Start reading The Teacher's Tales of Terror on your Kindle in under a minute. Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here or start reading now with a free Kindle Reading App.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

 
 
 

Try it free

Sample the beginning of this book for free

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Anybody can read Kindle books—even without a Kindle device—with the FREE Kindle app for smartphones, tablets and computers.
The Teacher's Tales of Terror
 
 

The Teacher's Tales of Terror [Kindle Edition]

Chris Priestley
4.3 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (31 customer reviews)

Kindle Price: £0.51 includes VAT* & free wireless delivery via Amazon Whispernet
* Unlike print books, digital books are subject to VAT.

Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition £0.51  
Paperback --  
Kindle Summer Sale: Over 500 Books from £0.99
Have you seen the Kindle Summer Sale yet? Browse selected books from popular authors and debut novelists, including new releases and bestsellers. Learn more

Special Offers and Product Promotions

  • Purchase any Kindle Book sold by Amazon.co.uk and receive £1 credit to try out our Digital Music Store. Here's how (terms and conditions apply)


Product Description

Review

Praise for Chris Priestley: 'Priestley builds the tension expertly, leaving you vulnerable to every creaking floorboard' New Statesman Praise for Philip Reeve: 'A hugely talented and versatile author ... the emotional journeys of his characters are enthralling, never sentimental and always believable' Daily Telegraph

Product Description

Chris Priestley has readers on the edge of their seats in this trio of
terrifying stories as a teacher and his pupils share three
spine-chilling tales. But, of course, with a very surprising ending that
resounds like a slamming door on a quiet night!

Product details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 211 KB
  • Print Length: 128 pages
  • Publisher: Bloomsbury Childrens; 1 edition (7 Mar 2011)
  • Sold by: Amazon Media EU S.à r.l.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B004PYDBEY
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Average Customer Review: 4.3 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (31 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #82,369 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  •  Would you like to give feedback on images?


More About the Author

Chris Priestley worked as an illustrator and cartoonist for twenty years before becoming a writer. His books have been nominated for many awards including the Edgar Awards, the UKLA Children's Book Award and the Carnegie Medal. The award-winning and critically-acclaimed Tales of Terror series for Bloomsbury feature chilling stories rooted in the tradition of M R James, Saki and Edgar Allan Poe and are available in many languages. Mister Creecher is a novel inspired by, and linked to, Mary Shelley's Frankenstein and his latest, Through Dead Eyes, is set in a haunted hotel in Amsterdam.

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?


Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews
12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Teacher's Tales of Terror 28 May 2011
By Eleanor TOP 500 REVIEWER
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
This is a review of the Kindle edition of "The Teacher's Tales of Terror" which only includes Chris Priestley's stories. It was originally published for World Book Day with Philip Reeve's "Traction City".

This short collection begins with an account of a mysterious supply teacher entertaining (and scaring) his class by telling them spooky stories for World Book Day. This story acts as a framing device for three others, as well as having a clever twist and providing the book's chilling final line.

Priestley is well versed in horror conventions and these are knowing tales in the tradition of Poe and M. R. James, best read by a roaring fire whilst the wind whips up a storm outside. Although written for children I thoroughly enjoyed them, and as a horror-loving child I would have adored them.

Readers familiar with Priestley will know what to expect: not very nice Victorian children becoming involved in sinister, ghostly, and sometimes horrific events. New readers who enjoy this taster have a treat in store as Priestley has published three other collections of tales: Uncle Montague's Tales of Terror, Tales of Terror from the Tunnel's Mouth, and Tales of Terror from the Black Ship. These come with the added bonus of David Roberts's beautiful Goreyesque illustrations.
Was this review helpful to you?
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The 5 is for Philip, really 21 July 2011
Format:Paperback
The first thing that needs to be said is, these books, in my opinion, should not be taken too seriously. They are after all, first, to celebrate World Book Day, the second, they are tasters for the authors' main bodies of work.

Traction City - Philip Reeve. This lets us in on the basic setting for the bulk of the Mortal Engines series, and also allows us to see the loose, pacy writing style of Philip Reeve. It acts as a great teaser / tempter whatever, and I am sure many will be off to either Philip Reeve's page here, or on the bus to Waterstone's the second they put this book down. Ok, the story: a mad axeman of sorts (I know full well of course what he is, but perhaps it's unfair to go that far here) is on the rampage in the lower, rougher, dirtier denizens of rolling London. At the same time a suspected terrorist is apprehended, but is there a link? Read it to see. Back to the style; it's great that at times Mr Reeve abandons detailed descriptions, and it becomes a less is more caper. When you can pull of with aplomb calling a high tech weapon, 'An electric rifle thingy' then we know we have a great writer with us. Ok, take on board this is, as already said, a taster; it is not integral to events before or after, nor pivotal, you won't miss out if you never get this, but, it's a decent read in between the news and Corrie.

