Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Learn more Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars12
4.3 out of 5 stars
Price:£159.99+ £5.55 shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 November 2014
Very expensive for what you get and then you have to source some of the chemicals that are not included. Apparently they are not included as they can't be sent through the post but then you can purchase them separately on line and guess what... they arrive by post!
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 December 2014
This is a fantastic advanced Chemistry kit for any older child wanting to learn and experiment more with Chemisty BUT, it does not come with all the chemicals required to complete the experiment. Also, if you are in the UK, no reputable firm will sell individuals these chemicals as they are seemed dangerous substances. The required chemicals are only available to schools or to companies. This is not the case in the US where the manufacturer of the kit is based, where such chemicals are freely available. A great kit, but not really suitable for the UK market, unless you go on Ebay to source chemicals, but do you really want to buy chemicals from there?
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2012
At first sight, this looks like just the thing for anyone home educating or with kids who are interested in chemistry. The equipment is of fair quality,and there are a number of experiments to do. The main flaw is that there are a number of chemicals missing, and this is not made clear in the product description above. You need meths, sodium hydroxide, ammonia solution, hydrochloric acid and silver nitrate solution. You can find all of these on Amazon - the first four will set you back around £18. Silver nitrate costs just over a pound per gramme and is very dangerous in its powdered form. Disappointing that a set like this is incomplete.
55 comments|29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 October 2014
As said in some of the previous reviews it is rather expensive for what is in the twin layer box. For the cost this is not great value example no splints are included they would have cost a few pence and the volume of chemicals included are minimal such as two small 3 cm strips of magnesium ribbon when a decent reel can be purchased for a few pounds. I get the point about not including hydrochloric acid, hydrogen peroxide, silver nitrate, ammonia solution since these are not good if they leak in the box or something gets broken in distribution. Many of the "additionally required materials" p 16 in the manual can be sourced from DIY stores if one checks the product labels and most can be purchased via Amazon however these items add another £40 or so to the cost.
333 experiments although experiment 1 is heating/boiling water in a test tube so I think this should have been better identified as techniques rather than experiment. However now being is possession of the additional materials the "house" is gradually working through the experiments and my 8 year old is enjoying the experience, experiments which of course are very closely supervised by an adult. No one should let children work through these with total attention from a responsible adult, concentrated HCL is not for kids to handle without serious risk of harm or damage to household fixtures and fittings.
The kit appears to be of good quality and the experiments are in the main fun and interesting and I would suggest fantastic support for the school curriculum.
Returning to my opening point the kit is expensive and for anyone with the time sourcing the equipment should otherwise not be too difficult or expensive. Flasks / conical flasks, beakers, test tubes can all be found for a few pounds hence only 4 stars given
22 comments|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 November 2013
The set has the items described and a substantial book from which a child, with supervision, can not only do a wide variety of interesting experiments, but learn chemistry. This is what makes the gift worth it. If you can get your child interested and to learn chemistry for less than £150 then it must be money worth spent. I suspect that test tubes, holders and the like may be purchased separately for less, but that isn't the same as a gift wrapped all together with an informative book.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 December 2012
I wanted to purchase a chemistry kit which my son would be able to have fun with and learn from.
This kit ticks both boxes. I purchased it for my son last Xmas and a year on he still uses it.
The manual, which is included, is packed with information and presented in a way which is very user friendly.
Highly recommended.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 December 2015
Great kit - have been working out way through for a week and only half way through.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 December 2015
This has got to be one of the best chemistry sets I have come across. It is packed with all you need and to a good quality. The instructions are easy to follow to do the experiments and there are comprehensive explanations between to help you understand what you are doing. It is fun, interesting, absorbing as well as educational. This was a Xmas present for my youngest son and he loves it and together we have spent Xmas working through the experiments. This is nothing less than a great way to show your children the fascination of science.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2015
fast and precise
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 December 2012
I liked this set very much, and was able to purchase the additional materials via Amazon at the same time as purchasing this chem set. Its well worth the money as an educational science kit. I have purchased a few chemistry sets before but they do not compare to the Chem C3000. Overall I was very pleased with it.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See one answered question


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)