Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your e-mail address or mobile phone number.

Kindle Price: £4.99

Save £3.00 (38%)

includes VAT*
* Unlike print books, digital books are subject to VAT.

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Flip to back Flip to front
Audible Narration Playing... Paused   You are listening to a sample of the Audible narration for this Kindle book.
Learn more

The 5th Wave: The Infinite Sea (Book 2) Kindle Edition

4.4 out of 5 stars 94 customer reviews

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
£4.99
Audio Download
"Please retry"
£66.83

Length: 306 pages Word Wise: Enabled Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled

Get a Free Kindle Book
Between now and 26 February 2016 you can earn a free Kindle Book by simply downloading and registering the free Kindle reading app, buying a Kindle Book, or buying a book. Learn more
Get a £1 credit for movies or TV
Enjoy £1.00 credit to spend on movies or TV on Amazon Video when you purchase any Amazon Kindle ebook from the Kindle Store (excluding Kindle Unlimited, Periodicals and free Kindle ebooks) offered by Amazon.co.uk. A maximum of 1 credit per customer applies. UK customers only. Offer ends at on Friday, 26 February, 2016. Terms and conditions apply

Product Description

Review

Wildly entertaining... I couldn't turn the pages fast enough (The New York Times)

A modern sci-fi masterpiece... should do for aliens what Twilight did for vampires. (USA Today)

Nothing short of amazing (Kirkus (starred review))

An epic sci-fi adventure about a terrifying alien invasion. You'll read it in one sitting (Bookseller)

Remarkable, not-to-be-missed-under-any-circumstances (Entertainment Weekly)

A gripping SF trilogy about an Earth decimated by an alien invasion... the question of what it means to be human is at the forefront (Publishers Weekly)

This is DAMN and WOW territory. Quite simply, one of the best books I've read in years (Melissa Marr, New York Times bestselling author.)

This book is scary! (Teen Now (starred review))

A fantastic read. The 5th Wave is an electrifying page-turner (Kathy Reichs, New York Times bestselling author)

Yancey's heartfelt, violent, paranoid epic, filled with big heroics and bigger surprises, is part War of the Worlds, part Starship Troopers, part Invasion of the Body Snatchers, and part The Stand . . . a sure thing for reviewers and readers alike. (Booklist (starred review))

Breathtakingly fast-paced and original, The 5th Wave is a reading tsunami that grabs hold and won't let go. ('Melissa De La Cruz, New York Times bestselling author of the Blue Bloods series.)

...a twisty survival story that borrows elements from romance, horror and dystopian fiction (Wall Street Journal)

Wildly entertaining... I couldn't turn the pages fast enough (Justin Cronin New York Times)

The pace is relentless (Heat)

Action-packed. (MTV.com)

A cut above anything else in the genre (Sunday Telegraph)

Borrow this one from your teen's nightstand while they're at school (People Magazine)

About the Author

Rick Yancey (www.rickyancey.com) is the author of several adult novels and the memoir Confessions of a Tax Collector. His first young-adult novel, The Extraordinary Adventures of Alfred Kropp, was a finalist for the Carnegie Medal. In 2010, his novel, The Monstrumologist, received Michael L. Printz Honor, and the sequel, The Curse of the Wendigo, was a finalist for the Los Angeles Times Book Prize.

Product details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 1320 KB
  • Print Length: 306 pages
  • Publisher: Penguin (16 Sept. 2014)
  • Sold by: Amazon Media EU S.à r.l.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B00D65GLGS
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
  • Average Customer Review: 4.4 out of 5 stars 94 customer reviews
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #716 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  •  Would you like to give feedback on images or tell us about a lower price?


What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?

Customer Reviews

Top Customer Reviews

By Keen Reader TOP 50 REVIEWER on 20 Oct. 2014
Format: Paperback
“I am drowning in blood. Not mine. The blood of the billions who died before me, an infinite sea of blood that envelops me and bears me down to the lightless bottom.”

