Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars83
4.6 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 23 November 2000
This is an outstanding novel, probably the best of the Ballantyne trilogy which first began with A FALCON FLIES followed by MEN OF MEN. When it comes to describing the African way of life in the 19th century, Wilbur Smith simply is the best. Zouga and Ralph set out to explore the land in search of empire and wealth during the settlement of Rhodesia and after the Matabale are defeated but along the way they are involved with the violent fighting that still exists between the native tribes and the overwhelming white government who is destined to run their lives. Page after page the excitement just keeps coming and you just wont want to put the book down.
0Comment|34 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 May 2009
The third in the quartet of Wilbur Smith's books about the formation of Rhodesia in the 1860's into more recent 20th century Zimbabwe history. This copy was bought as a replacement for a much loved and much read older book, which literally fell apart. A really good adventure story with lots of interesting history interwoven with the fictional characters.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 December 2014
Terrific story spanning history of Rhodesia, and including Magabe, and all the treachery and dirty tricks that went on from the Matabele troubles onwards. Like all Wilbur Smith tales you get dragged in to the story and find yourself living and feeling the part. Couldn't put it down. Fabulous.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 September 2015
Much as I enjoy all of Wilbur Smith's books and have read them all, this is up there as one of my favorites. It covers three generations through the upheavals in South Africa from Rhodes forming Rhodesia, Matabele wars 0f late 1800's to the era of Smith... so its a long read, very accurate historically and a true epic.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 February 2013
I like any novel by Wilbur Smith and this is one in a set of stories
so I am delighted to get this book as its hard to find in charity shops
at a decent price
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 April 2013
Brilliant and a very descriptive read as per usual from Wilbur Smith. You can almost feel yourself in the places and the characters of the book. There is only one con against this book - I have finished it!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2014
Bought to replace a book I had and read very many years ago and then loaned and never got back. Enjoyed re-reading almost as much as the first time around.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 October 2015
i was most disappointed that i could not enjoy this novel because a number of the tapes were stretched and impossible to listen to.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 September 2013
Printing quite small otherwise I would have given it 5. I bought it because I like almost all of Wilber Smith's novels
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 May 2013
No dust jacket, The spline is coming apart ,Would not recommend to friends, advertised as good, I was very disopointed
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse