FREE Delivery in the UK.
Only 1 left in stock (more on the way).
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon.
Gift-wrap available.
The Beethoven Violin Sona... has been added to your Basket
+ £2.80 UK delivery
Used: Very Good | Details
Sold by tobyenglish
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: Publisher: University of Illinois Press,
Date of Publication: 2004
Binding: hard cover
Condition: Very Good/Very Good
Description: 0252029321 164pp. Very good in hardback with dustwrapper.
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

The Beethoven Violin Sonatas: History, Criticism, Performance Hardcover – 8 Jul 2004

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
"Please retry"
£23.53 £21.00
£34.00 FREE Delivery in the UK. Only 1 left in stock (more on the way). Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.

Frequently Bought Together

The Beethoven Violin Sonatas: History, Criticism, Performance + Beethoven: The Sonatas for Piano and Violin: Thoughts on their Interpretation
Price For Both: £49.99

Buy the selected items together

Product details

  • Hardcover: 176 pages
  • Publisher: University of Illinois Press (8 July 2004)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0252029321
  • ISBN-13: 978-0252029325
  • Product Dimensions: 26.1 x 18.3 x 1.9 cm
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 1,367,466 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Product Description


" ... covers the subject systematically, with the whole repertoire covered, at least to some extent."--Early Music Review, 107 June 2005

Inside This Book (Learn More)
First Sentence
Like many compositions from Beethoven's first decade in Vienna, the Opus 12 violin sonatas (in D major, A major, and Eb major) stand in the shadow of the works from his middle and late periods (figure 1.1 shows the title page to this opus). Read the first page
Explore More
Browse Sample Pages
Front Cover | Copyright | Table of Contents | Excerpt | Index | Back Cover
Search inside this book:

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on (beta) 1 review
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
Accolades for Lockwood and crew 1 Jun. 2007
By John M. Pendergast - Published on
Format: Hardcover Verified Purchase
This book is for the fairly serious scholar of music interested in an in-depth examination of Beethoven's Violin Sonatas. It is not for beginners in the study of music history. A high degree of familiarity with music theory and with the works in question, as well as with Beethoven's piano sonatas and many other works, is assumed. In that context, however, the book is a treasure, with a great deal of truly original and captivating insights into these unique and emblematic works. This originality of a necessity creates rather sharp stylistic and theoretical differences among the perspectives of the various authors. Seek the uniform taxonomical approach elsewhere. Musical citations are abundant and beautifully laid out on the page, although occasionally their sheer size demands that they not be placed immediately opposite the relevant text. The notes and bibliographical references are very useful to students seeking further study of the composer and his world.
Was this review helpful? Let us know