Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars12
4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
9
4 star
2
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Vinyl|Change
Price:£21.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 15 May 2008
If I've ever come across an article sighting the long list of great, classic blues albums, Taj Mahal's debut album is not automatically offered up as an example. It's a disappointment, as it really should be. Cut in 1968, and comprising mostly of covers of well known standards (bar one Mahal original) this is an often brilliant, always blistering, contemporary blues record.

Supporting by a first class band (including Ry Cooder) Mahal energetically grabs these tunes and delivers a well structured and impressive set.

I could spend time discussion the musicianship on this record, but what's particularly noticeable throughout is Mahal's vocal phrasing - his approach to singing certain lines is often unexpected, cramming more words in than usual or following the rhythm of the song and then, for good measure, blowing in to his harmonica to really kick the song up a notch. It's not so much about what he sings, but how he sings it - there are tricks here that you'll still be picking up on after playing this album a dozen times.

Mahal also covers a number of basis here: there is funky, stomping blues (Leaving Drunk), pulsing, driving blues (Stateboro Blues, Checkin' Up On My Baby) and slow, contemplative turns (Celebrated Walkin' Blues). Granted, it sticks to the blues formula, but stretches in many different direction on what is a relatively short (but almost perfect) 30 odd-mintue journey.

If you're new to Taj Mahal then don't automatically buy his best of - sure it's good, but his first three records (or 4 if count Giant Steps and De Old Folks at Home as two albums rather than a double) are all essential, and stand as great purchases in their own right.
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 November 2014
Taj has the most incredible voice and the best musicians. His version of Walkin Blues is the best I've heard, better even than (gasp!!!) Clapton's. I played this album constantly for ages and so did my sons when they got hold of it. A great artist.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 December 1999
Taj Mahal began his solo career with this eponymous debut which is still regarded by many as his best work. The album contains material from Sleepy John Estes (Divin' Duck Blues), Blind Willie Mctell (Statesboro' Blues) and Robert Johnson (Dust My Broom), and basically pays homage to the blues of the Mississippi Delta and the Deep South. Mahal himself plays harp on the album and although he developed into a fairly accomplished guitarist in later years it is unlikely he would have been able to match the talents of Jesse Ed Davis, (who later went on to work with John Lennon,amongst others), and Ry Cooder, the formidable young slide player who of course achieved his own success as a solo artist. The highlight of the album, for me anyway, is the final track, here titled "The Celebrated Walkin' Blues". This is an old delta theme, performed, and in some cases recorded, by bluesmen from Son House, through Robert Johnson and Muddy Waters. The lyrics may vary but the format remains the same and will be familiar to anyone with an interest in pre war blues. This version completes an album which is lovingly recorded by an artist who has total empathy with the blues. CHRIS TODD, BOLTON.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 September 2014
This is the album that Gregg Allman bought for his brother Duane which encouraged Duane to play slide guitar with an empty glass bottle and for the Allman Brother Band to play Statesboro' Blues. So if this is not the real deal then I don't know what is.

Taj Mahal has a great voice and Jesse Ed Davies was an inspiration for DA. This is soaked in the south - a must have. Love it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I've always had a soft spot for the Blues of Henry Fredericks from New York’s Harlem (Taj Mahal to you and I) - and his stunning 1968 self-titled "Taj Mahal" debut album still ranks in my books as one of the all-time-greats. Like "Peter Green's Fleetwood Mac" (1968), John Mayall's "Blues From Lauren Canyon" (1968), Johnny Winter's "Second Winter" (1969) or Shuggie Otis' 1970 debut album "Here Comes Shuggie Otis" - "Taj Mahal" is the kind of good-time hair-shaking bum-waddling Blues-Rock that I adore. And to me it still sounds as fresh as a daisy - with maybe less hair and a wee bit of a middle-aged droop around the tum tum (not mine you understand). Here are the 'Leaving Trunk' and 'E Z Rider' details…

UK released September 2000 on Sony/Columbia/Legacy COL 498173 2 (Barcode 5099749817326) - this CD is a straightforward transfer of his debut LP and plays out as follows (33:00 minutes):

1. Leaving Trunk
2. Statesboro Blues
3. Checkin' Up On My Baby
4. Everybody's Got To Change Sometime
5. E Z Rider [Side 2]
6. Dust My Broom
7. Diving Duck Blues
8. The Celebrated Walkin' Blues
Tracks 1 to 8 are his debut album "Taj Mahal" - released February 1968 in the USA on Columbia CL 2779 (Mono) and CS 9579 (Stereo) and in the UK on Direction 8-63279 (mono) and S 8-63279 (Stereo). The Stereo mix is used in this 2000 remaster and there are no bonus tracks.

