Start reading The Broken on your Kindle in under a minute. Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here or start reading now with a free Kindle Reading App.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

 
 
 

Try it free

Sample the beginning of this book for free

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Sorry, this item is not available in
Image not available for
Colour:
Image not available
 

The Broken [Kindle Edition]

Tamar Cohen
4.3 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (55 customer reviews)

Kindle Price: £4.64 includes VAT* & free wireless delivery via Amazon Whispernet
* Unlike print books, digital books are subject to VAT.

Free Kindle Reading App Anybody can read Kindle books—even without a Kindle device—with the FREE Kindle app for smartphones, tablets and computers.

To get the free app, enter your e-mail address or mobile phone number.

Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition £4.64  
Hardcover --  
Paperback £4.00  
Kindle Daily Deal
Kindle Daily Deal: Up to 70% off
Each day we unveil a new book deal at a specially discounted price--for that day only. Learn more about the Kindle Daily Deal or sign up for the Kindle Daily Deal Newsletter to receive free e-mail notifications about each day's deal.

Book Description

'A work of near genius' Daily Mail - chiller for fans of GIRL ON THE TRAIN and THE HUSBAND'S SECRET



Best friends tell you everything; about their kitchen renovation; about their little girl’s schooling. How one of them is leaving the other for a younger model.



Best friends don’t tell lies. They don’t take up residence on your couch for weeks. They don’t call lawyers. They don’t make you choose sides.



Best friends don’t keep secrets about their past. They don't put you in danger.



Best friends don’t always stay best friends.



Product Description

Review

"A chillingly real psychological drama that had me in a total reading frenzy. I absolutely loved it." (Lisa Jewell)

"Darkly compelling .... a pacy story that kept me turning the pages right until the final, shocking twist. " (Paula Daly)

"A brilliant and skilfully plotted depiction of the unexpected breakdown of a friendship between two couples, with one of the most chilling twists I've read in a long time. I couldn't put it down." (Louise Millar, author of THE PLAYDATE)

"A wonderfully compelling and exciting book, a storyline that had sparks flying from every page, terrific writing and a hugely exhilerating and thrilling read. I loved it!" (Louise Douglas)

"An inexorable drama in which the characters' prejudices and loyalties leave them unable to separate face value from reality. THE BROKEN explores manipulation, deceit, betrayal and abuse, and how loss can both shape and destroy us." (Elizabeth Forbes, author of NEAREST THING TO CRAZY)

"I raced to finish this story of a couple caught in the fall-out of their best friends' split. Beautifully written and peppered with moments of stunning observation, it's a superb read." (Amanda Jennings)

"Fabulous. I was drawn in from the very first page. Tamar is very skilled at creating characters that seem so real, almost as if we're their best friends too, yet beneath their exteriors, you just know there's so much more simmering away. The tension grew with every page turn, until it was almost unbearable, yet I couldn't stop reading! I literally gasped out loud, so shocked by the very unexpected ending. This brilliant book will be on my mind for a long time." (Samantha Hayes, author of UNTIL YOU'RE MINE)

"Compulsive reading ... the tension racks up and the book switches from domestic drama into full-blown, chilling thriller" (Essentials, Book of the Month)

"Everyone's talking about this ... A gripping cocktail of betrayal and revenge" (Prima Magazine)

"Dramatic, sad and tense, it's essential you get your hands on this thriller. (Five stars)" (Closer)

"A chillingly brilliant thriller" (Red Magazine)

"A sustained work of near genius that takes a very familiar theme - man leaves wife for younger model - and not only brilliantly dissects the breakdown of the marriage but also teh consequences for the couple's close circle of friends ...Cohen's first foray into psychological suspense is a triumph." (Daily Mail)

"Taut, tense and addictive" (Good Housekeeping)

Book Description

When close friends split, be careful whose side you're on - a stunning psychological thriller for fans of DEAR DAUGHTER and BEFORE I GO TO SLEEP.

Product details


More About the Author

Tamar Cohen (who also writes as Tammy Cohen) is a freelance journalist writing for national magazines and newspapers. A late starter to fiction she has now written five novels - The Mistress's Revenge, The War of the Wives, Someone Else's Wedding, The Broken and Dying For Christmas - all published by Doubleday/Black Swan. Her sixth novel, First One Missing, is out in July 2015. She is a Writer in Residence at Kingston University and lives in North London with her partner and three (nearly) grown children, plus one very badly behaved dog.

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?


Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Uncomfortable, unsettling...and wonderful 1 May 2015
By Welsh Annie TOP 500 REVIEWER VINE VOICE
Format:Kindle Edition
This has to be one of the most uncomfortable and unsettling books I've read in a long time - in a wholly positive and enjoyable way of course. To begin with , it's the story of two couples - Dan and Sasha, Josh and Hannah. Dan and Sasha are a little more comfortable financially, but it doesn't affect the friendship - they have daughters of a similar age who play together, the couples spend a lot of time together and share their secrets.

