Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars96
4.2 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 January 2004
If you're looking for an inexpensive financial calculator for (e.g.) University/CFA or a not too quantitative job, then this one does the job fine. It's not as flash as the HP 12C, but personally I only need the TVM and Bond calculations, both of which it does. The manual is clear with good examples, and it only took me about 10 mins to get all I needed. Once you work out how to enter dates (12.0803 for 12th August 2003 in European format) and how/when to use the compute button, you're away. It's also ridiculously light, probably weighing as much as about 3 bic's, although it is still normal calculator size. The case is pretty funky for a calculator as well(!)
All in all, does what you would expect, is easy to use, and will hopefully sit on my desk for years to come.
0Comment|35 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 July 2003
With the modern day fixation on laptops, pdas and wireless communications the BA II plus is a refreshingly straightforward yet powerful tool for anyone who wants to impress a client with their understanding of how money works.
As a mortgage broker I have access to a wide variety of research tools to find the best lender for a client. However, most of these are laptop and internet reliant and therefore not much use when you are accosted by someone in a casual or social situation with the question 'How much will a mortgage for £XXX cost me?' The BA II plus is a true "pocket" calculator you can have with you at all times, and with 3 simple questions you can give anyone an accurate estimate of their monthly repayments.
(Calculating mortgage repayments is only one of the useful functions available but there are too many to go into here)
You may not be able to check your e-mails, view video or make phone calls from this device, but with a battery life measured in years, weight measured in gram and dimensions that are truly pocket sized this is a must for anyone who is serious about financial services.
0Comment|34 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2012
I bought this item as one of the official calculators for the CFA. I have to say it's fairly easy to use once you've read the manual. The major issue with this calculator comes from the keyboard. If you try to enter numbers really quickly - as you would probably in an exam - you'll notice it does not register some digits or the ".". You have to be dead slow to make sure your calculations are entered correctly. I really hate the fact I have to keep on looking at the screen to check what is being entered... On the US website of amazon you can find more reviews talking about this issue.
I also tried to change the battery to make sure it was not the source of my problems. It took me at least 10 mins!!! You need a phillips screwdriver and a lot of patience. Once the screws are removed it's still quite difficult to separate the front and the back of the calculator without breaking the parts that holds them together.
I really tried to use this calculator but after a few hours I had enough! I ordered an HP 12C instead. It's brilliant!!! First of all, it registers everything even if I type fast. The Reverse Polish Notation (RPN) makes it a bit awkward to use at first (to calculate 2+3 you would type 2 Enter 3 +) but I got used to it after 5 mins and it's much more efficient when long calculations are involved. It seems to me the HP is a much better calculator if you plan to take the CFA. For instance, once data has been entered most statistical calculations can be done with only 2 keystrokes. With the TI BA 2 plus you would need to do all the calculations (i.e follow the definition of the formulas) for each parameter you're trying to calculate. It's just a waste of time.
0Comment|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 May 2009
I use this for my Masters in Finance and its a beauty.
Was bought and recommended by University of Reading and
does everything I need for Bond calculations and NPV IRR calculations.

Took a little while to get used to after using a scientifci calculator but now we get on just fine.
11 comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 December 2015
Bad calculator. I normally use my TI-84 which has served me well for almost a decade now, but I got this exam that doesn't allow graphical calculator so have to order this one. The problem is that it doesn't register keys when rapidly pressed, which means it can mess you up during exams. It's year 2015, this fundamental problem should have been fixed decades ago.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 June 2011
I bought this calculator to use with my financial services exams, to work out compound interest calculations mainly which it is perfect for. I agree with another reviewer that you do need to know how these calculations work manually before expecting the calculator to do it for you, as nothing comes with the calculator to explain how to do this. That said, I googled this calculator and very quickly found a comprehensive manual which was free to download which explains in depth how each of the calculations it can do works. All in all excellent value for money compared with many more expensive ones, which do little more if any than this one does.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 November 2010
It is a very important caculator for financial area. Such a very good product and hight quality. Highly recommend for students and professional in finance sectors.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 September 2015
Poor construction and feels like very "cheap plastic" simple commands are not intuitive at all.

Only bought this because it's mandatory for the finance exam. I'm forced to use this. Money calculations depreciation etc are useful but still- poorly made and just could be so much more modern.

The Casio fx83gt plus is cheaper and easier to use.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 August 2015
I received the product but it was unfortunately delayed by a day. Secondly, I tried to make the payment through my foreign Visa card first but it could not be processed despite giving the correct information.
Thank you for you service! I like the product and exactly what I wanted ! :)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2016
Great service until I recently found out that the calculator is not 100% working and there is no way to get in contact with the seller. There is n NFV, PB or DPB function installed on here which are all vital parts for my exam. Disappointed that I have had to buy a new calculator.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See one answered question


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)