Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
20
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£4.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 August 2013
This is the third in a series from Ace Atkins about a former US Army Ranger that returned from his service and become the local sheriff. If you have seen the TV series Justified and like it, you just have to read this series.

Once again we have real criminals and odd people in a mix that makes for a very interesting and rewarding read. Quinn Colson as the sheriff is doing his job the best he can and it is nice to have hero that is fully human. He makes mistakes, he has attitudes that are not always politically correct but he also has a lot of common sense and his experience from the army to fall back on.

One other thing that feels real is that there is not always a black and white side. Some of the criminals or semi criminals also have human sides that makes them real to you and some of the policemen involved are not always those high standing citizens you expect.

The Story was a little slow to begin with but then picks up speed and have a terrific ending that promises at least one more book in the series. I will surly look out for that one. What Michael Connelly writes on the cover about Ace Atkins: "One of the Best Crime writers at work today", is not an exaggeration.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 February 2016
I have given previous Quinn Colson books four stars, having enjoyed them a lot, but here I think Atkins has stepped up a gear. That's partly due to the writing - always good but here that shade better. The opening sequence (the convicts and their escape), for example, is such a perfect little vignette, the characters brought to life with just a few brush strokes, the action described succinctly but evocatively. But it's not just the writing, it's the characters. Jamey Dixon, for example: you just want him to turn out bad, or very good, but he ends up something kind of in between, a flawed but worthwhile human being. I am going to buy the next book right now.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 August 2014
Ace Atkins is settling into his stride with this third visit to the seamy side of the deep South. We know the characters better and are learning more about their personal histories. The author knows how to set a scene with an economy of words and the various plot lines have a flavour of the real world. The description of the tornado is brilliant. I shall be on the lookout for the ex-Ranger's next outing. Recommended.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 December 2014
Ace Atkins’ third novel featuring Sheriff Quinn Colson maintains the solid standard of the first two books – The Ranger and The Lost Ones. The book weaves a tale of convicts on the run in search of their hidden loot, and the ex-convict who has turned to Christ and wants to marry Colson’s sister, with the natural disaster of a tornado hitting the town of Jericho. Whilst the story holds no real surprises and unfolds in a similar fashion to the first two books in the series, the added dimension of the storm hitting the community makes for a large scale climax. The family conflict surrounding sister Caddy taking up with seemingly reformed and misunderstood Jamey Dixon, is also a familiar one, but essential to give the story some emotional clout. However, Atkins employs a tight writing style built around a group of strong characters, not least Colson’s support team including Deputy Lillie Virgil and the one-armed Boom. The final showdown is suitably tense and whilst Atkins never scales the heights of Craig Johnson’s Longmire series, this is a perfectly entertaining read on its own terms.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 January 2016
Brilliant and it keeps you guessing until the end about the Reverend. I hope that Qinnn Colson does not end up like Jack Reacher who seems unable to work his way into a good plot. I like both characters but Jack is getting a little jaded compared to Quinn.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 June 2016
Having read the first 3 books in the Quinn Colson series by Ace Atkins, I can only say that I cannot wait to read the next 3 while I am on holiday.
The fast pace of the plots and the characters are a joy to get into.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 July 2016
This,like previous Quinn Colson stories, is another solid, well written read. Finding a new author who's written quite a bit is always a pleasure and this book leaves me looking forward to the next. If you liked the earlier ones this should suit you just fine.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 May 2014
The stories and characters continue to develop in depth and complexity in this series. Just better and better

Simply excellent writing
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 May 2014
this the 3rd book of this series and each as got better if you enjoy a moden day cowboy it's great.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 September 2014
excellent ace atkins, as ever
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.