Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars29
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£16.58+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 16 September 2009
The book's lay-out is orderly and easy to follow, and opens with a discussion of the tools and fabrics required for corset-making. Measuring, pattern usage, layout and cutting techniques are followed by the sewing methods involved. Boning (and the correct choice of bone) is dealt with in good detail. The author explains what to do and (more importantly) why to do it.

The print size is large enough to have the open book on your worktable and be able to read it easily. The drawings and photographs are clear and well-notated.

There are not any patterns included but this is a technique-orientated book, not a project book. The author does recommend two specific sewing patterns for corsets and the illustrations and how-to photographs use those particular patterns. There is a list of suppliers, mostly based in US, but it is not too hard to find UK suppliers if you prefer not to buy from abroad.

I found the instructions logical, easy to understand and practical; the tips and hints are useful and the writing manner is straightforward. The actual instructions begin with how to measure for your corset and end with how to lace and to wear it.

This is not a historical study of the corset through the ages, nor a social comment: it is purely a book on how to make a well-fitting corset. You will need a sound knowledge of basic sewing and, of course, the more experienced a seamstress you are, the easier you will find the work.

I have found it the most useful book on how to make a corset and I have several of them (books, not corsets - at least, not yet!)
0Comment|51 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 October 2009
Very detailed, it explains step by step how to build a wonderful corset.
My only regret is the lack of pictures in colour. The only coloured one is the cover.
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 October 2009
Excellent book! Systematical review of tools, materials and techniques - from busks to lacing. Wish I had this book when I started corset-making! But even after lots of practice I can find here lots of new.
Book contains full review of boning&busks types, lots of modelling and sewing hints, and step-to-step guidance for making strong and beautiful corsets.
If you don't know how to start your first corset or still have some technical questions after making few ones, try this book - it's balanced, easy and useful, with lots of illustrations and schemes.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 May 2009
a basic book on corset making,although almost the same as the little corset book ...only this book is larger,and has no patterns you can draft..unlike the little corset book ...wich i found better...sadly i was a bit disapointed with the content overall, and it does recomend patterns and equipment but no great detail..could have been better...if you have the little corset book ...dont bother getting this.
0Comment|22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 September 2009
Read this cover to cover as soon as it arrived and rushed out to buy the necessary fabric & notions. This book is invaluable to anyone interested in corset making. Really helpful, particularly when constructing the corset and great advice on fitting techniques. Well recommended for those with some sewing knowledge, not for the beginner sewer.
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 March 2010
This book is full of very detailed instructions on how to make single and double layer corsets. The instructions are clear and well-written. Having been on a course to learn to make the more complicated 4 layer corsets, I still found a lot in this book to help and advise and would class it as an excellent starting point for making corsets.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 June 2009
This book is so interesting. I have not made a corset before but the details and information are not too difficult to follow. The pattern suggestions are also helpful. Very good value.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 November 2010
I was put onto this book after contacting some corset makers and I gotta say they were right about it. I have learnt so much from this book and I am ready to built some (after my mock up of course).
If you are a beginner (like me) then this is the book to buy, it tells you about the materials best to use, equipement you need, and the quick and easy (as Linda Sparks virtully says) method of making a corset.
If corsets are your thing and you want one, make it, proberly cheaper and more unique.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2011
Hi I was quite disappointed with this book. I am quite an experienced sewer and pattern cutter and found the book to be quite unhelpful.It is not designed for beginners. I expected lots of step-by-step pictures and tips on basic stages of making a corset. Instead the book is filled with complicated pages and pages of writing. It would take me a long time go through all of the detailed information and I don't have the time. When I opened the book I found it looked really dated as did the small amount of pictures. It looks like someone has just photocopied pages from the seventies and stuck them into a nice cover!
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 February 2012
This book is all it says to be.

I was very happy with the informatio that it had given. The techniques that would work best. and step by step guides.

Its fantastic for beginners which is what I am when it comes to corsets.

I would recommend this book for anyone who wants to make a corset or who would like to start making a corset.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)