Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now


Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 22 November 2012
I was interested initially as I live near to Trent Park, where most of the eavesdropping took place, and had walked past the old house without knowing it's history. It is now part of Middlesex University campus.

Once into the transcripts themselves it was difficult to put down, the thoughts of front-line generals, and these were fighting men for the most part, were fascinating. Seemingly banal passages are suddenly set alight by the intrusion of some gruesome detail.
0Comment6 of 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2013
I had been wanting to read this book for a long time. It is very interesting to hear the German generals in their own words. One realises they were not supermen and had many doubts and personal views about the war and Hitler. The fact that Hitler was shielded from the realities by his closest associates and also usually ignored information and advice which did not support his own interpretation of the facts.Of course the speakers were not the very top commanders as they of course were not in a situation to be captured. The only thing I was disappointed about was that there were not as many conversations as I anticipated and they were to some extent repetitive.
0Comment5 of 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 October 2010
The myth of an "unblemished Wehrmacht" is further undermined by this solid piece of primary research into the recorded transcripts of a hitherto little known British Intelligence operation which targeted high-ranking Wehrmacht officers who were held PoW Interrogation Camps in and around London (Trent Park being the main facility). Using state-of-the-art bugging equipment, the UK project's leaders were able to obtain a rare insight into what these men really thought about a variety of topics, including the course of German politics and strategy (c.1942-1945), German racial policy and reaction to the attempt on Hitler's life in July 1944. The disagreements which ensued between the prisoners on these issues is highly instructive. This is a must-read for any serious student of the Third Reich.

The book is divided into three sections. Section One serves as an Introduction, where Professor Neitzel explains a little about the research methods used, as well as elaborating upon the mechanics of the surveillance process. He then proceeds to give a detailed survey of the main subjects of discussion of the prisoners (outlined above).

Section Two is the main body of the text, with 216 pages of transcript material. Section Three is comprised of short biographies of all the key players, of which there are eighty seven.

Those who choose to read this book should brace themselves for a few surprises.
0Comment14 of 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 June 2008
Outstanding scholarship creates vivid portraits through the secretly recorded conversations of captive German generals; a powerful insight not only into World War Two history in the uncensored words of those who made it but also of how those minds reacted to captivity. The two factions which formed around the anti nazi General Von Thoma & the very pro nazi General Cruwell illustrate better than any example I can recall the inate hypocrisy of the Third Reich & those that served it so slavishly.Biographies & detailed notes make this book a feast. I would recommend this book not only to those interested in history but also psychology.
0Comment16 of 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 October 2007
Soenke Neitzel has used unique material: original voice of German officers in relatively unguarded moments. His introduction is sensible. My grandfather (my mother's father) features prominently and he is - in my mind at least - not treated unjust, neither in the selection of materials nor in the introduction. But I think this book is also interesting for anyone with an interest in the times and certainly for a playwright.
0Comment15 of 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 July 2014
Very interesting
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 October 2013
The TV programme instigated interest. I would have liked more comments on allied strategy and their rating allied leadership. Certainly debunks Wermacht ignorance of holocaust
0Comment1 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 December 2015
gift
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse