Buy Used
Used - Good See details
Price: £6.89

or
 
   
Trade in Yours
For a £3.10 Gift Card
Trade in
Have one to sell? Sell yours here
Sorry, this item is not available in
Image not available for
Colour:
Image not available

 
Tell the Publisher!
I’d like to read this book on Kindle

Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here, or download a FREE Kindle Reading App.

The Artful Dodger: Images and Reflections [Hardcover]

Nick Bantock
5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)

Available from these sellers.


Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Hardcover --  
Trade In this Item for up to £3.10
Trade in The Artful Dodger: Images and Reflections for an Amazon Gift Card of up to £3.10, which you can then spend on millions of items across the site. Trade-in values may vary (terms apply). Learn more

Book Description

23 Nov 2000
With sales of his "Griffin & Sabine Trilogy" surpassing three million copies, it's been said that Nick Bantock has created an original literary genre. Now he brings new meaning to the art of autobiography with "The Artful Dodger: Images and Reflections, " in which he infuses the tale of his professional and artistic life with warmth and wit. "The Artful Dodger" surveys the vast and varied territory that Bantock's work encompasses: from his English art-school days to paperback covers, pure abstract experimentation to pop-up books, "Griffin & Sabine" to his most recent work. Bantock's own words lend a highly personal, often revealing, always entertaining angle to more than 350 resplendent images. As rich in life as it is in art, "The Artful Dodger" reveals the creative range of a modern graphic master.

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought


Product details

  • Hardcover: 228 pages
  • Publisher: Chronicle Books; First Printing edition (23 Nov 2000)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0811827526
  • ISBN-13: 978-0811827522
  • Product Dimensions: 25.4 x 3.2 x 25.4 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 1,224,969 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Author

Discover books, learn about writers, and more.

Product Description

Review

BOOKLIST Donna Seaman Bantock, the creator of "Griffin & Sabine" (1991) and nine other unusual works of illustrated fiction, fashions an elaborately pictorial fairy tale our of the story of his charmed artist's life...the most intriguing chapters recount Bantock's amazing good luck as a young English dropout in the late 1960s. In spite of evincing no talent whatsoever, he enrolled in art school and soon magically discovered his gift for drawing. After completing his studies, he acted once again on intuition and impulse and waltzed into the offices of Penguin (having chosen that particular publisher because its "logo seemed friendly") and walked out with his first assignment, thus launching what became a 28-year career in book cover illustration. Bantock presents an impressive array of his diverse and striking work, including his covers for Flann O'Brien's "Third Policeman" and Carson McCullers' "The Heart is a Lonely Hunter, " then takes up the thread of his tale, recounting on word and image his move to Canada and his quest for more personal, challenging, and unpredictable outlets for his unique vision and technical mastery. Bantock proudly illuminates his creative process and also acknowledges his diverse influences, which range from Rembrandt to Odilon Redon, Joseph Cornell, old maps stamps, and Hindu art, and he takes his fans through each stage of the conception and birth of his books.

About the Author

Nick Bantock is the author of numerous illustrated novels, including Griffin & Sabine, Sabine's Notebook, The Golden Mean, The Gryphon, and Alexandria, which together spent 100 weeks on the New York Times best-seller list. Born in England, he now lives in Vancouver, British Columbia.

Inside This Book (Learn More)
First Sentence
During my last year at art college, having nothing better to do one dull Friday afternoon, I ambled down to the local pub. Read the first page
Explore More
Concordance
Browse Sample Pages
Front Cover | Copyright | Table of Contents | Excerpt | Back Cover
Search inside this book:

Sell a Digital Version of This Book in the Kindle Store

If you are a publisher or author and hold the digital rights to a book, you can sell a digital version of it in our Kindle Store. Learn more

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?


Customer Reviews

4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
5.0 out of 5 stars
5.0 out of 5 stars
Most Helpful Customer Reviews
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Almost un-put-downable! 14 Mar 2001
By A Customer
Format:Hardcover
For a man, who in this book, claims to have doubts about his talent to write, he has one of the most gripping writing styles I have ever come across. This book is written from the heart as Nick Bantock takes us through his life as an artist and writer.
I ordered 'Artful Dodger' as a wedding present for a friend who introduced me to the Griffin and Sabine Trilogy - which I found facinating. At seven o'clock this morning there was a rapping on the door and the postman handed over a parcel from Amazon containing this book: it couldn't have been better timing because it's my day off work, and I have been glued to its pages since that time. I have only dragged myself away - over 3 hours later - because I am so overcome with enthusiasm that I just had to write a review. I am in total awe of this artist, even though I'd never heard of him up until a month a go. Myself, an aspiring artist, this is just the sort of thing I needed to read; it is so inspirational that I'm going to have to order a second copy for myself to take pride of place on my bookshelf.
If you were left slighly puzzled at the end of the Griffin and Sabine Trilogy, but were still enthralled at the crativity of these books, this book is a must-buy!
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)
Amazon.com: 4.7 out of 5 stars  11 reviews
32 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Visual Delight 4 Aug 2000
By A Reader - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Hardcover
I've been waiting for this book! Part biography, part coffee table book, this is a real treat. Although it has a hefty price, and although most of the illustrations we have seen in Bantock's other books, his descriptions of how he created this art is terrific. I like the large-page format, especially when looking at the photos of his assemblages. What detail! What great ideas! This book inspires me to create my own collages/assemblages a la Joseph Cornell. If you are a Bantock fan, you will want to add this book to your collection.
26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A New Treasure Trove 20 Sep 2000
By "alexandra2" - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Hardcover
For fans of Nick Bantock, 'The Artful Dodger' is an absolute must. Not only will you have 350 full-color works of art from his college days to his latest creations, but you will also get insights into the merger of words and images. There is all kinds of insider information and humorous stories about the publishing and art worlds, as well as clues to the meaning of Griffin & Sabine. This is THE book for inspiration direct from the man, his creative process, and the sychronous events that have shaped his life. For more info be sure to check out his personal website too.
21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Never better 3 Aug 2000
By Rebecca Johnson - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Hardcover
This book is absolutely fantastic. I am a huge Nick Bantock fan and this book is very special in that it gives so much information. There are details about most of his books, plus (my favorite part) about books that he has started or created, but never finished or released. The pictures are glorious! I also love the pictures of bookcovers Bantock has done. This book is a wonderful edition to my collection of Bantock books and a MUST have for any art lover or Bantock fan.
YOU HAVE TO GET THIS BOOK!
11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun and engaging work for fans 14 Aug 2001
By Michael Holmes - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Hardcover
Autobiography written in a very relaxed, informal, and fun style. Excellent use of samples of his work from various times in his career as a great counterpoint to the text. Absolutely recommend this for people who are already fans of his work, and I also recommend it for people who like to learn about the creative process, how a particular artist develops their style and what their inspirations are.
9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thoroughly enjoying to read and view! 25 Jun 2003
By ChristineMM - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Hardcover
After reading and loving Bantock's Griffin & Sabine trilogy I stumbled upon this book. I was thrilled to learn background information straight from the author. I loved the trilogy but was left curious about the author and the works of art themselves. I enjoyed seeing his work develop over time and found it interesting to read about how he got started in his professional art career. I also appreciate his candid comments about the publishing industry and that he shared some negative opinions of his work with us-it shows he is not arrogant or an egomaniac!
I loved that the images are laid out chronologically. This book contains a lot of previously published work but that is fine with me-how else would he discuss his works if we could not look at them while reading about them?!? I liked reading what led him to begin working on a certain project or what drew him to continue working with a medium (i.e. designing his own stamps). I liked hearing where he gathers pieces to use in his collages and how he puts his collages together. After reading this book I have an even deeper appreciation for his books and artwork.
I thoroughly enjoyed reading this cover-to-cover and delighting in his gorgeous artwork. It is truly inspirational. As a person who is naturally better at writing than making art, I envy Bantock's ability to make such beautiful and thoughtful artwork!
Were these reviews helpful?   Let us know
Search Customer Reviews
Only search this product's reviews

Customer Discussions

This product's forum
Discussion Replies Latest Post
No discussions yet

Ask questions, Share opinions, Gain insight
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 

Search Customer Discussions
Search all Amazon discussions
   


Look for similar items by category


Feedback