Tales of Terror from the Tunnel's Mouth and over 2 million other books are available for Amazon Kindle . Learn more

Buy New

or
Sign in to turn on 1-Click ordering.
Buy Used
Used - Very Good See details
Price: 1.96

or
 
   
More Buying Choices
Have one to sell? Sell yours here
Sorry, this item is not available in
Image not available for
Colour:
Image not available

 
Start reading Tales of Terror from the Tunnel's Mouth on your Kindle in under a minute.

Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here, or download a FREE Kindle Reading App.

Tales of Terror from the Tunnel's Mouth [Paperback]

Chris Priestley
4.6 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (14 customer reviews)
RRP: 6.99
Price: 5.24 & FREE Delivery in the UK on orders over 10. Details
You Save: 1.75 (25%)
o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o
Only 13 left in stock (more on the way).
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
Want it tomorrow, 2 Aug.? Choose Express delivery at checkout. Details

Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition 3.60  
Hardcover 9.68  
Paperback 5.24  

Book Description

7 Mar 2011 Tales of Terror
A boy is put on a train by his stepmother to make his first journey on his own. But soon that journey turns out to be more of a challenge than anyone could have imagined as the train stalls at the mouth of a tunnel and a mysterious woman in white helps the boy while away the hours by telling him stories - stories with a difference.

Frequently Bought Together

Tales of Terror from the Tunnel's Mouth + Tales of Terror from the Black Ship + Uncle Montague's Tales of Terror
Price For All Three: 15.72

Buy the selected items together


Product details

  • Paperback: 288 pages
  • Publisher: Bloomsbury Childrens (7 Mar 2011)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1408802740
  • ISBN-13: 978-1408802748
  • Product Dimensions: 13.2 x 19.7 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 4.6 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (14 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 201,270 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Author

Chris Priestley worked as an illustrator and cartoonist for twenty years before becoming a writer. His books have been nominated for many awards including the Edgar Awards, the UKLA Children's Book Award and the Carnegie Medal. The award-winning and critically-acclaimed Tales of Terror series for Bloomsbury feature chilling stories rooted in the tradition of M R James, Saki and Edgar Allan Poe and are available in many languages. Mister Creecher is a novel inspired by, and linked to, Mary Shelley's Frankenstein and his latest, Through Dead Eyes, is set in a haunted hotel in Amsterdam.

Product Description

Review

'Inventive, deadpan, sardonic and cruel, [Tales of Terror] From the Tunnel's Mouth is a creepy autumnal treat' (James Lovegrove, Financial Times)

'The stories are spine-chilling thrillers . . . a wonderfully nightmarish journey of the imagination - old-fashioned storytelling at its best' (Daily Mail)

'It's a classic in the making' (Nicola Smyth, The Independent on Sunday)

Book Description

The third spine-chilling title in the brilliantly received series of ghost stories by Chris Priestley. With a brand new story and an exciting commercial jacket treatment

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?


Customer Reviews

3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
4.6 out of 5 stars
4.6 out of 5 stars
Most Helpful Customer Reviews
11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very entertaining! 7 Oct 2009
By Jenny, Wondrous Reads TOP 500 REVIEWER
Format:Hardcover
Each story in Tales of Terror from the Tunnel's Mouth is short and sweet, and is of a suitably scary nature. Younger readers will love the creepy characters and settings, especially seeing as Halloween is looming just around the corner.

I particularly liked how Priestley linked his present characters with stories from the past. It was a clever way of connecting everything, and made the stories flow smoothly from one to the other. I enjoyed his writing style, and am definitely thinking of buying the other books in the Tales of Terror series.

My personal favourite stories from this anthology were The Glass House, The Island and The Little People. Killer plants, dinosaur-like creatures and evil fairies -- what more could I ask for?! Each tale was well crafted and thought out, and my only complaint is that some of them weren't longer. I could easily have read another twenty pages or so, though that would probably defeat the point of a short story.

If you're looking for a quick, gruesome read for younger teenagers, give the Tales of Terror books a go. They're highly entertaining, and will no doubt be the perfect alternative for readers not yet mature enough to tackle older horror fiction.
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Tales of Terror from the Tunnel's Mouth 25 Mar 2014
By Keen Reader TOP 100 REVIEWER
Format:Paperback|Verified Purchase
Robert Harper is going back to school. He’s quite happy about that, as he has a distant relationship with his father, and doesn’t really care for his stepmother, however much she seems to love him. He is put on the train (this book is set I felt in the late nineteenth century, although that is never confirmed) and begins his journey, being joined in the carriage by people he thinks of as the Major, the bishop, the farmer, the surgeon and lastly the Woman in White. When the train journey is interrupted and the others in the carriage are lost in sleep, the Woman in White keeps Robert in conversation, and tells him a number of horrifying tales.

This book goes wonderfully well with the volumes Tales of Terror from the Black Ship, and Uncle Montague’s Tales of Terror. As with these other volumes, there is an overarching storyline that weaves through the book, the tales being told in the interim becoming more horrifying and more scary as each one unfolds. It’s not until you get to the end that the ultimate horror of the whole story hits you. These are great books; I thoroughly enjoyed all three of these Tales volumes, and I have enjoyed others of the author’s books as well. Definitely recommended, and they would be a great read for a younger reader (though not too young, as the tales would be a bit scary for a youngster) or to have read to them.
Was this review helpful to you?
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
Format:Hardcover
Aimee, Emily and Lauren:

We all love the tales of terror books; they are brilliant fun to read. We highly recommend these books to young teenagers and older readers. With its spooky, yet humorous characters and settings it's a great book to share with your friends and family. Our favourite stories from the book are the little people, Gerald and the tunnels mouth. We all found it very entertaining and would love to see more books like this.

Bipin

A fantastic book with spine chilling thriller stories. Like the rest of the books in the series, this book has fantastic horror stories like the crack in the wall. In which there is a crack in the wall and it doesn't fill up whatever the people do, but has a secret even dangerous.
Hope you like the book.

Christina & Emily

We have recently read tales of terror from the tunnels mouth in class and we think that... We liked tales of terror from the tunnels mouth because in some ways it was gory and in some ways it was scary. Our favourites were Gerald and the Glasshouse,
because the Puppet Master was very scary and would cut off a persons hair and make a puppet just like them.

Kai and Camilo

We have read this book in class it's a great book but you have to read it at night to find it scary our favourite and scariest ones are the island, Gerald, the glass house,
Sister veronica, the croatch stone and the whispering boy. We will give it a 7.5 out of 10 it has some lovely blood and gore but it could do with a bit more and a marvellous ending and is suitable for children raging from 5 to 14 years old.

Laura

I have recently read tales of terror from the tunnels mouth and I loved it.
Read more ›
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars 3 July 2014
By Mell
Format:Paperback|Verified Purchase
one off the best books I have ever read. 5*
very well written. I love this author
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
4.0 out of 5 stars nice nice 21 April 2014
By piper
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
Vry good vry pleased some stories not that scary but some very good I preferred other tales of terror books tho
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply 10/10. 3 Feb 2014
Format:Hardcover|Verified Purchase
Very atmospheric, loved every story so much I purchased the others books.
10/10. Delighted with the twist at the end,
A simple fab read.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
5.0 out of 5 stars Incredibly clever 30 Aug 2013
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
The book is very clever and has many thrilling tales inside it. It is one of those books that you just can't put down an you need to finish the chapter or even at least the end of one of the gruelling tales. Highly recommended to anyone who takes pleasure in reading.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Would you like to see more reviews about this item?
Were these reviews helpful?   Let us know
Most Recent Customer Reviews
5.0 out of 5 stars amazing
This book is amazing and a must buy! I read page to page and never wanted to leave the twisted ending!
Published 4 days ago by jess.9090
5.0 out of 5 stars book
i love the short stories, they are scary but enjoyable. the story is set in Victories times, chaotic style. great book for kids. the illustrations are great to look at.
Published 15 months ago by ash
4.0 out of 5 stars Tales of terror from the tunnels mouth
Chris Priestley has once again shown his imaginative brillience in this book, i thoroughly enjoyed reading it and i for one dont believe it is just for children, i am 16 and... Read more
Published 19 months ago by Saxonw4rrior
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!!
Another superb offering from Chris Priestley. Scary stories that mess with your mind. Just brilliant! My 8 year old loved them!
Published 20 months ago by Katie Temple
5.0 out of 5 stars Terror Tales
I really enjoy reading Chris Priestly books, particularly the Tales of Terror series. Every child, teenager and adult should read them.
Published 23 months ago by SA
4.0 out of 5 stars spooky stuff
After reading a book by the same author and being pleasantly surprised by the 'chill factor', I decided to try another 'Tales of Terror' book and was once again very pleased with... Read more
Published on 9 Nov 2010 by E. Chimes
5.0 out of 5 stars Scary Stuff!
Chris Priestley certainly deserves his reputation as a masterful teller of chilling tales. His latest collection of stories, Tales of Terror from the Tunnel's Mouth is no... Read more
Published on 18 Jan 2010 by www.kidscompass.co.uk
Search Customer Reviews
Only search this product's reviews

Customer Discussions

This product's forum
Discussion Replies Latest Post
No discussions yet

Ask questions, Share opinions, Gain insight
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 

Search Customer Discussions
Search all Amazon discussions
   


Look for similar items by category


Feedback