or
Sign in to turn on 1-Click ordering.
More Buying Choices
Have one to sell? Sell yours here
Sorry, this item is not available in
Image not available for
Colour:
Image not available

 
Tell the Publisher!
Id like to read this book on Kindle

Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here, or download a FREE Kindle Reading App.

The Best 377 Colleges (Princeton Review: The Best ... Colleges) [Paperback]

Princeton Review
3.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)
Price: 14.18 & FREE Delivery in the UK. Details
o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o
Temporarily out of stock.
Order now and we'll deliver when available. We'll e-mail you with an estimated delivery date as soon as we have more information. Your account will only be charged when we dispatch the item.
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.

Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Paperback 14.02  
Paperback, 21 Aug 2012 14.18  
There is a newer edition of this item:
The Best 378 Colleges, 2014 Edition (College Admissions Guides) The Best 378 Colleges, 2014 Edition (College Admissions Guides) 3.0 out of 5 stars (1)
14.02
In stock.

Book Description

21 Aug 2012 Princeton Review: The Best ... Colleges
What makes The Best 377 Colleges the most popular college guide?

*DIRECT QUOTES FROM STUDENTS that give insight into each school's unique character, classes, financial aid, social scenes, and more

*ONE-OF-A-KIND RANKING LISTS that reveal the top 20 colleges in 62 categories based on how students rated their school's dorms, professors, food, athletic facilities, and financial aid

*DETAILED ADMISSIONS INFORMATION that gives tuition, application criteria, deadlines, student to faculty ratios, graduation rates, and the most popular majors

*BONUS FEATURES like the "150 Best Value Colleges List," plus unique ratings with all 377 schools scored on Financial Aid, Quality of Life, Fire Safety, Green Ratings, and more!

Written for any student or parent mystified by the confusing college admissions process, The Best 377 Colleges provides the facts and information needed to make a smart decision about which of the country's best schools to consider.


What the media is saying about The Best 377 Colleges from The Princeton Review: 

“The offbeat indexes, along with the chattily written descriptions of each school, provide a colorful picture of each campus.”–The New York Times

“The most efficient of the college guidebooks. Has entertaining profiles larded with quotes from students.”–Rolling Stone

“A great book…it’s a bargain.” –CNN

“Our favorite college guidebook.” –Seventeen

“Provides the kind of feedback students would get from other students in a campus visit.” –USA Today

Frequently Bought Together

The Best 377 Colleges (Princeton Review: The Best ... Colleges) + The Fiske Guide to Colleges 2014 + ULTIMATE GUIDE TO AMERICAS BEST COLLEGES
Price For All Three: 48.21

Some of these items are dispatched sooner than the others.

Buy the selected items together


Product details

  • Paperback: 864 pages
  • Publisher: Princeton Review (21 Aug 2012)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0307944875
  • ISBN-13: 978-0307944870
  • Product Dimensions: 19.6 x 4.4 x 26 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 3.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 726,936 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Inside This Book (Learn More)
Browse and search another edition of this book.
Browse Sample Pages
Front Cover | Copyright | Table of Contents | Excerpt | Index
Search inside this book:

Sell a Digital Version of This Book in the Kindle Store

If you are a publisher or author and hold the digital rights to a book, you can sell a digital version of it in our Kindle Store. Learn more


Customer Reviews

5 star
0
4 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
3.0 out of 5 stars
3.0 out of 5 stars
Most Helpful Customer Reviews
3.0 out of 5 stars Too big to be v useful 3 April 2014
By Patsy O
Format:Paperback|Verified Purchase
The info in the book is great, but the book is too big to carry around. As such, you can't digest the info when you have dead periods of time as you would if it were in digital format. Such a shame.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)
Amazon.com: 4.0 out of 5 stars  54 reviews
52 of 53 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best college-search book, bar none 27 Aug 2012
By Paul Allaer - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Paperback
*UPDATE 8/7/13*

The 2014 Edition was just released but for whatever reason, Amazon decided to 'cut and paste' all reviews from last year's edition and repeat them here. I have reviewed the 2014 Edition carefully. There are now 378 "best" colleges, with 4 schools dropped from last year's list and 5 new ones added: LeMoyne College, Marquette University, Stephens College, the University of Texas at Dallas, and Trinity College (from Dublin).

My daughter's school in DC dropped from No. 1 to No. 4 on this year's list of "Most Politically Active Students". And yes, the cost of college just keeps on rising! Be that as it may, this book remains by far the market leader and the MUST READ/MUST HAVE of college search guides (assuming your school of interest made the cut).

BELOW IS MY REVIEW OF THE 2013 EDITION:

The Princeton Review publishes a number of college search-related books, including the "Complete Book of Colleges" and this one. This book is essentially a distilled version of the "Complete Book", and frankly a lot more useful (but for people completely new to the college-searching process, definitely check that out too).

