The Blooding and over 2 million other books are available for Amazon Kindle . Learn more


or
Sign in to turn on 1-Click ordering.
Sorry, this item is not available in
Image not available for
Colour:
Image not available

 
Start reading The Blooding on your Kindle in under a minute.

Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here, or download a FREE Kindle Reading App.

The Blooding [Paperback]

James McGee
4.5 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (2 customer reviews)
RRP: 8.99
Price: 7.34 & FREE Delivery in the UK on orders over 10. Details
You Save: 1.65 (18%)
Pre-order Price Guarantee. Learn more.
o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o
This title will be released on January 15, 2015.
Pre-order now.
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
Want to receive this the day it comes out?
Sign in to see if release-day delivery options are available to your address. Learn more

Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition 6.97  
Hardcover 12.91  
Paperback 7.34  

Book Description

15 Jan 2015

Hawkwood’s in America for this gripping, action-packed follow up to the bestselling Ratcatcher - for fans of Bernard Cornwell, Conn Igulden and Patrick O’Brian

1812: Matthew Hawkwood, soldier turned spy, is stranded behind enemy lines, in America, a country at war with Britain.

Heading for the safety of the Canadian border, Hawkwood’s route takes him to Albany where the chance sighting of a former comrade-in-arms – Major Douglas Lawrence – within a consignment of British prisoners puts paid to his plans.

For as the two men make their escape they uncover an American plot to invade Canada. If it is successful, the entire continent will be lost. The British authorities must be warned.

Pursued by a relentless enemy, Hawkwood and Lawrence set off across the snow-bound Adirondack Mountains; the land the Iroquois call ‘The Hunting Grounds’.

But they are not alone.

Buried deep in Hawkwood’s past is an old alliance – one that could save both their lives and help turn the tide of war…


Special Offers and Product Promotions

  • Pre-order Price Guarantee: order now and if the Amazon.co.uk price decreases between the time you place your order and the release date, you'll be charged the lowest price. Here's how (terms and conditions apply)

Frequently Bought Together

The Blooding + Rebellion (Matthew Hawkwood 4)
Price For Both: 13.73

One of these items is dispatched sooner than the other.

Buy the selected items together


Product details

  • Paperback: 496 pages
  • Publisher: Harper (15 Jan 2015)
  • ISBN-10: 0007320140
  • ISBN-13: 978-0007320141
  • Average Customer Review: 4.5 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (2 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 798,770 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)
  •  Would you like to give feedback on images?


More About the Author

James McGee grew up in Gibraltar, Germany, and Northern Ireland. He has worked in banking, sales, newspapers, the airline industry and bookselling. He has travelled extensively in Europe, the United States, Australia and the Far East, but nowadays resides in Somerset.


Product Description

Review

Praise for James McGee:

• 'Irresistible… rambunctious entertainment' Observer

• 'Rumbustious…a darkly attractive hero, terrific period atmosphere and action' The Times

• 'Atmospheric and well researched… try it' Daily Mirror

• ‘Breakneck pace, brutal action, clever characterisation and twisty plotting …' Reginald Hill

• ‘Ratcatcher is a richly enjoyable and impressively researched novel – also very gripping. James McGee is clearly a rising star in the historical galaxy and I look forward to Hawkwood's return' Andrew Taylor, author of The American Boy

About the Author

James McGee has worked in banking, sales, newspapers, the airline industry and bookselling. His interest in the Napoleonic period dates to his first reading of C.S.Forester's The Gun. His series of books feature former soldier Matthew Hawkwood.


Inside This Book (Learn More)
Browse and search another edition of this book.
Browse Sample Pages
Front Cover | Copyright | Excerpt
Search inside this book:

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?


Customer Reviews

3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
4.5 out of 5 stars
4.5 out of 5 stars
This item has not been released yet and is not eligible to be reviewed. Reviews shown are from other formats of this item.
Most Helpful Customer Reviews
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A New Venture for Hawkwood 13 July 2014
By J. Chippindale TOP 500 REVIEWER
Format:Hardcover
It seems an age since the last Matthew Hawkwood book was published. The first three Ratcatcher (Book 1, 2006), Resurrectionist (Book 2, 2007), and Rapscallion (Book 3, 2008) followed one another in rapid succession, and then there was a break of three years before Rebellion (Book 4, 2011) was published, and a further three years until the current book.

After reading the other four Matthew Hawkwood novel and enjoying them enormously, I was initially disappointed on starting to read The Blooding, to find that the author had taken Matthew Hawkwood, ex-soldier, Bow Street Runner, and sometime spy from the slums and back streets of Regency London, and dropped him on the other side of the Atlantic ocean, in no lesser place than America, and then I remembered the culmination of the plot from the previous Hawkwood book, Rebellion, and realised why this had happened.

The previous book received a lot of criticism from Amazon reviewers, and in a way I can understand why, but after my initial disappointment with the present book, and what I thought was a slow start to the storyline, the author's story telling ability drew me into the plot and I started to enjoy the book on its own merits rather than as a continuation of previous Hawkwood novels.
Read more ›
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great read 16 July 2014
By dfwp
Format:Hardcover|Verified Purchase
Worth the wait !

A story that takes the exploits of Matthew Hawkwood into a new Continent, and fills in his life story. Well written, and ultimately riveting. Somewhat slow to begin with, but picks up the pace admirably, and became impossible to put down!

I hope the next instalment does not take James McGee as long to write !
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)
Amazon.com: 5.0 out of 5 stars  3 reviews
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best yet! 9 July 2014
By annc - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
The other four books of the Hawkwood series were unputdownable. This one was better! I had been researching Canadian history for various reasons,but interrupted this to read "The Blooding". In the early sections of the book the story alternated between Hawkwood's childhood and the his adult troubles. The brutality of this era of history was on display (as with the other books) along with author's ability to draw you into the mind of a man battling with his circumstances but continuing his battle for good to triumph over evil. I often read books I love again but usually wait a few months .........this I will read again as soon as I reread the first four.
5.0 out of 5 stars Hard to put down unfinished 15 July 2014
By Mary - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
It answered questions posed by previous books in the series and linked the stories together in a thrilling.page-turning manner. Mathew is a likeable hero and I do hope he is heading back to England for more adventures. There is a mighty gap in his life story. We could be given some taste of his exploits as a soldier fighting in Europe.!!
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars 8 July 2014
By glenn - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
Excellent book, I could not put it down, can't wait for the next book.
Were these reviews helpful?   Let us know
Search Customer Reviews
Only search this product's reviews

Customer Discussions

This product's forum
Discussion Replies Latest Post
No discussions yet

Ask questions, Share opinions, Gain insight
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 

Search Customer Discussions
Search all Amazon discussions
   


Look for similar items by category


Feedback