The 12-page booklet is a nicely substantial affair reproducing the album’s original rear artwork and liner notes by Tom Nolan on the inner pages. There is then a short essay on Taj Mahal by Stanley Crouch, album and reissue credits – all peppered with a bunch of outtake photos from the recording sessions.

Remastered for CD by the dynamic duo of BOB IRWIN and VIC ANESINI in 2000 and put out as part of the “Columbia High Fidelity “360 Sound” Series” - these are Audio Engineer names I actively seek out. Anesini alone has handled hugely prestigious catalogues like Elvis Presley, Simon and Garfunkel, Carole King, Janis Joplin, Hall & Oates, Stevie Ray Vaughan, The Jayhawks, Mott The Hoople, Santana and many more. This CD reissue is part of Sony's "Columbia High Fidelity "360 Sound" Series" – a logo along the spine of the under inlay. When Columbia started issuing their 'Stereo' LPs in the USA in the 60ts they used the "360 Sound" logo on the album's artwork and label as a part of their selling point – best sound – all around - etc. I'm not sure anyone has noticed this CD logo down the spine inlay - but everyone knows that the 'Legacy' moniker on a CD is a mark of their remastering quality. Whatever way you look at it – this CD rocks like a mother and in the very best way.

Taj Mahal’s debut album is the stuff of Blues-Rock legend - an absolute gem. Recorded in August 1967 (released early 1968) and Produced by Dave Rubinson - the band consists of guitarists Ry Cooder (credited as Ryland P Cooder) and Jesse Edwin Davis with veterans James Thomas on Bass and Charles Blackwell on Drums. Taj sang all the tunes and mainly stuck to harp playing except on the brilliant 8-minutes of "The Celebrated Walkin' Blues" where he puts in some great slide-guitar work. Other guests included Bill Boatman on Rhythm Guitar and Sanford Konikoff on Drums.

It opens with a blaster – a cover of a Sleep John Estes classic called "Leaving Trunk" where our hero had better leave before his lady's husband gets home. Immediately you're in the presence of a huge warbling Harmonica and those chucky flicking guitars – it's a fantastic updating of old world Blues – sort of like what Paul Butterfield's band did on Elektra Records a few years earlier (see my review of his "Original Album Classics" 5CD Mini Box Set). Blind Willie McTell provides us with the Boogie of "Statesboro Blues" where Taj wants his woman to "...wake up mama...turn your lamp down low..." Continuing in that wicked rollicking vein – we get another shuffling winner in the shape of "Checkin' Up On My Baby" written by another great Harmonica warbler Taj deeply admired - Chess Records' Sonny Boy Williamson. The perfection of Side 1 ends with another nugget from the pen of Sleepy John Estes - "Everybody's Got To Change Sometime". Once again the audio is magnificent – loud and ballsy but not too trebled to ruin it. Direction Records tried it as a UK 45 on Direction 58-3547 with "Statesboro Blues" as the flipside – but despite the strength of both sides – no one seemed to notice in early 1968.

Side 2 opens with the only Taj Mahal original on the album "E Z Rider" which Direction tried as a 2nd UK 7" single with "You Don't Miss Your Water" as its flipside (Direction 58-4044) but again it failed to raise a ripple. The band counts in that slide-guitar barroom slasher from Elmore James "Dust My Broom" which oddly enough is good only – more workmanlike than great. Things pick up with "Diving Duck Blues" again from the fertile pen of Sleepy John Estes where an inebriated Estes tells us that "...if a river was whiskey...I'd dive to the bottom and never come up..." (thirsty and dangerous work). But it ends on a tour-de-force – the near nine-minute Slow Blues of "The Celebrated Walkin' Blues". It's a Traditional arranged by Taj and it captures everything that was great about his house band – that chugging Cooder Guitar – sweetly complimentary Mandolin plucking while he warbles on the Harp inbetween pleading lyrics. It's brilliant - and by the time the tune hits that Rhythm Section entry about 2:20 mnutes – you’re won over. Great stuff...

Niggles - the original album was also issued in MONO - and as you can see from the playing time provided above - it could easily have been fit on here as a first - but alas. There was a non-album single in 1967 on Columbia 4-44051 with "I Wish I Could Shimmy Like My Sister Kate" b/w "Let The Good Times Roll" – again both AWOL when there was loads of room. I would also love to one day see a LEGACY DOUBLE DELUXE of this fantastic debut - there must be some outakes in storage somewhere - and live sets with that stellar band...

Selling for less than four quid in most places – a Blues Rock barnstormer you need on your shelf and in your Stereo...all '360' degrees of it...
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 October 2007
Concisely, this is Taj's first and best album................ever. Great songs, great voice, great backing; what followed paled by comparison.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 October 2015
Taj's First and best album. very prompt delivery from seller.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2016
brilliant debut album
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 January 2016
Brilliant album!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 October 2014
nice find
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)