The Broken and over 2 million other books are available for Amazon Kindle . Learn more
Buy Used
£1.68
+ £2.80 UK delivery
Used: Good | Details
Sold by Greener_Books
Condition: Used: Good
Comment: **SHIPPED FROM UK** We believe you will be completely satisfied with our quick and reliable service. All orders are dispatched as swiftly as possible! Buy with confidence!
Trade in your item
Get a £1.58
Gift Card.
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See all 3 images

The Broken Hardcover – 22 May 2014


See all 4 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
Hardcover
"Please retry"
£1.68
Available from these sellers.


Trade In this Item for up to £1.58
Trade in The Broken for an Amazon Gift Card of up to £1.58, which you can then spend on millions of items across the site. Trade-in values may vary (terms apply). Learn more

Product details

  • Hardcover: 304 pages
  • Publisher: Doubleday (22 May 2014)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0857521845
  • ISBN-13: 978-0857521842
  • Product Dimensions: 16 x 2.7 x 24.3 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 4.4 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (48 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 312,787 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Author

Tamar Cohen (who also writes as Tammy Cohen) is a freelance journalist writing for national magazines and newspapers. A late starter to fiction she has now written five novels - The Mistress's Revenge, The War of the Wives, Someone Else's Wedding, The Broken and Dying For Christmas - all published by Doubleday/Black Swan. Her sixth novel, First One Missing, is out in July 2015. She is a Writer in Residence at Kingston University and lives in North London with her partner and three (nearly) grown children, plus one very badly behaved dog.

Product Description

Review

"A chillingly real psychological drama that had me in a total reading frenzy. I absolutely loved it." (Lisa Jewell)

"Darkly compelling .... a pacy story that kept me turning the pages right until the final, shocking twist. " (Paula Daly)

"A brilliant and skilfully plotted depiction of the unexpected breakdown of a friendship between two couples, with one of the most chilling twists I've read in a long time. I couldn't put it down." (Louise Millar, author of THE PLAYDATE)

"A wonderfully compelling and exciting book, a storyline that had sparks flying from every page, terrific writing and a hugely exhilerating and thrilling read. I loved it!" (Louise Douglas)

"An inexorable drama in which the characters' prejudices and loyalties leave them unable to separate face value from reality. THE BROKEN explores manipulation, deceit, betrayal and abuse, and how loss can both shape and destroy us." (Elizabeth Forbes, author of NEAREST THING TO CRAZY)

"I raced to finish this story of a couple caught in the fall-out of their best friends' split. Beautifully written and peppered with moments of stunning observation, it's a superb read." (Amanda Jennings)

"Fabulous. I was drawn in from the very first page. Tamar is very skilled at creating characters that seem so real, almost as if we're their best friends too, yet beneath their exteriors, you just know there's so much more simmering away. The tension grew with every page turn, until it was almost unbearable, yet I couldn't stop reading! I literally gasped out loud, so shocked by the very unexpected ending. This brilliant book will be on my mind for a long time." (Samantha Hayes, author of UNTIL YOU'RE MINE)

"Compulsive reading ... the tension racks up and the book switches from domestic drama into full-blown, chilling thriller" (Essentials, Book of the Month)

"Everyone's talking about this ... A gripping cocktail of betrayal and revenge" (Prima Magazine)

"Dramatic, sad and tense, it's essential you get your hands on this thriller. (Five stars)" (Closer)

"A chillingly brilliant thriller" (Red Magazine)

"A sustained work of near genius that takes a very familiar theme - man leaves wife for younger model - and not only brilliantly dissects the breakdown of the marriage but also teh consequences for the couple's close circle of friends ...Cohen's first foray into psychological suspense is a triumph." (Daily Mail)

"Taut, tense and addictive" (Good Housekeeping)

Book Description

When close friends split, be careful whose side you're on - a stunning psychological thriller for fans of DEAR DAUGHTER and BEFORE I GO TO SLEEP.

Inside This Book (Learn More)
Browse Sample Pages
Front Cover | Copyright | Excerpt | Back Cover
Search inside this book:

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful By Tez Miller on 24 Nov. 2014
Format: Hardcover
No one writes psychological suspense quite like the British. They're the kind of books that fly under your radar, you give them a half-hearted attempt, and they complete surprise with their insidious greatness. (It shouldn't surprise me, but I can be pessimistic.) This happened earlier this year with Samantha Hayes's UNTIL YOU'RE MINE, and has done it again now with Tamar Cohen's THE BROKEN.

