Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars19
4.7 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 April 2012
The book's title says it all. It is an entrepreneurial guide to music publishing for the media industries.

Having read many books on that matter, that entrepreneurial perspective has always been missing. This book puts things right.
Without going into too much detail as for copyright law and the legalese, Helen Gammons explains how things work but most importantly how you can make the most of it as a music publisher/entrepreneur in 2010.
She provides context, defines a clear picture of today's music publishing sector and its positioning within the media industries, not just the music industry on its own - which is something previous books often missed to consider.
This book helps you think with the entrepreneurial logic to get the best of your assets and the opportunities the industry offers.

Most importantly, she encapsulates today's role of the music publisher very well, especially the A&R and creative processes. The chapter on the role of the music publisher and that of the music producer show it well.

A previous review says the author doesn't get a grip of who her audience is, considering the vocabulary used.
I've got nothing against them and I'm always happy to get to them when needed, but thanks God, this book isn't written by an attorney addressing students majoring in copyright law!
I would say this book is for anyone seriously considering a career in the music publishing, recording, or licensing sectors of the music industry whether they are artists, managers or just professionals overall. Even people working in another media sector may feel concerned by the topic. Therefore, that comprises a wide audience per se.
Having said that, as a serious newcomer or an established professional of the industry, reading this book involves doing previous and post research on the matter anyway.

Although the structure of the book is excellent, and the various issues all and well addressed, I'm not rating the book 5 stars because of the digressions that can be disturbing sometimes (although interesting) and the wikipedia bit already mentioned in another review post.
Moreover, because I clearly feel the expertise and knowledge that the author has, sometimes I wish she had developed some points more, but that's the eager reader that is speaking right now.

Helen Gammons turns out to be an self-respecting entrepreneur and a real motivator. She conveys her passion for music and entrepreneurship throughout the book, which makes it easy to read. For that, my favourite bit is definitely the preface part. Music is a business, a business that is always changing.

This isn't the only book about music publishing you should get, but as far as I'm concerned, I put it in my top 3 book on that matter.
33 comments|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2012
I've been working in the music industry for several years in many guises - as a song writer, performer, radio presenter, mentor, trainer and I currently own a record label and artist management company. You keep on top of your game by meeting people, attending events and reading books. Over the last few years I've done all three in significant numbers. This is without doubt one of the best books I've read in a very long time. Helen Gammons knows exactly what she's talking about when it come to publishing and the music industry full stop. It contains 15 informative and enjoyable chapters of everything you need to know about the industry. It's incredibly well written, with lots of great examples and case studies throughout. If you're in the business of doing deals this book is a must. I put it to the test often and it works every time. Read this book and you'll be at least one step ahead !!
11 comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 September 2012
This book is brilliant for me, as a 19 year old artist wanting to know the background of the music publishing industry. I can imagine it is also very useful for entrepreneurs and professionals, but for me it is particularly good as it explains everything clearly and simply, without being one of those books which will give you a general overview without going into details. Even if it is about £20, its a small investment in the big scheme of things for someone wanting to get into the music industry, and I would recommend it to anyone serious about their music.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 September 2011
I have just finished reading The Art of Music Publishing which I found both inspiring and encouraging. No punches are pulled with regards to the current state of our music industry. The challenges it faces and the mistakes it has made, have been well documented and referenced but there is no doom and gloom in Helen Gammon's assessment about the industry's future. HG leaves the reader in no doubt that the impact of the digital revolution upon the music industry has been dramatic but the change it has brought about is good! Helen explains clearly why, and how to take best advantage of the new and emerging income streams. The Art of Music Publishing is a gateway into the hitherto mysterious world of Music Publishing, Record Labels,Lawyers,Artists, Producers. If the book was simply academic it would be called The Anatomy of Music Publishing but it is so much more, and it is so because HG has poured her life and experience into it with a passion and commitment that is infectious. This is a must have book for any songwriter, independent record label, startup publisher or music student. It includes many other valuable articles and comments written by contributors from all walks of the international music world and closes with an extremely challenging but necessary clarion call for the need of greater Corporate Social Responsibility in our banks, multinational corporations and businesses in general.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 November 2011
The Art of Music Publishing: An entrepreneurial guide to publishing and copyright for the music, film and media industries.
I loved this book for it's relevance and helpfulness in finding a way through the professional music scene today. The value of this book is not in it's prose but in the business advice and help that is given. It is difficult to find the sort of advice that Helen affords in these pages and, as a new (2011)music publishing company created by original songwriters, we have built our forward strategy around the tools, methods and current market overview that is offered by Helen. Tony Hogan, Q Sertorius Music. Nov 2011.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 November 2011
I am so pleased I bought this book. It's bar far the clearest, most helpful guide I've found on music publishing, with plenty of real life examples, details of real situations and practical tips.
Helen Gammons clearly knows her stuff, and is more than happy to share it without showing off or trying to make the reader feel inadequate for not knowing it already, unlike a lot of other 'music biz' books.
I particularly like the fact that it focuses on the business of music publishing and copyright, rather than the usual 'how to be a pop star by getting a record deal' books that seem so out of date, especially now that myspace is over and labels don't really offer development deals any more.
This book is packed with clear advice and is well worth the money especially as it's so up to date - far better than trawling the internet for the odd nugget of advice, buy this book and get everything you need in one place.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 July 2013
I would not personally recommend this book I was hoping that it would help in negotiating a deal, with examples of splits. percentages co-writing agreements, details of catch-all phrases and warning of what to avoid, I could not find what i wanted in this book.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 February 2011
I received my copy a few days ago and i haven't put it down since!!! Extremely informative and inspiring book, as a Songwriter its given me lots of food for thought about the importance of my publishing rights and copyright, but this book would be useful to anyone working in the Music or Film industries who want to know more about the business side of industries generally and specifically the music/ associated synchronisation rights within them. Some great guest chapters too! Highly recommended!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 December 2011
Helen Gammons has done a fine job here in leading the reader through the inner workings of the publishing industry, the book is empowering, instructive, incisive and inclusive, read this book carefully and it will give you an insight into the mindset of a hugely successful and talented publishing executive operating at the highest level in the industry, if you absorb the elements that are relevant to you into your own business model then you should come up with a blueprint for success.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 June 2011
The Art of Music Publishing is a must have book for anyone needing to know the ins and outs of how this complex area of the music industry works. After studying music business several years ago I felt I could do with a 'refresher' and this book has certainly done that. The informative and insightful content was clear and easy to absorb. An excellent read and highly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse