Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Learn more Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars16
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
14
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Price:£7.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 March 2004
I think it one of the best British comedy series I liked to watch on BBC Television. The way of Mr. Brittas treating his staff and solving all his problems in his clumsy way made me really laugh. I reccomend everyone to buy this collection. It is a feast for the eyes and the ears.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 March 2004
I think it one of the best British comedy series I liked to watch on BBC Television. The way of Mr. Brittas treating his staff and solving all his problems in his clumsy way made me really laugh. I reccomend everyone to buy this collection. It is a feast for the eyes and the ears.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2004
one of the funniest comedies you'll ever see.you'll watch it time and time again! this series is a must have.one to add to the collection.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2004
I could watch Chris Barrie all day in Brittas and Red Dwarf. He can takeunpleasant (Rimmer) and annoying (Brittas) characters and turn them aroundsubliminaly so the viewer actually sympathises with them.
That's what I liked about series 3 of The Brittas Empire. Already byseries 2 we had seen the more caring side to Brittas. In series 3, it'seven more obvious as his staff comment on it to him (and one memeber ofstaff ends up kissing him out of sheer frustration towards his heart ofgold, yet general uselessness!)
The series begins with Brittas up in court on charges of murder, assault,drug dealing and gang involvement. Of course "it's all just a bigmisunderstanding" but the way the story unfolds is hilarious and towardsthe end, touching. Eastenders fans will also notice a young PerryFenwick/Billy Mitchell make an excellent appearence in this episode as thegang member turned squash champion!
One character I did find genuinly annoying was Mrs Brittas. I know Gordonwas supposed to be the annoying one, and she was supposed to be'normal',but I found her unbelievably irritating. She was almost pathetic in a way.It sounds harsh, but her actions and lines were all very similar-i.esimper over Laura, make fun of Brittas, and crave anti-depressants. Maybeit's just my soft spot for Brittas/Barrie that influenced this.
Classic moments from this series are to many to list. If you liked series1, and loved the twists of series 2, you'll love series 3. At last, wefind out who can carry of Brittas's notorious 'dream'. Who could he trustto carry on his legacy when he's gone...? This question is answered in atouching way towards the end of the final epsiode when when Helen finallygives birth to the twin boys.
This is a truly underrated comedy and deserves more credit than itrecieved. Chris Barrie has an unquestionable talent for making the viewersympathise with the unpleasant chacters he plays. Gordon Brittas is anearlier David Brent. Gervias is good as the manager from Hell, but Barrieis better as the manager from Heaven.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 June 2014
Came before time and well packaged. Very funny like what remember when used to see some time ago. Would recomend it to friends and family.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 February 2016
A good series very funny, Brittas was one of a kind.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 September 2015
Funny and enjoyable even my 10 year old loves it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2006
This dvd is a msust for anyone who loves a laugh. it makes you cry with laughter the way mr brittas runs his leisure centre. absolute class buy it and you wont be dissapointed.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 January 2015
A trip down memory lane - such fun!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2016
really quick delivery, good dvd
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)