The Brothers Funk: Rare N... has been added to your Basket
+ £1.26 UK delivery
Used: Very Good | Details
Sold by momox co uk
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: Please allow 1-2 weeks for delivery. For DVDs please check region code before ordering.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Image Unavailable

Image not available for
  • The Brothers Funk: Rare New York City Funk 1969-1975
  • Sorry, this item is not available in
  • Image not available

The Brothers Funk: Rare New York City Funk 1969-1975

1 customer review

Price: £12.70 & FREE Delivery in the UK on orders over £20. Details
Only 1 left in stock (more on the way).
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
12 new from £9.49 4 used from £8.49
£12.70 & FREE Delivery in the UK on orders over £20. Details Only 1 left in stock (more on the way). Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.

Special Offers and Product Promotions

  • Buy a CD from our World, Folk, Classical or Jazz stores to purchase Songlines Music Awards 2015 CD for £3.99. Here's how (terms and conditions apply)

Product details

  • Audio CD (31 Oct. 2005)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: Beat Goes Public
  • ASIN: B000BEZQ4A
  • Other Editions: Audio CD
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 222,869 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

1. Skunk Juice
2. Toe Jam
3. Groovin'
4. Fever
5. Work Song
6. Juicy Lucy
7. Chicken Scratch - The Chilli Peppers
8. Fly Vines - The Chilli Peppers
9. A Gritty Nitty
10. New Orleans
11. High Heel Sneakers
12. Chick A Boom
13. Greasy Greens
14. A Gritty Nitty (75)
15. Back To Beaufort
16. Loose And Juicy
17. Clabber Biscuits
18. Toe Jam
19. Work Song (75)
20. Spooky
See all 23 tracks on this disc

Product Description

• This release is a real treat for funk bands as BGP gathers up the highly sought-after recordings of New York Funk band the Pazant Brothers, who were originally the house band at GWP Records.

• Produced from original master tapes and with an in-depth booklet that includes interviews with Al and Ed Pazant, and also the band’s produceer Ed Bland for a full overview of their career.

• The compilation starts with their rare GWP singles that now fetch high prices. These six tracks are joined by the both sides of the single that they released as the Chili Peppers, the two tracks that only appeared on rare GWP compilation albums, as well as an unreleased version of ‘High Heel Sneakers’. Only two of these tracks have ever been reissued.

• Their single from the Vigor label, ‘Chica Boom’, backed with ‘Greasy Greens’ is included, both sides are now sought after by DJs and sample collectors.

• The CD finishes off with the whole of the band’s 1975 album for Vanguard, "Loose And Juicy", that revisited and updated much of their earlier material. This funk gem is one of the most collectable of funk LPs, sought after for the constant high quality of the tracks.

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See the customer review
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
This would be one of my 'Desert Island Discs'. Instrumental brass in a similar vein to some current brass funk bands such as Rebirth brass band, but, these are the daddies! My friend asked if I wanted to do a set at his party, what he meant was 'can I bring this CD and we will play it from start to finish!' Ace!
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)

Amazon.com: 3 reviews
Horns-a-Plenty ... Incredible Band! 15 May 2015
By Donald E. Gilliland - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
I heard a fantastically funky song by the Pazant Brothers on one of those terrific "Super Funk" compilations last year, and hoping that there was more where that came from I ordered this CD. Wow, what a find! Horns a-plenty and funky grooves galore. Where has this incredible band been hiding all these years? This music, recorded from 1969 to 1975 is sheer funk brilliance.

Well, chock it down to bad marketing and inept record labels. The music that the Pazant Brothers made certainly was first rate, but like so many other great artists, they never seemed to get the breaks when they needed them. They put out one outstanding album for Vanguard in 1975 (hailed in the liner notes as "one of the most consistently funk albums ever recorded ... tough and funky"), titled "Loose and Juicy", but according to the liner notes "Vanguard had no idea how to promote black music ... and the record disappeared without a trace." The Pazant Brothers also did some recording for the De Lite label, known for their success with Kool & the Gang, but that effort also ended in tears. Again per the liner notes: "These tracks were part of an album project recorded at De Lite, but the label was more concerned with Kool and the Gang than breaking a new act, so the album was shelved and the tapes have now been lost."

If you haven't got the message by now, the Pazant Brothers were indeed a lively and funky act, combining musical prowess with tight grooves. Just the song titles alone ooze funkiness: Skunk Juice ... Toe Jam ... Juicy Lucy ... Chicken Scratch ... A Gritty Nitty ... Greasy Greens ... Loose and Juicy. And yes, they sound as good as you would expect. Lots of hard grooves and oh, those horns! Trumpet, saxophone, trombone; it's a horn firestorm! Honestly, this is the sort of upbeat funky sound that brings to mind the classic material by James Brown and the JB's; mostly instrumental jams that never let up.

The CD comes with an 8-page booklet with an essay about the Pazant Brothers written by Dean Rudland for this reissue in 2005. It also has interviews with Eddie Pazant and songwriter/producer Ed Bland. A thoroughly satisfying listening experience and a delightful discovery.
Five Stars 31 Oct. 2014
By Dug - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
Very happy with purchase.
3 of 11 people found the following review helpful
A good band which could have used vocalization 8 Feb. 2007
By Robert P. Bennett - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Audio CD
From the information I have read on this group, they were sort of an art form in NYC. Listening to them one would feel certain they are having a good time. However the listener might find their good time somewhat of a trial to listen to.
Were these reviews helpful? Let us know

Customer Discussions

This product's forum
Discussion Replies Latest Post
No discussions yet

Ask questions, Share opinions, Gain insight
Start a new discussion
First post:
Prompts for sign-in

Search Customer Discussions
Search all Amazon discussions

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?