A Teacher's Tale of Terror - Chris Priestley. This is a different kettle of fish. The story features a character, a supply teacher, who turns up to teach for a day on one of those themed dressy up Victorian heritage days. He seems odd, out of place, sinister and unfriendly. He teaches a class, or rather, he reads stories to them, mild mysteries rather than true horror / terror.
Read more ›
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mortal Engine withdrawals.... 22 Mar 2011
Format:Paperback
I don't post reviews on Amazon to be honest but I feel the need to because there are a series of Sci-fi books that need a wider audience and more recognition (not that they havn't won awards anyway). This book is a short story written for World Book Day 2011 and set 20 years before Mortal Engines. I must say it was great to read a new story set in the time of the original books.

This is a good but brief (well it is a £!) introduction to the World of Mortal Engines (WoME) but as someone very familiar with that world it was still interesting, for me, and good to see a side to London I hadn't really seen before. it also acted as a slight tease for Scrivener's Moon and beyond possibly I thought. A pleasure to read all round! If you liked this then read Mortal Engines and its 3 sequels. The 3rd prequel Scrivener's Moon is out this year.

This a double book and the other story The Teacher's Tales of Terror was fun too!
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
5.0 out of 5 stars I worship Chris Priestley! 18 Mar 2014
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
The talent for writing that dark twist for a young adult is mind blowing when it comes to this man. He is the only author were I become depressed when I finish his book. I am an avid reader and when I was younger I craved this type of story layout and setting. If I could sit and read this gentleman's material every day for the rest of my life, I would positively do so with great enjoyment.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
4.0 out of 5 stars Creepy 12 Mar 2014
By Buddly
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
The stories were a bit spooky - then I got to the twist at the end. It was very creepy!
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
5.0 out of 5 stars Disturbingly good read 4 Mar 2014
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
A captivating book, full of original twists and turns. The stories keep you thinking long after you have put the book down. Highly recommended
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
5.0 out of 5 stars Tales of Terror for World Book Day! 30 Sep 2013
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
This is a great little 'extra' especially for anyone who's a fan of the original series. Slightly lighter in tone, though probably as it was published for World Book Day and so aimed at younger children, here are three more great tales (with a wrap-around story) to keep you going, until you discover 'Christmas Tales of Terror'!
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
5.0 out of 5 stars Chris Priestley - 25 Aug 2013
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
really does seem to write enjoyable and surprising stories. Thoroughly good read and I don't think you'll be disappointed. His format for writing stories within stories ensures that the tension and excitement continues and increases to the very final page. Well worth reading.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Would you like to see more reviews about this item?
Was this review helpful?   Let us know
Most Recent Customer Reviews
2.0 out of 5 stars I did find these stories rather dull to be honest and lacking in depth
I did find these stories rather dull to be honest and lacking in depth. I just could not maintain any interest despite my best efforts.
Published 12 days ago by Ian
4.0 out of 5 stars A bit on the short side - could do with more stories
Excellent stories even if it was aimed at kids. Still credit where it's due - just wished, there were a few more stories in it though.
Published 1 month ago by Amazon Customer
5.0 out of 5 stars The Teacher's Tales Of Terror
An amazing book, with a brilliantly spooky twist. Chris Priestley is an amazing writer, and I love all of the 'Tales of terror series'!
Published 13 months ago by Mrs Knapp!
2.0 out of 5 stars Good writing but lacking terror.
Although the book was well written it lacked terror content and the stories seemed to end without much conclusion. Not worth buying.
Published 15 months ago by Annie 99
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow
This book is so cool. It was scary and interesting at the same time. It was a great book and I strongly recommend it.
Published 16 months ago by bopalula
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic
Great book for teens. A great read to pass the time with a hidden twist at the end of each story
Published 16 months ago by Laura Beddison
3.0 out of 5 stars The teachers tales of terror
A good read but I could have done with a few more stories.
However it was a good twist at the end.
Published 17 months ago by Judy Pryce
3.0 out of 5 stars Creepy
Good Victorian type horror stories well put together , nothing to gory , plenty of tension abundance , good read
Published 17 months ago by Derek
Search Customer Reviews
Only search this product's reviews

Customer Discussions

This product's forum
Discussion Replies Latest Post
No discussions yet

Ask questions, Share opinions, Gain insight
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 

Search Customer Discussions
Search all Amazon discussions
   


Look for similar items by category