FREE Delivery in the UK.
Only 1 left in stock (more on the way).
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon.
Gift-wrap available.
Quantity:1
Thérèse (Pe... has been added to your Basket
+ £2.80 UK delivery
Used: Good | Details
Sold by Brit-Books
Condition: Used: Good
Comment: Simply Brit: We have dispatched from our UK warehouse books of good condition to over 1 million satisfied customers worldwide. We are committed to providing you with a reliable and efficient service at all times.
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Thérèse (Penguin Modern Classics) Paperback – 25 Apr 2002


See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Paperback, 25 Apr 2002
"Please retry"
£12.99
£5.44 £0.24
£12.99 FREE Delivery in the UK. Only 1 left in stock (more on the way). Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.

Frequently Bought Together

Thérèse (Penguin Modern Classics) + The Fall (Penguin Modern Classics)
Price For Both: £19.28

Buy the selected items together


Product details

  • Paperback: 320 pages
  • Publisher: Penguin Classics; New Ed edition (25 April 2002)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0141186224
  • ISBN-13: 978-0141186221
  • Product Dimensions: 12.9 x 1.4 x 19.8 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (4 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 152,598 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Inside This Book (Learn More)
First Sentence
The barrister opened a door. Read the first page
Explore More
Concordance
Browse Sample Pages
Front Cover | Copyright | Table of Contents | Excerpt | Back Cover
Search inside this book:

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
4
4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
See all 4 customer reviews
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful By Neasa MacErlean on 4 May 2013
Published in 1927, Therese still stunned me in 2013. It shows the fate of a clever woman who does not seem to find men attractive but who is rather obsessed by a female friend. Therese has to marry, and her underlying disgust turns into something much more lethal. We first meet her as she leaves the court room, saved by her husband's evidence on charges of trying to poison him. She was, in fact, guilty but the family wanted to avoid scandal. I am amazed that this theme has been explored so little. And it is fascinating to see a description of what could be lesbian feelings. It was a very modern book from the Nobel Prize winner, using some techniques from the newly-developed area of film. I am not a great one for rereading books but I will reread this for its stunning themes and for the astounding descriptions of the suffocating heat and claustrophobia-inducing countryside near Bordeaux.Thérèse (Penguin Modern Classics)
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
What happens when a young (somewhat indulged) middleclass girl, who quite consciously enters an utterly loveless marriage, realises she made the wrong decision? Add to the mix a remote setting in rural France, a narrow community that can't conceive of divorce, a quick pregancy (for a girl who is visibly unsuited for motherhood), and, of course, a legal system that does not recognise a wife's entitlement to anything - she cannot even have her own money.

It may be the modern 1920s but Therese's options are constrictive. Worse still, her one female friend Anne has fallen head over heels in love with an intelligent young man from the city. Events seem to be drumming in to Therese just how joyless is the marriage she naively raced into. But this is not a melodramatic sob-story. Therese is, psychologically, a carefully constructed character, which is what drives the narrative. Her musings have veracity and substance. Like when Therese comes to realise how as a teenager she was conditioned by her social sphere to embark on a way of life that is unfulfilling... And the conclusion is so unexpected.

Standing in the tradition of Madame Bovary and Effi Briest, "Therese Desqueynoux" is a tightly written, well paced, enthralling novella. I couldn't put it down. -This particular volume is the Penguin to purchase because it contains all of Mauriac's fiction centered on his character Therese. This omnibus brings together the initial novella "Therese Desqueyroux", then two short stories, "Therese and the Doctor" and "Therese at the Hotel", and finishes with the final novel "End of the Night".
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful By D on 17 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase
I really enjoyed the writing style as well as the themes this book touches. A woman's struggle to understand herself and her goals in life. Beautiful book, with a distinct feminist note.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful By Qatrinnada Rawi on 24 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase
Beautiful story. Very well written. Excellent analysis of a woman's realisation of what she wants in life. I loved his style.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Look for similar items by category


Feedback