The Blooding and over 2 million other books are available for Amazon Kindle . Learn more


or
Sign in to turn on 1-Click ordering.
Sorry, this item is not available in
Image not available for
Colour:
Image not available

 
Start reading The Blooding on your Kindle in under a minute.

Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here, or download a FREE Kindle Reading App.

The Blooding [Paperback]

James McGee
4.8 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (12 customer reviews)
Price: 8.99 & FREE Delivery in the UK on orders over 10. Details
Pre-order Price Guarantee. Learn more.
o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o
This title will be released on January 15, 2015.
Pre-order now.
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
Want to receive this the day it comes out?
Sign in to see if release-day delivery options are available to your address. Learn more

Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition 8.54  
Hardcover 12.91  
Paperback 8.99  

Book Description

15 Jan 2015

Hawkwood’s in America for this gripping, action-packed follow up to the bestselling Ratcatcher - for fans of Bernard Cornwell, Conn Igulden and Patrick O’Brian

1812: Matthew Hawkwood, soldier turned spy, is stranded behind enemy lines, in America, a country at war with Britain.

Heading for the safety of the Canadian border, Hawkwood’s route takes him to Albany where the chance sighting of a former comrade-in-arms – Major Douglas Lawrence – within a consignment of British prisoners puts paid to his plans.

For as the two men make their escape they uncover an American plot to invade Canada. If it is successful, the entire continent will be lost. The British authorities must be warned.

Pursued by a relentless enemy, Hawkwood and Lawrence set off across the snow-bound Adirondack Mountains; the land the Iroquois call ‘The Hunting Grounds’.

But they are not alone.

Buried deep in Hawkwood’s past is an old alliance – one that could save both their lives and help turn the tide of war…


Special Offers and Product Promotions

  • Pre-order Price Guarantee: order now and if the Amazon.co.uk price decreases between the time you place your order and the release date, you'll be charged the lowest price. Here's how (terms and conditions apply)

Frequently Bought Together

The Blooding + Rebellion (Matthew Hawkwood 4)
Price For Both: 15.38

One of these items is dispatched sooner than the other.

Buy the selected items together


Product details

  • Paperback: 496 pages
  • Publisher: Harper (15 Jan 2015)
  • ISBN-10: 0007320140
  • ISBN-13: 978-0007320141
  • Average Customer Review: 4.8 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (12 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 602,768 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)
  •  Would you like to give feedback on images?


More About the Author

James McGee grew up in Gibraltar, Germany, and Northern Ireland. He has worked in banking, sales, newspapers, the airline industry and bookselling. He has travelled extensively in Europe, the United States, Australia and the Far East, but nowadays resides in Somerset.


Product Description

Review

Praise for James McGee:

• 'Irresistible… rambunctious entertainment' Observer

• 'Rumbustious…a darkly attractive hero, terrific period atmosphere and action' The Times

• 'Atmospheric and well researched… try it' Daily Mirror

• ‘Breakneck pace, brutal action, clever characterisation and twisty plotting …' Reginald Hill

• ‘Ratcatcher is a richly enjoyable and impressively researched novel – also very gripping. James McGee is clearly a rising star in the historical galaxy and I look forward to Hawkwood's return' Andrew Taylor, author of The American Boy

About the Author

James McGee has worked in banking, sales, newspapers, the airline industry and bookselling. His interest in the Napoleonic period dates to his first reading of C.S.Forester's The Gun. His series of books feature former soldier Matthew Hawkwood.


Inside This Book (Learn More)
Browse and search another edition of this book.
Browse Sample Pages
Front Cover | Copyright | Excerpt
Search inside this book:

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?


Customer Reviews

3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
4.8 out of 5 stars
4.8 out of 5 stars
This item has not been released yet and is not eligible to be reviewed. Reviews shown are from other formats of this item.
Most Helpful Customer Reviews
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great read 16 July 2014
By dfwp
Format:Hardcover|Verified Purchase
Worth the wait !

A story that takes the exploits of Matthew Hawkwood into a new Continent, and fills in his life story. Well written, and ultimately riveting. Somewhat slow to begin with, but picks up the pace admirably, and became impossible to put down!

I hope the next instalment does not take James McGee as long to write !
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A New Venture for Hawkwood 13 July 2014
By J. Chippindale TOP 500 REVIEWER
Format:Hardcover
It seems an age since the last Matthew Hawkwood book was published. The first three Ratcatcher (Book 1, 2006), Resurrectionist (Book 2, 2007), and Rapscallion (Book 3, 2008) followed one another in rapid succession, and then there was a break of three years before Rebellion (Book 4, 2011) was published, and a further three years until the current book.