Until, that is, Dan decides that his marriage is over - and Josh and Hannah find themselves very uncomfortably in the middle - trying to support them both, stay neutral, do the right things. As the separation gets increasingly ugly, things get worse for Josh and Hannah too - their marriage hasn't been perfect for a while, each of them have their problems and secrets, and things start to break apart under the pressure.

None of the characters are particularly likeable, and you wouldn't want them as your closest friends - they all have flaws and weaknesses of one kind or another. However, they are absolutely and completely believable - you know these people, or others like them - and that's why the whole book seems so uncomfortable and close to home.

Throughout the story runs the diary of a girl - when you find out how it's linked to the story, fairly near the end, it turns the whole book upside down in a way that takes your breathe away.

This is very, very clever writing - almost unbearable tension, characters you believe in, and a mesmerising real-life story. I absolutely loved it.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous 23 April 2015
Format:Kindle Edition
Ever since the birth of their daughters four years ago, two couples, Josh and Hannah, and Dan and Sasha have been best friends. They spend so much time in each other’s company that the two young girls have grown up more like sisters than friends. Then one day Dan drops a bombshell, he is leaving Sasha.

Josh and Hannah agree to be neutral, and support both couples during this difficult time, but things soon take a downwards curve, when the emotionally unstable Sasha refuses to accept the situation. Bad things start to happen, Dan and Sasha blame each other, Josh and Hannah are torn between the two. When bad things start to happen to them, just who should Josh and Hannah believe.

This is a fantastic book. Cohen takes you on a ride that you don’t want to get off.
The situation is all too real, one couple caught in the middle of the breakup of their best friends marriage. The ‘perfect’ couple splitting up, whilst the relationship of the less than perfect couple is sound, or is it?

It was chilling witnessing the sophisticated Sasha fall apart. My sympathies went from one character to another at an alarming rate, until I wasn’t sure what, or who, to believe.

There is also the memoir of a young girl dotted throughout the story, that adds a mysterious undercurrent to the already dark plot.

The pace was fast. It was definitely a CPID, (couldn’t put it down), book. I was definitely not expecting the ending, it was a complete shock.
This is a fabulous psychological thriller that left me wanting to read more by the talented Ms Cohen, I’m sure you will feel the same.

A definite 5* read. I thoroughly recommend it.

Many thanks to Netgalley and the publishers for an advanced copy in return for an unbiased review
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book is fantastic, gripping 29 April 2015
Format:Paperback
I had the absolute pleasure of meeting Tamar and getting my copy of this book signed and she was really lovey and inspiring .This is the first book of hers I have read and am now going to read all of them!!

This book is fantastic ,gripping ,chilling and addictive .

Marriages break down s often these days its seen as the social norm ,but what happens when the aftermath of a couple breaking up ripples into those closest to them .This story shows exactly what happens and its not a pretty sight .

I felt very uncomfortable with Sasha and her quite dramatic in your face ways ,she was cross and wanted everyone to know that.Her pride was hurt by her husband and her need for perfection had been jeopardised.

She had this hold over Hannah and you want to give her a shake and say just say no to her !!
Between the narratives of Josh and Hannah there are extracts of a young girl which add to the suspense and chilling factor .

A brilliant suspense filled gripping psychological thriller ,could not put this down .
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
By TracyF
Format:Kindle Edition
wow. I feel like I have been on a emotional roller coaster and ended up facing the wrong way. Tammy Cohen has a way of writing books that I adore and her characters are so unlikeable or unstable that I can only hope she has a very vivid imagination and doesn't base them on any one she knows as they are scary!
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Roller-coaster 28 April 2015
Format:Kindle Edition
A modern suburban psychological thriller dealing with relationships between married couples is not my usual type of novel but, having won it in a competition, I dived in with perhaps a little prejudice. It quickly drew me into the story as it brought the characters to life whilst making it clear there were dark undercurrents to them. It soon gripped me and I read it in two sittings. I saw some of the plot looming before me but never once got the detail right. It toyed with my emotions whilst leading me astray. The themes of honesty, loyalty and dealing with the problems of the past swamped all the varied cast. Quite stunning!
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Would you like to see more reviews about this item?
Were these reviews helpful?   Let us know
Most Recent Customer Reviews
Search Customer Reviews
Only search this product's reviews

Customer Discussions

This product's forum
Discussion Replies Latest Post
No discussions yet

Ask questions, Share opinions, Gain insight
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 

Search Customer Discussions
Search all Amazon discussions
   


Look for similar items by category