Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.2 out of 5 stars
13
3.2 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£7.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 13 August 2009
Just as Kinglsey Amis complained of the 'compulsive vividness' of his son's literary style, so I must place TC Boyle in that same starstruck category. Yes, Boyle is as consummate in his use of the language as such modern greats as Anthony Burgess and Martin Amis, but it is no substitute for the classic structure of the good story that has a beginning, middle and end with plausible situations involving believable characters that we can sympathise with.

And this is where "Talk Talk" falls down. It is one of TC's duds. The plot is weak, the situations implausible and the ending just made me want to hurl the book across the room as it suffers the same structural weakness as some of Boyle's other works that have also marred my enjoyment with a weak denouement.

That said, Boyle is one of those writers who can be read for the sheer, inventive playfulness of the language. For that, he has three stars and my forgiveness.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 July 2006
TC Boyle is a great writer, but this newest is a little too thin. Identity theft is a hot topic, and he will probably score big points with movie options and current event freaks, but these lame brain characters go way overboard in their reaction and you spend a lot of time yelling advice and "why dont you just call the cops!" out loud at them. Talk Talk was a great idea, but at the end you feel youve wasted your time.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 November 2006
T C Boyle has written some cracking books, but this isn't one of them. The plot is just silly - as others have said, too many coincidences, a very poor ending and the never-answered question of why they don't call the cops - and the characters appear to have come from a stock library of goodies and baddies. Boyle shows off his command of the language but to no material effect. The descriptions of what is being cooked are as boring as it gets. I felt cheated, because I stuck with all of this rubbish in the hope of a strong ending, or at least an upturn in the quality of the story. No such luck.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 October 2006
I was recommended this book and was hugely excited about reading it but in the end it was a complete waste [...](a big giveaway should have been the large print used to bulk out the pages). It was such a let down I'm willing to give it away to someone on the street just because it could never live up to the other books on my shelf. Full of self-important dross and clearly an opportunity for TC Boyle to use one of the protagonists as a vehicle to show off his wide knowledge of food and wine, among other things. After a while you start to wonder whether this is in order to make up for the fact that,like his book, there's not much below the surface. No real plot to speak of and I had no empathy for any of the characters (though on paper - excuse the pun - it should have the opposite effect). If the ending is killer then sometimes a book can redeem itself, but unfortunately in this case it only served to drag it done to lower depths.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 August 2006
This is a gripping tale and ideal holiday reading . T C Boyle is an expert storyteller and the narrative never flags . The characters are well drawn and maintain our sympathy throughout. The author conveys the world of his deaf heroine Dana in all its frustrations and silent striving and gives the reader a vivid picture of how reality must appear to the deaf. He also gives an intelligent vision of American lifestyles and the way we are all besottted ( and enslaved ) by technology .I recommend this book to anyone who admires skilful, taut and unpretentious prose.
11 comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2014
This book started so, so well. I was immediately drawn in by Dana, a young deaf woman facing a hideous case of mistaken identity. I clicked instantly with her boyfriend too, Bridger. In my head I cast him as Jesse Pinkman, Breaking Bad's loveable every-dude. This pair are smart, attractive, interesting, and suddenly thrown together into a cross country road trip/ nightmare set up that I found irresistible.

But like Dana's deaf-girl driving, it drifted. The action came in fits and starts, with both parties apparently losing interest then getting angry again without much apparent motivation. I'm willing to overlook the elephant in the room - their failure to call the police on countless occasions - because this is a thriller. But the pace just faltered too many times.

I read this book quickly, and yes, I couldn't put it down. I was drawn in again and again, only to find loss of steam and tailing off every time things moved forward.

The book has inevitably dated quickly in the fast rush of digital technology. The protagonists all flip their phones shut, and at one point we're expected to be impressed that Bridger has downloaded and printed off a map from The Internet. Maps? We don't use them now.

The writing is verbose, as you would expect from TCB. At times it's almost laughably over written, but who am I to question this mans skill with words. I actually enjoyed the food theme, the fast food on the road as much as the gourmet stuff served up by the violent ex con. Oh I know, just go with it.

The ending is just so rubbish I can hardly credit it. I'm sure most reviewers here feel they could do better themselves, I feel certain that I could. I would just love to hone and fine tune this book, because I loved the characters, the settings, the whole idea of it so much and I think it lost a lot in the execution.

But I learned a lot, and I enjoyed the ride.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2013
Mabe too many storylines made for a book that did not match its promise. It was initially engaging as a novel about identity theft with the protagonist deaf. Part psychological thriller/romance/road trip. It is as other reviewers note, well written. It was the psychology which lets it down on all counts. Although the characters are complex and well outlined-they remain or their actions remain uncredible. It is a good, short read. A number of hours but not something that pulls you in and has you sucked into the nightmare the story is attempting to portray. Not to give away the plot, just imagine someone stealing your identity in a society where you then have to prove your existence. close to the reality that is emerging where banks and other agencies are increasing making the victim prosecute their own case. But given that, this book does not look at the laissez faire of corporate America swallowing people up like krill and spitting them where it pleases, because it can. Summary. Great writing, hence four stars. Plot and story three stars.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 October 2006
Deaf teacher Dana Halter finds herself the victim of identity theft and the police don't have the time or inclination to investigate. This novel follows Dana and her boyfriend as they track down the criminal and try to set things right.

I found this to be a very readable, pacy and well written novel but there's something about it that stops it short of being quite as good as it promises to be. Something in the plot is lacking. As the couple track their man across America without any idea of what they are going to do once they catch up with the criminal, everything drifts until another lucky co-incidence pushes the story along another notch. Plus, the ending was a bit lame. If I could, I'd give it 3.5 stars.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2011
The hardest thing about being an unconsecrated novelist for the highway scribe, is being an unconsecrated novelist.

Or at least it used to be. There is nothing more boring after 20 years of scribbling to sit around and stew in one's own bitter brew of what writer Steve Almond calls "fame angst."

In the end, all the clichés apply. As an artist, you're not racing anybody, rather engaged in a most particular and personal journey of learning that has nothing to do with other creatives.

The point being that the scribe is at a good place where he knows being the BEST BIGGEST WRITER IN THE WORLD, COUNTRY, STATE (or just on the block), is an illusory goal, that such things are hard to quantify, least of all through immediate commercial success.

And so it's nice to sit and read a novel by someone like T.C. Boyle, with fame and many, many more novels and achievements to his credit than the scribe, and simply be able to enjoy it for the good writing it is, as opposed to the good writing it is next to the scribe's equally good writing etc.

the scribe's sister Rosemany (Ro) sent Boyle's latest, "Talk Talk" as a gift for Christmas.

Ro turned the scribe onto Boyle with a book of short stories she loaned him a few years ago. the scribe took it to a Boyle reading and had the author sign it to the sister, which he sent back to her. It (the book) soon found its way to another Boyle reading on the very same tour, but in Boston.

One of us (probably her) must have made an impression because a minor character in "Talk Talk" is a pizza chef named, Skip Siciliano.

Anyway, who the hell cares about that. "Talk Talk," is a wonderful novel and a great read. Go out and get it and rip through it the way the scribe did.

Boyle's been at this for so long, done so many (he's at a clip of one novel per year), that "Talk Talk" reads like he wrote it off the top of his head in a weekend.

The story is simple enough: a deaf woman is a victim of identity theft. She and her digital nerd boyfriend take off to parts mostly unknown in search of the thief, and wind up on the other side of the country, in new lives not easily shaken off.

Super contemporary, there's something almost "potboiler-ish" about this story of Dana Halter, Dana Halter, and Bridger Martin. No tricks, no experimentation: a straight narrative that only on occasion pulls up to provide a little background, but this, too, is done seamlessly.

Despite the straight ahead and forging plot, the literature is there, so unobtrusively, it serves as a great lesson for scribes both aspiring and accomplished.

It's there in the neat contrasting Boyle achieves by switching back and forth between Dana and Bridger, the identity theft victims, and Dana Halter (nee, Will Peck Williams) the identity thief.

If taste is the same as class, a low-rent upstate New York boy, can certainly acquire class. Williams knows about the best things (or at least the agreed-upon best things) and possesses them thanks to his excellent performance as a thief of personhood.

As Dana and Bridger sleep in crappy motels, eat crappier food, and wear thin the fabric of the strained relationship (she is, after all, deaf), Dr. Halter (that's Peck Williams) bones his beautiful Russian wife after preparing dinners described with such culinary delectation by Boyle that one finds their gastronomic juices flowing again and again.

"Talk Talk," will make you hungry if you don't eat ahead of time.

The literature is found in the dead-on contrast between central California's coastal world and the muggy, mossy, watery summers of upstate New York.

It's there in the simple metaphors, verbal and contextual, that Boyle constructs so easily.

Of course, if you've read Terry Eagleton, you know literature can't truly be defined.

As has been suggested, the story is simple enough. A road movie if you will, with the images in your mind instead of on-screen. Dana and Bridger follow their antagonist all the way back to upstate New York, the thief's identity (or lack thereon) begins to unravel in both the public and private sense as they slowly, almost unwittingly corner him.

He's stolen identities before and things have gone smoothly. He's just never done it to someone as persistent as Dana Halter.

Boyle's end has good guys and bad, while still dishing out the right touch of ambiguity and space for personal interpretation that elevates "Talk Talk" just above a thin yarn.

It's hard to know where he's going until the end when Bridger, now single, spends a moment graphically exalting his ex-girlfriend Dana on his weapon of the choice, the computer screen. Dana's personal quest has cost him, and others, dear and the obstinacy with which she pursues the man who had her temporarily jailed makes those around Dana want to wring her neck.

"Talk Talk," is what deaf people call their own conversational get togethers and, at the end, we realize Boyle has given us a portrait in deafness; the soul of someone defined by the silent yet histrionic world around them; the portrait of a learning curve and final product somewhat beyond the norm.

A story about the special someone, and then some.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 14 April 2008
I greatly enjoyed this book and I was surpised to see that others on the whole have been pretty negative about it. Perhaps it is weak compared to his other works - I don't know, because this was my first experience of a TC Boyle novel. I thought the quality of the characterisation was excellent and I was drawn straight in to the deaf girl's world. The identity thief was also portrayed extremely well - much more complex than just a cartoon bad-guy. I really look forward to reading more by this author.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.