Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars13
4.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
9
4 star
2
3 star
2
2 star
0
1 star
0
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 22 March 2006
This is the book that anyone interested in Fair Isle knitting dreams of. The explanations on technique are very good, with very useful ideas. The section on colour is excellent. The only slight criticism, and it is only slight the instructions given for the garment patterns are slighty vague at times, and in one case a bit misleading, but with a modicum of commonsense can be worked out
0Comment29 of 29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 19 January 2006
At this time it looks as though the art of Fair Isle is making a huge comeback. Books that are out of print are selling for ten times the original price. Old magazines are being sought in every nook and cranny. Newer yarns are now colored to automatically create Fair Isle color patterns.
This particular book was written by Ann Feitelson who spent considerable time on the Shetland Islands and short of being a native is the closes you will get to the History, Technique, and Color & Patterns in the art of Fair Isle Knitting.
This book is more than just patterns; yet there are some classics of socks, gloves, mittens, scarves, and mostly swatters. The real worth that makes this book stand out from the others is the history with pictures in monochrome and color.
You may have to learn a few new terms:
Needles = Wires
Cast On = Lay on
Stitch = Loop
A few of the garments also have different names. But their purpose is unmistakable.
This book besides being practical is a great addition to any library.
0Comment43 of 44 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 October 2009
I was very pleasantly surprised by this gem of a book. It has much more content than I anticipated. The history of Fair Isle Knitting and the section on how to use colours are particularly interesting and well written. Even though the patterns were designed some years ago, they have not dated at all. I've just ordered the yarn to make my first garment!
0Comment15 of 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 September 2010
This book is equally great for absolute beginners or experts. Patterns are easy to follow as charts are colour coded and wools are easily obtainable, not obscure foreign yarns. All techniques are well detailed and selection of patterns covers most needs and make you just want to get something on the pins
0Comment5 of 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
There are some lovely patterns in this book. There is also a good section on where to buy materials. Unfortunately, if you want to knit identical patterns as charted in the book, many of the materials and dye shades are no longer available. If you have a good eye for colour you can substitute your own ideas. If like me you are not good with colour, then tehre are going to be some big disappointments. The book needs updating but it is still worth having for your bookshelf.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 February 2010
This book is amazing., tis true I am a reasonably experienced knitter, but, I'm perfectly sure with a bit of concentration and a little common sense plus a tad of knitting knowhow the patterns are super inspiring and certainly do-able!! My recommendation is... get it, it's a treasure and a beautiful book.
0Comment7 of 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 September 2015
Fair Isle knitting never gets older, although the printed copies might be so. Interesting information and great inspiration.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 August 1999
When, as a naive young knitting-ingenue, I bought this book, I did not realize what a veritable corncopia of woollen joys awaited my delectation. Having opened that Pandora's Box, I now find myself unable to concentrate on my daily life. I eat, drink, breathe, and sleep, Fair Isle knitting patterns. Ah, Ann Feitelson, see what thou hast done to me! Thou hast verily unwoven the weft of my wool.
11 comment41 of 59 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2015
A must have for anyone interested in fair isle technique.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 December 2013
Although the book took a long time to arrive, it's completely worth the money. It covers a lot of history regarding the Faire Isle techniques and it has lots of patterns for different garments with various designs. I still didn't try any of them yet, but I can't wait to do it!
0Comment0 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse