Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Learn more Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars8
4.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
7
4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
1
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£9.20+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 17 June 2010
So far this is the best book on the subject I have both read and used. Coming from the worlds most prolific sausage makers I am hardly surprised at the instructions, the wealth of detail and above all the results we have been attaining. Absolutely indispensible from the food point of view as well as all the critical safety factors which are essential to grasp before commencing. A must have!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 June 2014
A wealth of good information into the process of making fermented sausages. No nonsense instruction on creating fermenting cabinets and drying cabinets, good detail on the drying process itself and what the optimal conditions are in each stage of the making process. Each recipe has the cabinet settings (Temp, Humidity, windspeed) which is very useful. Some useful hints on smoking but not too in depth. Good explanation of drop in pH so that the nasties don't take over and your good bacteria come out on top :-) Highly recommended for someone who is already well versed in the sausage making process and wants to advance to a higher level of difficulty and a quality end product. Well written and well presented.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2010
This book is where to start.
Well written and probably about as easy to understand as any book is going to be on this very technical subject. I haven't tried the techniques yet as I need to get all the required setup and probably read the book through a couple more times yet!
11 comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 February 2014
I bought this book as a Birthday gift for my huband. It's a fabulous book and a great gift. He hasn't put it down yet!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 July 2015
Great book, definitely recommend it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 November 2014
Excellent book, really informative
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2015
very tachnical with good recipes
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 November 2014
Waste of money, the authors are probably have shares in nitrate manafacturing companies, or work for the USDA. All this book does is advise you to use as much nitrates as legally possible just in case you mess things up because at home you couldnt possible compete with commercial sausage manafacturers and their flash labs. Out of 52 recipes he manages 1 without pork fat or beef in it. All this from men who have supposedly travelled the known world to perfect the art of sausage making, in 1 recipe he even tells how pork is he most popular but even meats as diverse as Ox or veal sometimes even horse are used, and then goes on to give us the pork version. When I went to school ox and veal came from a cow and were not different animals. They should change the name to Nitrates, Nitrites and pork sausages as recommended by the USDA.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)