Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Tempt Me Twice Mass Market Paperback – Sep 2001


See all 3 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Mass Market Paperback
"Please retry"
£11.13 £0.01

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought



Product details

  • Mass Market Paperback: 352 pages
  • Publisher: St. Martin's Press (Sep 2001)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0312979495
  • ISBN-13: 978-0312979492
  • Product Dimensions: 17.1 x 10.8 x 2.5 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 1,760,690 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Author

Discover books, learn about writers, and more.

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
1
4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
See the customer review
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful By ambersaxon696 on 24 Jan 2003
Format: Mass Market Paperback Verified Purchase
"Tempt Me Twice" is the first novel I have read by Barbara Dawson Smith. I gladly admit enjoying it thoroughly. The story is set in England in the early years of the 19th century.
Kate Talisford is a beautiful, clever and strong heroine who has learnd from her youthful mistakes. She is looking after her younger sister Meg and is trying to survive on their meager income after the death of their parents.Their father, Henry Talisford died in Egypt after a four year absence from his family. Kate is very distressed because her father meant a lot to them and he died in a foreign land excavating ancient artefacts. Kate blames for his death Lord Gabriel Kenyon a handsome adventurer who convinced her father four years ago to leave his family behind and travel with him to Africa in search of ancient cultures.Kate was in love with Gabriel as a 16 year old naive girl and she cannot forget his refusal before he left for Africa. She promised herself not to trust any man again and dedicate her life to looking after Meg and to publishing her fathers journals.Gabriel comes back a different man from Africa, full of guilt and experience and he is deeply touched by Kate's loveliness and also shocked by her anger and hate for him.Sir Charles Damson arrives to comfort the ladies and to purchase the journals from Kate. Gabriel wants the journals too but he also wants to solve the mystery around the journals and Professor Talisford's death.The storyline is interesting and fast-paced from the beginning. I enjoyed all the conversations about Africa and the ancient artefacts. Ms Smiths has combined an exciting love story with a bit of mystery regarding the artefacts and Henry Talisford's death.Kate and Gabriel are strongly attracted to each other both physically and emotionally.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)

Amazon.com: 8 reviews
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
Not Her Best 25 Nov 2001
By Sheri Melnick - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Mass Market Paperback
In 1812 England, Kate Talisford and her younger sister, Meg, are forced to move to a smaller dwelling after the death of their father, Professor Henry Talisford. Both girls are startled when Lord Gabriel Kenyon appears on their doorstep after accompanying their father on his expedition to Africa four years prior. Kate is especially embarrassed, recalling her previous declaration of undying love for Gabriel and promised seduction if he would convince her father to abandon his expedition. But Gabriel hasn't forgotten Kate and finds her more attractive than he did four years ago.
As he informs the girls that he is now their guardian, he warns them away from Sir Charles Damson. Gabe believes that Sir Charles is responsible for Henry's death and subsequent theft of a valuable artifact that Henry discovered. Romantic tension sizzles between Gabriel and Kate as Meg and Kate accompany Gabriel to his grandmother's estate and begin their search for the missing artifact.
Though the love scenes are sufficiently steamy, the romance seems a little contrived as Gabriel hardly seems the type of man to carry a torch for a sixteen-year-old girl for four years and then give up his wandering for her. And, while Yasmin's reappearance in England could tie up some loose ends and supply some angst to Gabe and Kate's relationship, the reader is left in the dark concerning the exotic Yasmin's seduction of Gabriel and subsequent association with Sir Charles. Fans of this author will recognize Gabriel as the younger brother of Michael, the hero in ROMANCING THE ROGUE. Avid readers of Ms. Dawson Smith shouldn't be too disappointed with her latest read, but it probably won't generate a lot of new fans.
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
Great! 15 Sep 2002
By Holly Fuhrmann - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Mass Market Paperback
Gabriel Kenyon returns from Africa seeking revenge on the man who killsed his partner. He also finds himself responsible for his parner's daughters. But he'd rather face the wilds of Africa than face Kate Talisford, a girl he's sworn to protect...a girl he longs to possess. As Kate and Gabriel search for her father's killer and a priceless statue, they find that maybe the true treasure is the bond that they're forging...a bond that could be love.
Barbara Dawson Smith tells a fantastic historical story, full of intrigue, fun and of course, love.
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
Tempting indeed! 22 Jan 2002
By A Customer - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Mass Market Paperback
This is a wonderful romantic adventure with a plot and pace that never let up as orphaned Kate plunges into a wild search involving an ancient Egyptian icon and a truly chilling group of Regency bad guys. Gabriel is the perfect hero--reluctant, sexy and ultimately redeemed by the love of a good woman. Barbara Dawson Smith is one of the most consistently excellent authors in the genre.
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
Adventures, romance, and a bit of humor. 11 Oct 2001
By Huntress Reviews - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Mass Market Paperback
Kate had been sixteen at the time of her greatest humiliating action. She offered herself to Lord Gabriel "Gabe" Kenyon, who was sponsoring her father's (Professor Henry Talisford) trip into the deep wilds of Africa in search of a lost city. He refused her.
Four years passed. Kate had only her younger sister, Meg, left in her immediate life. Meg was now sixteen, Kate was twenty. Their mother had died shortly after their father had left for Africa. Recently, Sir Charles Damson, who had seen their father in Cairo, reluctantly informed them of their father's death. The Professor had been set upon and killed by thieves. Sir Charles claimed the Professor had made him the guardian of Kate and Meg.
Gabe took over a month to bring them the news, because he had been stabbed in the back by one of the thieves, who just happened to be one of Damson's minions! He, also, claimed the Professor had made him the guardian of Kate and Meg!
Both men also wanted Kate to sell them the items her father had kept sending to her in packages. Kate refused both. Minor research led Kate to discover of a priceless ancient fertility goddess statue he had found. It had been stolen by the thieves that had later killed him. Kate wanted justice!
Great-uncle Nathaniel Babcock agreed that Gabe take Kate and Meg to Stokeford Abbey in Devon so his mother, the dowager Lucy Stokeford, could care for them. Lucy and her two life-long friends gladly agreed. But these three special women were out to make a match between Kate and Gabe, while Kate and Gabe were out to prove Damson to be a thief and murderer.
***** Fans of Christina Dodd and Susan Wiggs will especially love this story. Like them, Barbara Dawson Smith writes romance with a lot of thrilling adventures and problems to keep it all very interesting! For a touch of humor, a chimpanzee is added that I could not help but fall in love with. Wonderful reading here! *****
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
What happened to Barbara Dawson Smith? 20 Nov 2001
By Elizabeth Isabella - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Mass Market Paperback
I used to eagerly look forward to new novels from Barbara Dawson Smith, but her last two novels have been highly disappointing. The characters are overblown and idiotic. And I really hate it when the characters are constantly questioning one another's motives in the most banal of ways, e.g. "but could she trust him?" over and over again when there is no real basis for such a question.
I will give Ms Dawson Smith one more try. If the next book is equally formulaic and flat, I will stop bothering to read them.
Were these reviews helpful? Let us know

Look for similar items by category


Feedback