It starts off simply enough: Dan confesses to Josh that he's thinking of leaving his wife, Sasha. Told from the points of view of Josh and his wife, Hannah, the situation keeps escalating and twisting until you're not sure who's more annoying - Sasha or Dan. Meanwhile, Hannah and Josh, though they don't really want to, keep defending their friends. And, of course, it's the children who suffer the most.

In true psych-suspense form, there's a twist saved for the very end. I love twists! The author's biography says that THE BROKEN is the first in a series of psychological suspenses, but I hope they each stand alone. Tamar Cohen ends the story perfectly - giving enough detail to wrap everything up, but leaving a bit of mystery about the future. But if there was a second story with these characters, I doubt it would have the same impact.

Which could be why I'm wary of reading Samantha Hayes's second novel. UNTIL YOU'RE MINE is fabulous as a standalone, but apparently it's the first in a series starring the same investigators. The power in UNTIL YOU'RE MINE is the main focus on Claudia and the nanny - not the police, so I'm worried Book 2 won't be as powerful.

That said, I'm interested to check up on Tamar Cohen's next books, too. This year I've developed a fondness for psychological suspense novels, so bring 'em on!
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful By TBC-Founder on 9 Feb. 2015
Format: Kindle Edition
wow. I feel like I have been on a emotional roller coaster and ended up facing the wrong way. Tammy Cohen has a way of writing books that I adore and her characters are so unlikeable or unstable that I can only hope she has a very vivid imagination and doesn't base them on any one she knows as they are scary!
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful By Stef L on 29 May 2014
Format: Hardcover
This is the first book by Cohen that I have had the pleasure of reading. The blend of everyday meets sinister worked really well. Many of the characters unnerved me at times, they all seemed to have so many skeletons in the closet....some of them literally! This worked really well in creating a dark and sinister atmosphere throughout the book. The seemingly interspersed chapters about Lucie and Eloise piqued my interest as I tried to work out how they fitted into the main plot.
The twists within the book seemed to appear out of nowhere and left me shaking my head with a wry smile at times.
The imagery used throughout the book is powerful and really imposes its message on the reader 'Hannah felt as if little bits of her heart were splintering off and lodging like shrapnel inside her'
Its an overused saying in this genre however this book really does have a killer twist. I particularly loved that unlike in many books the ending was not a foregone conclusion that everyone was safe.
Thank you so much to the publishers Random House Transworld and NetGalley for a copy of a perfectly twisted novel. The words 'gobble gobble gobble' will stay with me for a very long time!
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By Annie on 13 Nov. 2014
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
I wasn't sure where this story was going for quite a while but found myself enjoying it. Not a heavy book and a good holiday read.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful By Maxine (Booklover Catlady) on 9 Sept. 2014
Format: Kindle Edition
Fan-freaking-tastic! Tamar Cohen yet again pulls of a sensation of a novel. I could not put this book down, from the first line to the last I was hungry for more. I've read a few of Tamar's books now but this stands out as a clear front runner, with a psychological tautness to it this book is a must read, for anyone who simply appreciates good fiction.

The book centres around two couples who have been friends for ages. We have Josh and Hannah with their daughter Lily and Dan and Sasha with their daughter September. The couples have shared time and laughs together since the children were babies, they trust each other and can't imagine anything different. It's friendship heaven.

Then it all goes horribly wrong. Best friends don't always stay best friends.

Dan drops a bombshell that puts tension between the couples, not only between each other but in their own homes also. Because best friends should not have to take sides right? But that's easier said than done. The plot in this novel is stunning, it's riveting and taut with subtle tensions that keep you so hooked in.

As things begin to crumble and trust issues appear, it's hard to know who is telling the truth, who to believe? Josh and Hannah are caught in the middle of the war between Sasha and Josh and are trying at the same time to not let it influence their own home and marriage. Even the friendship the two little girls have together is not immune to the secrets exposed and disaster that is rolling out in front of them.

In between all of this psychological drama is the voice of a young girl, for the whole book until the very end you don't know who this girl is, she talks of an unstable upbringing and unstable thoughts.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again


Feedback