Eye Of The Tempest: Jane True Series: Book Four and over 2 million other books are available for Amazon Kindle . Learn more
Buy Used
£2.80
FREE Delivery on orders over £10.
Condition: Used: Good
Comment: This item will be picked, packed and dispatched by Amazon and is eligible for free delivery on Amazon UK
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Eye of the Tempest (Jane True) Mass Market Paperback – 26 Jul 2011


See all 7 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
Mass Market Paperback, 26 Jul 2011
£0.01

Trade In Promotion

--This text refers to the Paperback edition.


Product details

  • Mass Market Paperback: 338 pages
  • Publisher: Orbit; 1 edition (26 July 2011)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0316128082
  • ISBN-13: 978-0316128087
  • Product Dimensions: 10.8 x 2.5 x 17.1 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 4.4 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (9 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 1,744,911 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Author

Nicole Peeler writes Urban Fantasy for Orbit Books. Her first novel, Tempest Rising, is on shelves now. When she's not manipulating mythologies, she's vexing literature in her day job as an Assistant Professor of English Literature at LSU in Shreveport. Otherwise, she can usually be found belly dancing, sipping Bruichladdich, or listening to blues. But ne'er all three at once.

You can also find her blogging at the League of Reluctant Adults, on facebook as Nicole Peeler, and on twitter as NicolePeeler.

Product Description

Book Description

Nicole Peeler raises a storm with the fourth book in the Jane True series - a sexy, sassy whirlwind of an urban fantasy adventure, perfect for fans of Charlaine Harris --This text refers to the Paperback edition.

About the Author

Nicole D. Peeler does not have any cats, kids or husbands. Instead, she vexes literature in her new role as an assistant professor of Popular Fiction at Seton Hill University, Pennsylvania. --This text refers to the Paperback edition.

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
5 star
4
4 star
5
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
See all 9 customer reviews
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful By Seren Ade HALL OF FAMETOP 50 REVIEWER on 25 Oct. 2011
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
This, the fourth book in the Jane True series, for once sees the action centring around Jane's little seaside village of Rockabill. At the beginning of the novel, Jane is a bit out of things - she'd been left seriously depleted after her exertions at the end of Tempest's Legacy: Jane True Series: Book Three. So she's a bit disconcerted to find that the magical being she had nicknamed 'Blondie' now seems to have become part of her friends' inner circle. It turns out that she has a name as well. Unfortunately, it's a series of unpronounceable stops and clicks... that everyone except Jane seems able to pronounce.

Issues with Ryu now seemingly settled, it looks as though Jane is free to explore her attraction to the barghest Anyan - but things never run that smoothly as something starts possessing the people of Rockabill. Soon, the race is on between Jane and her allies, and Phaedra's evil team (including Jane's personal nightmare, the succubus rapist Graeme) to gain control of an ancient power source trapped beneath Rockabill.

This is, compared to previous novels, something of a disappointing entry in the series. Although many previous characters are brought back into play, their parts are quite limited - leaving much of the action down to Jane and Blondie. This is ultimately explained as being part of empowering Jane, but isn't particularly convincing and leaves the story less rounded than previous books. And Jane's talking libido which started out as kind of funny now gets LOTS more page time than some of the other characters. It's becoming tiresome rather than funny.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
I love Jane True, but why have they stopped producing the beautiful covers that were on the first couple of books? They were breathtakingly lovely.

So, this is book 4 - in order the books are: Tempest Rising, Tracking the tempest and Tempest's legacy. I really fell for Jane in books 1 and 2. She's just so delicious; she's sweet, sarcastic, clever, funny and gorgeous. She's also a halfling with a power over water and a love of swimming. Nicole Peeler has fleshed her out beautifully and there are some lovely characters here. Beside the plot surrounding the fae, there's her relationship with Anyan who I adore. But... The constant sex thoughts that pop into Jane's head started to annoy me back in book 3 and they're no better in book 4. It's only a minor niggle but it just annoyed me a little. The gang are all back, and it's lovely to spend a little time with Jane and her friends again.

Please start with the first book, they're enriching and enticing. A nice slice of fae life for those who like their urban fantasy to be clever and fun.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Format: Paperback
My thoughts: If you're at all interested in publishing, or maybe even if you aren't, you'll have heard people talk about author "voice" before. Like many people, I didn't quite get it, but Nicole Peeler has it, in spades. I started following her on twitter a couple of months before I got the first book (Tempest Rising), and as soon as I started the book, I could see it - the writing is so totally Nicole. The way she talks on twitter is the way she writes in the books, and I love it. I haven't reviewed any of the others before (which I have as audiobooks - this is my first time reading a paper copy), so I get to gush about it ;-)

The book starts with Jane waking up on Anyan's sofa, them having just returned from the Alfar compound, where Ryu, Jane's ex, has been elected leader. Jane and Anyan have finally revealed some of their feelings for each other, and I was looking forward with this book to finally seeing them get past the awkwardness and just get together already! Unfortunately they're attacked before anything fun can happen, and by the end of chapter two, Jane wakes to find herself in hospital, next to a father who suddenly knows about all the supernatural creatures living in Rockabill. Although I'm glad he finally knows about everything that's going on, and what his daughter is, I did think it was a bit sudden for Mr True to know about everything. We miss the actual reveal, and I almost feel like that was taking the easy way out.

This wasn't my favourite book in the series so far as plot goes, it just wasn't as interesting as I felt like the others were, and I think the end result was pretty predictable once you see what's going on. I did still really enjoy it, and you can see how much Jane has changed since we first met her in Tempest Rising.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
This book couldn't come soon enough for any Anyan fans (like me), because this is the one where we get some Anyan sex ..... or so I was hoping. But Nicole Peeler is a little tease in her writing, every time Jane (and I) get to close to some Anyan sex, we get interrupted! And oh boy, there's a good lot of Anyan in this book which pleases me to no end.

I had totally forgotten how funny Nicole's writing was. With Jane describing her fantasy of humping Anyan's kitchen stove (which sounds like me a bit), and lines like "Undulating is polite for greasy" when describing her hair. Peeler has a real talent for keeping a reader hooked in the story, there's always plenty of funny, snarky lines and the sexual tension between Jane and Anyan is .... well, amazing! But of course, I would love an Anyan of my very own so I may be a tad bias in my views.

If you like Urban Fantasy and you like hot smexy scenes, then pick up a Jane True book. Jane is a totally loveable and relatable lead character and she's so easy to slip into after a day at work.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again


Feedback