This is the second book in the 5th Wave series (the first being just called The 5th Wave (Book 1)). I believe there is a trilogy ultimately planned, so a third book is in the works. I see that a film based on the trilogy is being planned as well, with Sony Pictures announcing in April 2014 that the part of Cassie will be played by Chloe Grace Moretz. A release date of 2016 has been announced.

I thoroughly enjoyed the first book in the trilogy, with the premise being that aliens were attacking Earth, with each wave being a progressively worse option for humanity, until the 5th and potentially final wave hits. By now, it’s virtually impossible for humans to know if others are indeed human, or Others. If humanity can’t even trust each other, how can they hope to survive?

In this book Cassie and the band of misfits who survived the first book are still trying to survive; the odds are not getting any better, and they face even worse, new threats to their, and humanity’s ultimate fate. There is a lot of narrative around trust, and around such ‘human’ traits as compassion, loyalty and the struggle for survival. There were some great revelations in this second book, and I anticipate some big ‘oh, yeah’ moments in the third book when everything comes out in the open.

This is a great sci-fi novel; aimed perhaps predominantly at the YA market, there is nothing in it that a more mature sci-fi fan can’t enjoy; the story is timeless, the struggle endless; and I look forward to the third book with great anticipation.
6 Comments 5 of 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
I read the 5th wave a few weeks ago and then ordered the Infinite Sea on release day for my kindle. I absolutely love these books, the writing style is both clever and humorous and very reader friendly.

It's a great concept, the twists and turns kept me reading and thinking. I read the Infinite Sea in three days which believe me, is a record for me. Whilst this book has been written with a younger audience, it works just as well for an older audience (I'm now the wrong side of 50).

I really look forward to the concluding book next year.
Comment 1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
This is not as good as the first book and has some similar themes which is a little disappointing. Towards the middle the endless trudge of despair gets a little waring lets have some hope Yancy. But I guess it's more truthful in that respect when the world goes tits up what more can you expect. It is still a great read but too short I feel more of a filler which is a shame as we are no further forward which to make a book worth the price we really should be. Still recommend it though.
Comment 1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
I was really looking forward to continuing this book with Cassie, Evan, Ben etc and we do get some of them but sooooo much of the book is about Ringer who was pretty much irrelevant in book 1 and I'm still not entirely sure I have warmed to her now. I just feel that in books which are as short as these the character development should be more evenly spread because I find myself forgetting about people who I know are going to be important long term. In all honesty I think a lot more could have been going on with the main group because a lot of time passed while we were with Ringer and we are obviously either going to time skip or go back in time for the next book. I just think the book could have been twice as long and had more about everyone else in it and then I would have loved it. I'm also not a fan of chucking the title of the book into the writing about twenty times - and that's not an exaggeration - I swear there was an 'infinite sea' of something or another at least once every five pages!
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
I'm struggling with my review of the infinite sea, don't get me wrong I enjoyed the book but it wasn't what I was expecting. I found the story fast paced but short. Enjoyed getting to know Ringer more but found that I missed the main characters from the first book.
Comment 1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
The author's lucky that the first book was good, because if he'd submitted this transcript first there is no way on this planet that this rubbish would get published. When you read it you get the very strong impression that he had no idea what would happen after the first book, but as the publishers wanted a trilogy, he had to make two books worth of material from the notes he'd made on a piece of toilet paper. Like the paper, the transcript should've been flushed.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback
Not as good as the first one which was amazing. Barely anything happened for 80% of the book and I know the younger readers would be very confused with its unique descriptions of what was occurring at the time. However still enjoyed it but it mostly felt like a filler between the first and third book. yer I never got bored as it still made you feel like you were right there with them
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
This book is brilliant, I must say that I did prefer the first one, but only by a tiny bit.
The book is well written and extremely entertaining, the story is great as well. I loved how it switched between characters, this is really well done in this one.
Fans of The Host and The Enemy would love this series.
Well Done Rick Yancey! Another Amazing book!
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Most Recent Customer Reviews


Customer Discussions