Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars8
4.1 out of 5 stars
5 star
5
4 star
1
3 star
0
2 star
2
1 star
0
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 November 2006
This book provided all information you could need from the moment you land in Thailand. The information regarding prices was nearly all upto date and offers information on accomodation for 3 price ranges: Budget, Mid-Range and Top-End providing lots of details no matter what type of holiday you are after.

It is particularly helpfull with warning tourists about local tourist traps and things to watch out for. It also supplies information about all the different towns, local transport, hospitals, maps of the different areas with key places marked out. It provides a basic thai dictonary but does not show how to pronoucuate the words.

Overal a very good book which I found to be an invaluable travel guide! Would reccommend it to any first time vistors to Thailand.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 May 2007
I found the 'Let's Go' guides to SE Asia way superior to the 'Lonely Planet'. The trouble with the 'LP' is that it tends to keep you on the well trodden trail and advises you to be cautious at every step.

The whole idea of travelling or backpacking is, I feel, to experience something new. You need to throw caution to the wind and just go for it. I think the opinions and tips in the 'LP' advise too much on what not to do and what nasties may happen if you do.

If you like to stay with the herd following the beaten track then this is the book for you. However, if it's a bit of adventure you're after then I'd look elsewhere.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 July 2011
Carried tow other guides with me on my recent holiday, but used this one the whole time as it has all the references I needed, every place to see and attraction to visit. Lots on a cultural and political side of this country's ways; also invaluable when it comes to checkingout the actual places to stay or eat, with a little adjustment - please make sure that you go for the latest edition!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 July 2011
Product arrived within delivery time listed and was in good condition. For the price I couldn't really complain! Am in Thailand now and although I used and read through it almost daily up until the day I arrived here I have hardly opened the book since I arrived. The book does give a really good introduction to Thailand for those who don't know much about what to expect and states the attractions in an easy to follow way. I would definitely recommend it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 November 2006
Do you want to wear ankle bracelets, baggy farmer pants, Singha beer singlets, eat European food, watch DVD movies, stay in the same hostels as everyone other traveller, and follow the well-beaten path of everyone else while clutching your guide like a security blanket? Then this is the guide for you.

The guide itself is okay though unremarkable compared to others. The maps are rubbish and a lot of the information is out-of-date or appears based on hearsay. But everyone has one and its ubiquity means all the sheep who carry it wander around doing the same things and staying in the same places.

Thailand is so over-touristed now there is no need for a guide. Everywhere is over-run with tour guides, hostels and internet booths where you can read millions of blogs from people doing then same thing, making a guide irrelevant. Yet people with this guide seem unable to think or act without first consulting the guide.

The guide is useful in one respect - if you want to avoid jaded Thai hosts, hostels full of hippie-wanabees with their bracelets from Ko Phi Phi and menus full of spaghetti and pizza, just don't stay at the places highly recommended here.

The Rough Guide does a similar job but is better set out with infinitely better maps, nicer fonts, better design etc. It is also written with more of a critical and analytical edge. The other bonus is that few other people seem to carry it around.

Footprint and Moon guides are also good if you can find them. I found a 1993 Moon guide in Khao Sok and it was brilliantly informative and had far more character than the Lonely Planet guide even though its was 13 years old (though the design was appalling I will admit). It was also years ahead of the Lonely Planet in terms of places to avoid even in 1993.
22 comments|20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2014
Very useful book, I referred. To it all the time on my visit to Thailand, although I have to say Pattaya was much more pleasant than I expected fron the guide description.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 October 2005
If you want to get the most out of your trip to Thailand, this guide will be invaluable to you. You will avoid the usual, crowded tourist traps and see a back country Thailand that will amaze you.
This guide will take you to places where you can get to know the fascinating Thai people and their intriguing culture as though you had always been best of friends.
Don't leave home without it!
0Comment|35 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2014
Interesting and informative....!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)