2015
What a amazing film from start to finish, best film I've really enjoyed all the way through some horrible scenes some heart breaking scenes and a little bit of action in it but mostly a thriller one of those films everyone will say they've seen a must see!
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 14 September 2014
Experienced 911 operator Jordan Turner (Berry) isn't going to let the same fate happen to another young girl that's been kidnapped on her watch. So she takes matters into her own hands with a more proactive approach to her job.

The Call's early introduction to the intriguing duties/procedures of the varied tasks & pressure involved as a 911 operator, quickly maneuvers into the extremes of the job. As a home invasion call quickly grabs your attention with it's tense unfolding horror & sowing the tragic seeds for the lead character. Flashing forward 6 months in a brief moment of calm, as thereafter you don't have much time to catch your breath as the abduction of another girl occurs. The majority of it is based on a thrilling real time to-and-fro between the 911 operator Jordan & the girl(s) she tries to help stay safe & locate , under extremely turbulent & highly emotionally charged circumstances. The pace of the movie, solid acting & simple yet effective special effects, offsets the financial constraints so well that you'd not suspect for the majority of the film at least, that this is in fact a low budget movie ($13m). They're are a few predictable moments & cliche's but otherwise it retains your interest nonetheless.

Halle Berry (X-Men) is believable as the under pressure 911 operator who has to come back from such a traumatic event, to save a young girl & herself, emotionally. Abigail Breslin (Little Miss Sunshine) as the abducted girl is impressive, her emotional ride from teenage brat to mummies girl with a distressing phone message was a very heart tugging transformation. Michael Eklund (The Divide) was credible as the baddie, his gradual deteriorating mental state made him an unpredictable & disturbing quantity. Also co-stars Morris Chestnut (Kick-Ass 2) in a romantic role as Jordan's cop BF, handling the on the ground police procedural work & Roma Maffia (Nick Of Time) as her never judge a book by it's cover boss.

In conclusion, the fast pace of The Call covers up it's short comings so that you remain focused on the non-stop thrills & tense horror that sweep you up in it's exciting race against time plot. Contains strong language & graphic violence. Recommended.
11 comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2014
Great story line just a shame about the ending. Very intense at points but enjoyable to watch. Makes you really think about the job off 911 operators.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 December 2015
I like to have some background noise when cleaning the house or doing other things so i always put random films on to half watch but this persevered my full attention.
its got a great story line and the acting is really good as you would expect from Halle Berry, but it is also well researched so you can believe that the 911 call actually happened.
needless to say my housework did not get done today as i was transfixed. Realistically watch it with popcorn and on a sofa!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 November 2015
a superb and tense, fast-moving drama with the unusual angle of the emergency services seen from the point of view of the call centre - presenting the unexpected dilemmas that come from being the person on the phone as go-between with huge responsibility for the potential victim of crime but only too aware of the limitations that circumstances force on them as a crime progresses on the other end of the line.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 February 2016
Really only 3 people in this film with a real part. Halle Berry plays her 911 call centre part well, Abigail Breslin does feisty teenage girl well in all her roles and then the killer, who we see earlier in this film than in many, is standard psycho weirdo. Some very predictable scenes, and a few parts where you're thinking "ah that's crazy, she wouldn't do that" or "she would do that instead" etc but it's alright as these kinds of films go. And the part where Halle is thinking on her feet on the emergency phone to Abigail is quite tense and cleverly scripted.

There's a nice extra bit on the ending after the "usual" conclusion. All in all, with a little suspended disbelief it's enjoyable enough.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 December 2015
Excellent movie. I'm not going to give any details away, except to say it slightly reminded me of Silence of the Lambs. NOTE TO SELF - Must remember not to read all the way through reviews in future - its soooo annoying when people write a review and actually tell you the whole plot.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 January 2016
Average thriller detailing the abduction of a young teen, and Halle Berry's 911 operator, implausibly getting in on the action. To be fair, the tension factor is handled well with an urgent sounding score to match. Berry is fine , but is capable of so much more than this. The film does have an effective (and very messed up) villain, but is highly predictable in parts, and don't even get me started on the ultra Hollywood third act. Oh, and there's the last scene, which appears to belong to another film altogether - if I was watching this with popcorn, it would have had me spluttering it over the row in front in disbelief...
Strictly a rental if you have to see it.

5/10
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)