Start reading The Birdcage on your Kindle in under a minute. Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here or start reading now with a free Kindle Reading App.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

 
 
 

Try it free

Sample the beginning of this book for free

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Sorry, this item is not available in
Image not available for
Colour:
Image not available
 

The Birdcage [Kindle Edition]

Marcia Willett
4.4 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (14 customer reviews)

Print List Price: £6.99
Kindle Price: £3.99 includes VAT* & free wireless delivery via Amazon Whispernet
You Save: £3.00 (43%)
* Unlike print books, digital books are subject to VAT.

Free Kindle Reading App Anybody can read Kindle books—even without a Kindle device—with the FREE Kindle app for smartphones, tablets and computers.

To get the free app, enter your e-mail address or mobile phone number.

Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition £3.99  
Hardcover £10.00  
Paperback £6.99  
Audio Download, Unabridged £0.00 Free with Audible trial
MP3 CD £11.36  
Kindle Books Summer Sale
Kindle Summer Sale: Books from 99p
Browse over 600 titles from best-selling authors, including Neil Gaiman, John Grisham, Jeffrey Archer, Veronica Roth and Sylvia Day. >Shop now

Book Description

It was Felix who named it The Birdcage: the tall house in Bristol where Miss Pidgeon lived with her tenant, the beautiful and talented actress Angel, and Angel's daughter, Lizzie.



It was Felix whom they all adored and who was so in love with Angel, but while Lizzie longed for a father, Felix had other commitments: to his insecure, possessive wife Marina and to their son Piers, both living at beautiful, mellow Michaelgarth, the family home on the edge of Exmoor.



Many years later, when Lizzie comes at last to Michaelgarth and meets Piers for the first time, she finds a family in trouble - and which, miraculously, needs her to help them to heal.



Praise for Marcia Willett


'A genuine voice of our times' The Times


'Riveting, moving and utterly feel-good' Daily Mail


Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought

Page of Start over
This shopping feature will continue to load items. In order to navigate out of this carousel please use your heading shortcut key to navigate to the next or previous heading.

Product Description

Book Description

The evocative novel from the acclaimed author of THE CHILDREN'S HOUR - perfect for fans of Erica James, Victoria Hislop and Santa Montefiore

Synopsis

It was Felix who first called it The Birdcage - that strange and quirky household in Bristol with its close, loving women including the superbly flamboyant Angel. Angel's daughter Lizzie had loved living there as a child - and she had also loved Felix, the nearest she had to a father, whose loyalties had been strained to the limit by his deeply jealous wife Marina. Lizzie was always aware that Felix had another life at beautiful, mellow Michaelgarth, the family home on the edge of Exmoor where he tried to bring up his son Piers in a loving and peaceful environment. When Lizzie, many years later, comes at last to Michaelgarth and meets Piers for the first time, she finds a family which is in trouble - and which, miraculously, needs her to help them to heal.

Product details


More About the Author

Discover books, learn about writers, and more.

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?


Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
4.4 out of 5 stars
Most Helpful Customer Reviews
24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars journey into the past helps her face the present 3 Nov. 2004
By A Customer
Format:Hardcover
I enjoyed this book even more than the other Marcia Willett novels I have read. The depth of characterisation was excellent and I quickly became involved, even engrossed, not wanting to put the book down. I sympathised with Felix even though he was cheating on his wife because she gave him such a hard time. It seemed extremely clever to weave the past and the present together in this way, using the one to make sense of the other. The author knew just which words to use and her description of what it feels like to be abandoned by a partner was written with great sensitivity. I also loved the vivid conversations, so well constructed and startling. This is a book to keep on one's bookshelf to re-read in future and to savour favourite sections. I would probably choose where Lizzie plays the actress role to the full when she meets the lovely Alison for the first time. Marcia Willett excels in her ability to portray the rich variety of human relationships.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gentle, soothing and life-changing. 14 Dec. 2006
By Jane Baker VINE VOICE
Format:Paperback|Verified Purchase
The Birdcage was the last novel of Marcia Willett's I read before deciding that I must re-locate to the West Country. This book changed my life!!!!!!!!!!!!

I'd always enjoyed Marcia Willett's novels as a comfort read - undemanding, relaxing, but not mindless chick-lit. Fergus changed all that. I was looking to move from the S.E. after retirement and when I read about Fergus in his hotel room in Porlock I knew this was where I wanted to be. Dunster, Porlock and Watchet feature in most of her books and I sit here in Watchet writing this in awe.

Story - wonderful.

Impact - life-changing.

Message - please keep writing these delightful novels which make one think - but not too much. And then go on to make a life-change. Book is bliss - life is bliss.

For me this shows Marcia Willett's power of the pen to seduce oh so quietly.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Birdcage 4 Oct. 2013
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
As always, a lovely book by Marcia Willett. I love her books and am now buying them because our local libraries no longer stock them.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars No more than mediocre 18 April 2006
Format:Paperback
Not bad. Not brilliant - but it tries hard. It wants to be something it's not, something Great, moving, thoughtful. It doesn't really achieve this. It's not a complete disaster, there are some good uses of language to create atmosphere and interest, but ultimately, it is resigned to remain a mildly entertaining read, on the train perhaps. There are too many cliches and unconvincing characters/moments/storylines in this book to make it a serious contender for the prize of Making A Difference.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
4.0 out of 5 stars Book Review 1 Sept. 2014
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
Almost a copycat of recent books that I have read but enjoyable. Everyone of Marcia Willett's books describes the mood, the environment and the thoughts of the characters in such detail. Looking for another now.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
4.0 out of 5 stars Good reading! 30 Dec. 2012
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
This is a good read, although not as good as other books by Marcia Willett. There is a bit to much jumping around from one year to others which becomes a bit confusing at times.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
4.0 out of 5 stars the birdcage Marcia Willet 15 Aug. 2014
By Sarah
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
Well written - fast moving story with lots of twists and turns
I like the way Marcia pulls every person in her story together to a final ending
An enjoyable read
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Would you like to see more reviews about this item?
Were these reviews helpful?   Let us know

Customer Discussions

This product's forum
Discussion Replies Latest Post
No discussions yet

Ask questions, Share opinions, Gain insight
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 

Search Customer Discussions
Search all Amazon discussions
   


Look for similar items by category