"The Best 377 Colleges (2013 Edition)" (837 pages) is similar to last year's edition. After holding the number of best colleges at 376 last year (remember this book started off in 1992 with the best 250, where have the years gone!), this time there are 6 new "best" colleges: Allegheny College, Becker College, City University of New York-City College, University of Hawaii-Manoea, University of Tampa, and Virginia Wesleyan College. Five schools from last year's list were dropped (but if the inflation of "best" colleges continues, I surmise we'll get to 400 by 2020 or so). There are over 60 fun-to-browse top 20 lists of best/worst, such as "Most Beautiful Campus", "Students Study the Most", "Party Schools", and "Most Politically Active Students" (my daughter's school is the #1 ranked school on that list, it was ranked #5 last year, so yes these rankings change from year to year, although not sure how exactly these rankings come about, a climb from 5 to 1 in a single year seems pretty steep).

The best feature of this guide remains the 2 page layout for each of the colleges, with in-depth information on campus life, academic selectivity (the number of applicants, how many were accepted, and of those how many actually decided to attend), up-to-date tuition and room/board costs (I checked the numbers of my daughter's college, and they are accurate), etc. Another aspect that is very helpful is the "Survey says" sidebar, in which the essence of the university is distilled from the college students themselves, and "The Inside Word" segment on how tough it really is to gain admission when all is said and done. I again re-read the listings of the various colleges that my daughter and my son considered before making a final choice (she chose a school in DC, he stayed in Ohio), and can only state that all of what is written in here seems very much on point.

In the end, the proof is in the pudding: of the many college guides out there, my daughter spent more time with this book (when she was looking at colleges a few years ago) than with any other. This book is not the first place to start the college search, but once your son or daughter has narrowed down his/her colleges of choice, and assuming those colleges are featured in the "best 377", this book clearly is the best resource, the last step before a campus visit, and can be used again following the campus visits. I've looked at a lot of college-search books and if I was forced to recommend only one book among all the college search guides, this book is it, period.
24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best College Guide for average and above students 22 Aug 2012
By 10za - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Paperback
This is the best college guide for students with SAT scores above 1100 (verbal and math). I don't reccomend it for students will lower scores because it concentrates on schools that expect a higher SAT.
This book rates college on academic as well as social factors so you can see if you fit in to that campus. You can read about dorms, party atmosphere, and what current students are like.

One feature that I felt was great was... "if you like a certain college you may want to look at"... This allows you to add new schools to consider.

My high school son continually used this book to help make his choice. I highly reccomend this book! My daughter used an earlier version to pick her school.

You will continually come back to using this book.
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An Useful Guide To A Limited Selection Of Colleges 25 Aug 2012
By Alan Houston - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Paperback|Verified Purchase
Selecting a college is an important decision that can change someone's life. And, it is an EXPENSIVE decision, with four years at a top private college costing $250,000. There are many college guides available and Princeton Review's "Best Colleges 2014" is one of the better choices. NOTE: The 2015 edition will be released in July 2014 with minor updates.

Tanabe's "Ultimate College Guide 2014" is a better book profiling 300 leading American colleges. Loren Pope's "Beyond The Ivy League" focuses on the self-evaluation process that is crucial in selecting the college that is best for a given student. The College Board website has free profiles of every American college.

Princeton Review looks at less than 400 colleges and universities, with many good colleges omitted. Princeton Review, as with other college guides, focuses heavily on "old and established" East Coast colleges, and provides a good selection of California colleges, but it omits many good colleges in the South, Mid-West and the Mountain West.

Because each of the "major" guides to colleges omits many good schools, and because each provides some information that the other guides may omit, it is necessary to buy two or three college guides.

What if you want just ONE guide? I might chose Tanabe's "Ultimate Guide". An example of Tanabe's willingness to report ALL the facts is in its Vanderbilt profile. First Tanabe describes the Vanderbilt that is beloved in the Old South: "students are notorious for their preppy style and conservative views...dominated by the wealthy, Caucasian, Greek scene..." Attempts at diversity have resulted in claims of "further segregation among students."

Princeton Review watered down its description of the racist culture at Vanderbilt by merely stating that now "there is much more diversity..." Students selecting a college need ALL the facts, and Tanabe does not back down from even unpleasant facts...Princeton Review views colleges through rose colored lenses.

College websites provide the most accurate information on costs, financial aid, and deadlines. The free College Board website provides a detailed profile on first year students at each American college to see which colleges are a good match.
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best guidebooks 27 Aug 2013
By Nola H Lynch - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Paperback|Verified Purchase
I recommend this book to my students. The presentation is consistent, succinct, and useful. It's the only book I know of that prints the most useful financial aid and scholarship statistics, including % of need met and % of students whose need is fully met. Every student should use these statistics in creating a personal college list.
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book 13 Sep 2013
By CP - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Paperback|Verified Purchase
Very helpful with summaries of potential college choices. The information appears to be accurate based on discussions with friends whose children attend certain college. Worth the money.
Were these reviews helpful?   Let us know
Search Customer Reviews
Only search this product's reviews

Customer Discussions

This product's forum
Discussion Replies Latest Post
No discussions yet

Ask questions, Share opinions, Gain insight
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 

Search Customer Discussions
Search all Amazon discussions
   


Look for similar items by category


Feedback