Start reading TOUCH: A DI Charlotte Savage Novel on your Kindle in under a minute. Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here or start reading now with a free Kindle Reading App.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Add Audible Narration
Touch: A DI Charlotte Savage Novel, Book 1 (Unabridged) Narrated by Stevie Lacey £13.99 £6.99
 
 
 

Try it free

Sample the beginning of this book for free

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Sorry, this item is not available in
Image not available for
Colour:
Image not available
 

TOUCH: A DI Charlotte Savage Novel [Kindle Edition]

Mark Sennen
4.2 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (235 customer reviews)

Print List Price: £6.99
Kindle Price: £1.49 includes VAT* & free wireless delivery via Amazon Whispernet
You Save: £5.50 (79%)
* Unlike print books, digital books are subject to VAT.

Free Kindle Reading App Anybody can read Kindle books—even without a Kindle device—with the FREE Kindle app for smartphones, tablets and computers.

To get the free app, enter your e-mail address or mobile phone number.

Audible Narration

Switch back and forth between reading the Kindle book and listening to the Audible narration. Add narration for a reduced price of £6.99 after you buy the Kindle book.

Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition £1.49  
Paperback £6.99  
Audio Download, Unabridged £12.24 or Free with Audible.co.uk 30-day free trial
Kindle Delivers Sign-up to receive email updates and get a Free Kindle Book

Book Description

Part thriller, part police procedural, Touch by Mark Sennen will take you deep into the madness of a serial killer's mind.

Harry likes pretty things. He likes to look at them. Sometimes that isn't enough. He wants to get closer. Naughty Harry.

DI Savage and her team in Plymouth are struggling with their investigation into a string of horrific attacks on young women. The victims are being drugged, abducted, assaulted and then abandoned with only a dull memory of what has happened. But when the mutilated body of one of these women is found on a beach, the case becomes a chilling murder inquiry. Stopping at just one victim will never be enough … not for this killer.

A must-read for fans of Mark Billingham and Chris Carter. Perfect for those who enjoy Scott and Bailey and Broadchurch.



Product Description

Review

‘A fast-paced serial-killer chiller.’ (Alex Marwood, author of The Wicked Girls)

About the Author

Mark Sennen was born in Epsom, Surrey and later spent his teenage years on a smallholding in Shropshire. He attended the University of Birmingham and read Cultural Studies at CCCS. Mark has had a number of occupations, being variously a farmer, drummer and programmer. Now his hi-tech web developer's suite, otherwise known as a shed in the garden, has been converted to a writer's den and he writes almost full-time.

Mark lives in rural Devon with his family.


Product details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 1756 KB
  • Print Length: 400 pages
  • Publisher: Avon (24 Jan. 2013)
  • Sold by: Amazon Media EU S.à r.l.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B00AAU6ASG
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Not Enabled
  • Average Customer Review: 4.2 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (235 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #851 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  •  Would you like to give feedback on images?


More About the Author

Visit Mark's website at www.marksennen.com
Follow on Twitter @MarkSennen
Published by www.harpercollins.co.uk

Mark Sennen was born in Surrey, but spent his formative years in rural Shropshire where he learnt to drive tractors and worm sheep. He has been a reluctant farmer, an average drummer, a failed Ph.D. student and a pretty good programmer. He lives, with his wife, two children and a rather large dog, beside a muddy creek in deepest South Devon where there hasn't been a murder in years. He is the author of the DI Charlotte Savage series of thrillers: Touch, Bad Blood, Cut Dead and Tell Tale.

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?


Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews
119 of 125 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tough, well-written police thriller. 13 Sept. 2011
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
This is a tough story about a serial rapist and killer, told from the points of view of the police, criminal and victims. There's plenty of tension and just the right amount of humour, and the police's steady progress, as they fit together the pieces of the investigation, is well handled, giving a real sense of discovery. The ending is first-rate (and as others have said, without any contrivance) and the locations - Plymouth, south Devon and a few glimpses of the far west of Cornwall - are good too. DI Charlotte Savage and her Naval Officer hubbie are very lucky with their childcare arrangements (a male nanny who doesn't seem to mind being on duty pretty much 24X7), but other than that it's realistic stuff, and the author writes very cleanly and clearly. A very good read.
Was this review helpful to you?
36 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good new writer 8 Aug. 2011
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
I realy enjoyed this book. Set in Plymouth and the West Country, the scenes are atmospheric and realistic. I can't comment on the plot without giving it away, I'll just say I didn't get lost and there weren't any of those annoying coincidences that authors have to dredge up to move the plot on. It's exciting and convincing.

