Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars50
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£13.35+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 December 2004
Dr Paul Lam won the gold medal for his interpretation of Yang Tai Chi at the 1993 wushu olympics. His form is perfect. Several professors of Yang Tai Chi assisted in the making of this DVD. If you want to learn PRC(people's republic of china) 24 step Tai Chi, then don't even think of looking elsewhere. This is the 24 step Tai Chi form performed at it's highest level. Don't listen to the utter garbage written by other reviewers. They obviously haven't a clue what they're talking about. This DVD teaches Yang style Tai Chi and it teaches it brilliantly and unambiguously. The 24 forms are broken down into sections and analyzed and at the end of the DVD, Dr Lam performs the whole sequence from start to finish from two different angles. If you're going to buy a Tai Chi DVD for learning, make it this one because this is the authentic form being executed at the highest level of technical perfection.
11 comment|274 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 November 2000
It is an excellent 2 hours instructional video of the standardised 24 forms. All the instructors are of high level, and explanations are very clear. The tape has 3 parts. The first part teaches 6 Qigong exercises. The second part teaches the 7 most difficult movements of the form. The third is a detailed instruction of all the 24 movements. Each movement is split in several parts and it is shown from different angles. At the end of the video, there is a complete demonstration of the 24 forms from the front and from the back views. There are instructions how to use the video for learning efficiently the 24 forms. However, it isn't enough for the absolute beginner. The video assumes that the viewer has a previous training either from a teacher or from another basic video of Dr. Lam (eg. Tai chi for older adults).
0Comment|41 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2005
very clear instructions. i've gone from knowing nothing about tai chi to knowing a lot in a few weeks.
0Comment|76 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2003
This video gives you a broad overview of the basics of tai-chi, including a detailed description of the chi-kong exercises, of the basic tai-chi forms, as well as demonstrations of the whole sequence from different points of view. Although it cannot substitute a real-life tai-chi class, it is a very useful complement to it. it serves to memorize and automatize the sequence of movements, leaving you free to concentrate on the fine details; it allows to observe any sequence as many times as you wish, as obsessively as you want, something you cannot realistically ask during a class; it can make you aware of gross posture mistakes that could be overseen during the classes because of time and shared attention limitations.
0Comment|21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 April 2005
Of course it would be much better to learn Tai Chi from an expert teacher. But this DVD makes its job very good. Forms are explained in details and its language is quite clear. Although my native language is not English, I can understand almost every sentence. I definitely recommend this DVD. Great work!
0Comment|65 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 July 2004
Very few people overly care WHAT precisely the style is, so long as it works! Master Lam's work is excellently demonstrated, even if the style is not apparent (FYI its more or less the Yang long, but with some significant, but good, alterations). It is one of the better presented Tai Chi titles, and can be used effectively by beginner/intermediate. For advanced users, it largely depends on ego as to what they will gain from Master Lam's presentation of form.
0Comment|58 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 February 2008
I should have known better than to buy a "How to" DVD, they all tend not to live up to their claims: this is no different.

While Dr Paul Lam is clearly an expert exponent of Tai Chi, he is not a natural teacher and the DVD does not reflect what the instruction blurb on the cover stated and the process to follow.

Trying to follow the on screen movements was not easy, as Dr Paul Lam only gave some instruction in the middle of the exercise and it was not clear what the exercise was and it did not follow the advice on the pack.

However, the main problem for me, is the lack of functionality in the DVD, it appears clear that this was a video and just copied onto a DVD, with no menu skip facility to skip forward or back, to the section of the DVD you wish to get to, to follow the suggested approach of Dr Paul.

Disappointing, though expected. Don't waste your money on new copy of this DVD, as I suspect many people who purchased this DVD new, would be happy to sell on second hand - off to unload my copy on eBay
0Comment|33 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 October 2004
After reading the reviews on this I can say that it is based on the Yang Style and is sutable for people of almost any level of fitness and age. It also contains 6 qi gong exercises and 7 single movements.
0Comment|59 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2009
Although some people complained in the review section, I think this DVD teaches step by steps instruction which is very clear to me. It achieves its purpose without a doubt. I can at least do the 24 forms and start feeling the chi flowing thru my body... I do feel stronger and healthier day by day. Compared to sitting at home tired after work and stuck to my couch, I now get up and do some tai chi movements and sleep like a little sheep at night... A note, this tai chi dvd is for health benefits rather than fighting application...
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 September 2009
This is by far the best Tai Chi Chuan training video i've ever seen.
Dr Lam explains every movement in exacting detail.
First he shows us some gentle Chi Gong (energy work) excerises.
Then he explains several of the more complex movements from the form.
Followed by the entire short form step by step, then in full from various angles.
If you only ever buy one Tai Chi video, then this MUST be the one!
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)