Ta Hsüeh and Chung Yung: The Highest Order of Cultivation... and over 2 million other books are available for Amazon Kindle . Learn more


or
Sign in to turn on 1-Click ordering.
Trade in Yours
For a £1.00 Gift Card
Trade in
More Buying Choices
Have one to sell? Sell yours here
Sorry, this item is not available in
Image not available for
Colour:
Image not available

 
Start reading Ta Hsüeh and Chung Yung on your Kindle in under a minute.

Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here, or download a FREE Kindle Reading App.

Ta Hsueh and Chung Yung: The Highest Order of Cultivation AND On the Practice of the Mean (Penguin Classics) [Paperback]

PENGUIN GROUP (UK) , Andrew Plaks

Price: £10.63 & FREE Delivery in the UK. Details
o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o
Only 1 left in stock (more on the way).
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
Want it tomorrow, 25 Oct.? Choose Express delivery at checkout. Details

Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition £4.49  
Paperback £10.63  
Trade In this Item for up to £1.00
Trade in Ta Hsueh and Chung Yung: The Highest Order of Cultivation AND On the Practice of the Mean (Penguin Classics) for an Amazon Gift Card of up to £1.00, which you can then spend on millions of items across the site. Trade-in values may vary (terms apply). Learn more

Book Description

4 Dec 2003 Penguin Classics
Set alongside The Analects and Mencius, these two texts make up the 'Four Books' of Chinese Confucian tradition. Their depiction of the 'Way of Great Learning' focuses on the moral tenets of Confucian thinking, establishing a universal framework that links individuals with the cosmos. By drawing together key ethical and philophical, and metaphysical issues, the essays deal with the individual's development of moral character. They have long occupied a central position in the educational and political infrastructure of China, Korea and Japan, and their influence and popularity continues to grow, in the East and in the West.

Special Offers and Product Promotions

  • Between 20-26 October 2014, spend £10 in a single order on item(s) dispatched from and sold by Amazon.co.uk and receive a £2 promotional code to spend in the Amazon Appstore. Here's how (terms and conditions apply)

Frequently Bought Together

Ta Hsueh and Chung Yung: The Highest Order of Cultivation AND On the Practice of the Mean (Penguin Classics) + Mencius (Penguin Classics) + The Book of Chuang Tzu (Penguin Classics)
Price For All Three: £27.41

Buy the selected items together


Product details


Product Description

About the Author

ANDREW PLAKS is Professor of East Asian Studies at Princeton University. He has published widely on Chinese philosophy and religion. XINZHONG YAO is Professor of Religion & Ethics at the University of Wales, Lampeter.

Inside This Book (Learn More)
First Sentence
The traditional title of this treatise - taken simply from the first two words of the text - is almost always given in Western translations as a variation, in one form or another, on the expression 'great learning'. Read the first page
Explore More
Concordance
Browse Sample Pages
Front Cover | Copyright | Table of Contents | Excerpt | Back Cover
Search inside this book:

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?


Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on Amazon.co.uk.
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)
Amazon.com: 5.0 out of 5 stars  2 reviews
19 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's about time Penguin Classics got to this! 1 Dec 2004
By Jim - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Paperback
I love Penguin Classics, and have since I was a teenager. Their translations of the Greek and Roman classics are my most prized books. So it was frustrating when I began learning about ancient China and realized all the great works out there that were just dying to be given the same treatment as Livy, Plato, etc.

So they've finally gotten to this most basic of texts, the Great Learning and the Doctrine of the Mean. Together with the Analects and Mencius, these make up the 4 books that were a main part of the civil service exams in imperial China (along with the 5 Classics: the Books of Documents, Odes, Changes, Rites, and the Spring and Autumn Annals).

One thing that should be changed about this translation is the use of Wade-Giles transcription instead of Pinyin. To me, Wade-Giles has always looked like a ridiculous attempt at phonetization - "Teng Hsiao-p'ing" instead of "Deng Xiaoping" Plus it is often misleading - the former Chinese leader's name starts with a "d" sound, not a "t" sound. I think Penguin needs to make it official policy to go to Pinyin, which is the standard usage in China and probably will be the VHS to Wade-Giles' Beta.

I also hope Penguin will produce more of the Chinese works that are kicking around out there. So far, Oxford World Classics have been beating them in the Asian classics category (only barely, though). Penguin could do a lot to introduce some classics to Westerners, and erase the myth that there aren't as many ancient works from China as there are from Greece and Rome.

I suggest Penguin publish the Book of Odes, Book of Documents, the Spring and Autumn Annals, the Tso Chuan, The Intrigue of the Warring States, the Conversations of the States, the Records of the Grand Historian, and Histories of the Former and Latter Han, all histories except the Book of Odes. These works would surely appeal to readers of Livy, Plutarch, Suetonius, Herodotus, and Thucydides. All it would take is a few footnotes and some maps to explain names and places a little. We shall see - but this book is a small step in the right direction.
5.0 out of 5 stars Masterful translations of master works 5 Jun 2014
By Reviewer - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Paperback|Verified Purchase
Great renditions and commentaries of Confucian classics that belong in the libraries of anyone with an interest in Chinese culture and philosophy. Timeless discussion of self-cultivation, spirit, morals, conduct. Easy to read, unlike some editions, and extensive supplementary information is included. Chinese names and terms are transliterated in the older Wade Giles system, which adds to a sense of historical connectivity even though the text and presentation are contemporary.
Were these reviews helpful?   Let us know

Customer Discussions

This product's forum
Discussion Replies Latest Post
No discussions yet

Ask questions, Share opinions, Gain insight
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 

Search Customer Discussions
Search all Amazon discussions
   


Look for similar items by category


Feedback