After reading the other four Matthew Hawkwood novel and enjoying them enormously, I was initially disappointed on starting to read The Blooding, to find that the author had taken Matthew Hawkwood, ex-soldier, Bow Street Runner, and sometime spy from the slums and back streets of Regency London, and dropped him on the other side of the Atlantic ocean, in no lesser place than America, and then I remembered the culmination of the plot from the previous Hawkwood book, Rebellion, and realised why this had happened.

The previous book received a lot of criticism from Amazon reviewers, and in a way I can understand why, but after my initial disappointment with the present book, and what I thought was a slow start to the storyline, the author's story telling ability drew me into the plot and I started to enjoy the book on its own merits rather than as a continuation of previous Hawkwood novels.
Read more ›
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent 18 Aug 2014
By Nick Brett TOP 500 REVIEWER VINE VOICE
Format:Hardcover|Verified Purchase
This is the fifth novel in the Matthew Hawkwood series. Set in the Regency period, this started as a Bow Street Runners story with Hawkwood and his trusty Sergeant very much in the Sharpe mould but as the books have gone on, the stories have taken steps away from that original premise.

In the previous book Hawkwood was in France and trying to get home, in The Blooding we find that circumstance has not been kind and he has ended up in America. Important to note that at this time (1812) Britain was at war with America on the borders between the newly formed US and Canada. Well worth looking the conflict up before you read the book as it does help position the story.

Anyway, on his way towards British held Canada Hawkwood rescues a fellow officer and the pair of them are chased towards the border. When they find details of a proposed American invasion it makes their escape even more crucial.

Through the series Hawkwood has been a mysterious character with a secret past, this book explains about his origins and how they may help him in his current predicament. I thought this was very good, if not the best of the series. Placing the character in America at a time that is not well known to many readers was interesting, but the story and the involvement of the native American Indians added a lot too. The Hawkwood back-story is something we have long waited for and doesn’t fail to please and this wrapped into the wider story delivers a very satisfying and enjoyable book.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
5.0 out of 5 stars like few other authors have managed 18 Aug 2014
Format:Hardcover
I just received my latest James McGee book, as a gift, and what a gift. As usual his research is impeccable, well thought out, and historically entwined into his latest Matthew Hawkwood novel. For those who follow McGee's books, and I am an enthusiastic follower, this latest novel is on par with the other 4 Matthew Hawkwood novels. Some reviewers have suggested that the start is a little slow, but fail to understand the little know war in America between the British and Americans after 1776, that led to the nation of Canada, as we know her today. In fact most British and American's have no knowledge of the conflict, and McGee's latest Hawkwood novel, brings this conflict to life, like few other authors have managed. The interaction between the native tribes and the combatants makes you think that you are living their struggle, and McGee's writing is superb in bringing the action to life. Just like Patrick O'Brian's novel, Master and Commander' ( with the movie starring Russell Crowe), you are transported into a life, lived on the edge through McGee's brilliant understanding of that period. This book should be a must read for all who appreciate historical novels, especially those written by master storytellers like O'Brian, Cornwell and McGee. I do have one warning to those who have never read a James McGee novel.. Get plenty of sleep before you open one of his books, because you will be up all night wanting to know how they end. You have been warned. Hugely recommended.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Would you like to see more reviews about this item?
Were these reviews helpful?   Let us know
Most Recent Customer Reviews
5.0 out of 5 stars Hawkwood back on top form
Waited a long time for this latest Hawkwood. Well worth the wait.
The best since the first, after Number 4 I was not sure whether to buy this one, really glad I did. Read more
Published 7 days ago by J P HARPER
5.0 out of 5 stars mr l shaefer
a great read.one of james mcgees best novels.first heard of him when i read ratcatcher.now know how hawkwood was brought up.heres to his next book.i hope soon.
Published 15 days ago by mr leslie shaefer
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars
Another great McGee book.
Published 17 days ago by Mr S P Watson
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars
Excellent
Published 20 days ago by D C Grainger
5.0 out of 5 stars I really recommend it and think it is one of the best ...
I found this book, a very exciting read and read it over two late nights. I really recommend it and think it is one of the best James McGee books yet. Read more
Published 22 days ago by Blair Munro
5.0 out of 5 stars James, I salute you
You have to wait so long for each book to come out as he's meticulous with his research but never does he disappoint.
Well done James another solid adventurous read.
Published 24 days ago by nush
4.0 out of 5 stars Back on form
Better than the last couple of the Hawkwood books, also fills in the main characters past history.
Published 24 days ago by chris tym
5.0 out of 5 stars Judging by authors previous books regarding this character I would...
Bought as gift. Delivered on time. Judging by authors previous books regarding this character I would think it to be a good read.
Published 1 month ago by paul
Search Customer Reviews
Only search this product's reviews

Customer Discussions

This product's forum
Discussion Replies Latest Post
No discussions yet

Ask questions, Share opinions, Gain insight
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 

Search Customer Discussions
Search all Amazon discussions
   


Look for similar items by category


Feedback