Crime novels can often lack in humour, as if the nature of the subject gets in the way too much, but wherever people work together they have a laugh together, and these characters are very real.

I gather this is the first of a series and I look forward to more of Charlotte Savage. Oh yes, a bonus, Mark Sennen knows how to write well.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, but not great 21 Feb. 2012
Format:Kindle Edition
Overall I enjoyed the book. The story was interesting and there was a wide range of characters and twists and turns.
However I feel there was no depth to any of the characters, Savage was just an okay lead character but nothing like The brilliant and interesting Anna Travis, I found her cold and uninteresting.
The book was quite graphic in content which didn't really bother me, the biggest bug bear I had was the lengthy descriptions of Savage driving her car here, driving her car there, reaching the crime scene etc. It needs to be edited down, the lengthy descriptions of the mundane got so laborious at times that I skim read several pages and it didn't detract from the story.
Overall it was a good book and I look forward to reading the next one however I hope the unnecessary minor details are edited out and we get more character depth from Enders, Calter et al.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
36 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars UK based crime at its best... 20 Oct. 2011
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
Picked this up from Kindle top 100 based on reading other's reviews and I am really glad I found Mark Sennen and I hope he continues this character in more books.
This is a well written, fast moving story with lots of atmosphere to conjure up the landscape of the West country. After getting a little confused at the start as to what was happening with how the story changed between the different characters, I soon got totally immersed in the story and couldn't read this fast enough.
Other reviewers make comments about Savage's backstory, her nanny and husband but this really isn't the focus of the story. The officers she works with are believeable, as are the motivations and actions of the characters she seeks.
Try this and you'll be glad you did.
Was this review helpful to you?
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Cold Killer At Large In Plymouth 26 Aug. 2014
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
A missing student is found dead by police divers on a beach near Plymouth in Devon. She has been murdered.

This is just one in a series of young females that are missing. The local police are putting all their efforts in.

The central character is Detective Inspector Charlotte Savage. She is the mother of three children. One these died young in tragic circumstances.

Charlotte is married to a Royal Navy officer who is currently at sea commanding a frigate. Occasionally the strain in a relationship is shown of having a loved one so many miles away.

Apart from that that is all we know about the background to D I Savage who will feature in further novels. How old is she? Did she work her way up the ranks? Was she fast tracked from University? The career break when pregnant? Nobody knows.

The other police officers are shown in their working capacity to be a mixture of types with different methods. There is scope to develop the other members of Savage's team more in further editions.

In general this book gives a good understanding of the background of the bad guys. But not enough on the good,
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I loved it ! 27 Feb. 2012
Format:Kindle Edition
I stumbled upon this book accidentally - I don't normally enjoy books set in the UK, but I really enjoyed this one. It is well written, and goes at a great pace, I couldn't put it down !

I know Plymouth well, and won't look at Wembury beach in quite the same way again !

A bargain at .99p - Just buy it ! NOW !!!!!
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Apostrophes please. 13 Aug. 2012
By Pal
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
This book had a good plot, and was generally well-written. It was interesting and exciting enough to make me read it quite quickly; however, the lack of apostrophes in the dialogue was really annoying. People just don't speak without abbreviation, they don't say "it is my guess he is our man"', even policewomen. They say "it's my guess he's our man". This occurs all the way through the book and makes the dialogue sound stilted and unrealistic. I'm sure that someone will tell the author about this, and I hope they do, because it's an irritating flaw in what is otherwise a good read.
Was this review helpful to you?
Would you like to see more reviews about this item?
Were these reviews helpful?   Let us know
Most Recent Customer Reviews
Search Customer Reviews
Only search this product's reviews

Customer Discussions

This product's forum
Discussion Replies Latest Post
No discussions yet

Ask questions, Share opinions, Gain insight
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 

Search Customer Discussions
Search all Amazon discussions
   


Look for similar items by category