Start reading THE ACCIDENT on your Kindle in under a minute. Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here or start reading now with a free Kindle Reading App.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

 
 
 

Try it free

Sample the beginning of this book for free

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Anybody can read Kindle books—even without a Kindle device—with the FREE Kindle app for smartphones, tablets and computers.
THE ACCIDENT
 
 

THE ACCIDENT [Kindle Edition]

C.L. Taylor
4.2 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (587 customer reviews)

Print List Price: £6.99
Kindle Price: £0.69 includes VAT* & free wireless delivery via Amazon Whispernet
You Save: £6.30 (90%)
* Unlike print books, digital books are subject to VAT.

Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition £0.69  
Paperback £2.00  
Kindle Summer Sale: Over 500 Books from £0.99
Have you seen the Kindle Summer Sale yet? Browse selected books from popular authors and debut novelists, including new releases and bestsellers. Learn more

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought


Product Description

Review

"An ominous atmosphere, a tense tale of past and present colliding, and a narrator whom no-one believes: this book is a delight." Alex Marwood

‘Utterly compelling. I could not put this gripping, heart-stopping page-turner down’ Rowan Coleman

‘Twisty, dark and utterly compelling’ Lucy Diamond

‘I was gripped from start to finish. Everyone should read this book!’ Lucy Robinson

‘This fast, twisty psychological thriller has suspense on every page!’ Paula Daly

‘Gripping and terrifying’ Julie Cohen

‘One of the best books I've read in ages – the tension never lets up until the final pages. Page-turning suspense ratcheted up with every new scene. Sub-plots woven in effortlessly. Brilliant – my heart was racing as I drew nearer and nearer to the ending.‘ Mel Sherratt

Product Description

Fast-paced and suspenseful The Accident is perfect for fans of Before I Go to Sleep, Gone Girl and Sophie Hannah.

A gripping psychological thriller about the deadly secrets your children can keep …

Sue Jackson has the perfect family but when her teenage daughter Charlotte deliberately steps in front of a bus and ends up in a coma she is forced to face a very dark reality.

Retracing her daughter’s steps she finds a horrifying entry in Charlotte’s diary and is forced to head deep into Charlotte’s private world. In her hunt for evidence, Sue begins to mistrust everyone close to her daughter and she’s forced to look further, into the depths of her own past.

Sue will do anything to protect her daughter. But what if she is the reason that Charlotte is in danger?


Product details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 469 KB
  • Print Length: 395 pages
  • Page Numbers Source ISBN: 0007540035
  • Publisher: Avon (10 April 2014)
  • Sold by: Amazon Media EU S.à r.l.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B00G8SVBQU
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Average Customer Review: 4.2 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (587 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #107 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  •  Would you like to give feedback on images?


More About the Author

CL Taylor lives in Bristol with her partner and young son. Born in Worcester, she studied for a degree in Psychology at the University of Northumbria, Newcastle then moved to London to work in medical publishing. After two years she moved to Brighton where she worked as a graphic designer, web developer and instructional designer over the course of 13 years. She currently works as a Distance Learning Design and Development manager for a London university. She credits Roald Dahl's 'Tales of the Unexpected' for her love of a dark, twisted tale.

www.cltaylorauthor.com
www.twitter.com/callytaylor
www.facebook.com/callytaylorauthor

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?


Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews
9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Breath taking! 16 Jun 2014
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
When I started this book I didn't know what to expect, as I hadn't read a blurb or a review prior to reading...for a little while I was a bit lost, I hadn't put two and two together relating to the two different stories, and then when the penny dropped it was like a light bulb moment!

The last ten chapters I read on the train on the way into work and several times I audibly gasped!!!

A brilliant, brilliant book! Can't recommend it enough!!!
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very absorbing tale! 29 July 2014
By KellyF
Format:Paperback
I knew I’d like this novel from the moment I read the blurb, it was my kind of read and it didn’t disappoint.

Sue’s story, past and present, is cleverly weaved through alternate chapters. I warmed to the protagonist immediately. She felt very real and three dimensional. I could see that she’d been through a lot and was intrigued to find out more about her past and how she’d resolve the mystery of her comatose daughter’s accident.

I found the plot very engaging, and I enjoyed the twists and tenterhook moments at the end of most chapters. Although the book did have a couple of humours moments, it’s essentially a psychological thriller.

This novel was recommended to me by a friend on Facebook. It’s my first Cally Taylor read and it certainly won’t be my last. Quite possibly one of the best books I’ve read this year. I really enjoyed it.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Couldn't put it down 19 Jun 2014
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
I loved the way this was written, with the present being influenced by events in the past. Looking on from the outside it may seem strange that Susan puts up with the abuse for so long, but that is what happens unfortunately in the real world. When you are the victim logic plays no part in your decision making at times. The ending was a little abrupt, but an excellent read, highly recommended.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very entertaining read 11 July 2014
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
Thoroughly enjoyed this book. It's not what I normally go for but it had me gripped from the start. I can highly recommend this book.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The accident by c.l. taylor 28 July 2014
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
Could not put this book down from start to finish.
Brilliant storyline and characters. Really well thought out plot with so many unexpected twists and turns. Kept me on the edge of my seat and finished the book in one and a half days!
Such a cheap price but I have no idea why??!!!
A real bargain to snap up if you like thrillers.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply Amazing! 28 April 2014
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
Where do I start with this book? The synopsis really interested me, and once I started it, I literally could not put this down. The writing instantly grips you, you get sucked into the mystery. This book reminded me of 'Before I go to Sleep' by S J Watson, another book which I love, I hope 'The Accident' gets as much recognition as that one.

The story focuses on Sue's search to answer the question of why Charlotte felt so bad that she stepped out in front of a bus. The writing is absolutely superb, all the characters were great, especially Sue, you really get how she is feeling, and the rationale behind her thoughts.

Intertwined with this, are the journal entries from Sue 20 years ago, which talks about her relationship with James, and helps you understand why Sue is reacting the way she is to her current crisis. Due to this, I found myself constantly questioning if some of Sue's thoughts were just paranoia due to her past, or if she is understanding everything perfectly, when those around her don't. C L Taylor keeps you guessing, and I love it.

This book is just, simply amazing. One of my absolute favourites of all time. OK, I'll stop gushing now, just go buy it!!
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars 14 July 2014
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
Really enjoyed this book, cried buckets at the end
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyed this very much 14 July 2014
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
Enjoyed this very much, but would have liked it to go a bit further at the end. Well written and quite different, worth reading.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Would you like to see more reviews about this item?
Were these reviews helpful?   Let us know
Most Recent Customer Reviews
3.0 out of 5 stars An interesting and different thriller
Very much focused on a mother's perspective, largely engaging and engrossing. There felt like a few inconsistencies in the characterisation, and a few parts were laboured which... Read more
Published 1 hour ago by Pamela Bagnall
2.0 out of 5 stars Not fast paced or suspenseful
This sounded intriguing but it wasn't fast paced or suspenseful. I'm baffled as to how it can be considered a psychological thriller. Read more
Published 10 hours ago by Pink-Lady
5.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable read!
Good read! Read it in 3 days and really enjoyed it.
Published 21 hours ago by Kirkish5792
5.0 out of 5 stars Thrilling, Gripping!
To begin with, this book confused me a bit, it jumps around between two different stories. Then it became clear, one perspective is the story of the mother, Susan, and what she... Read more
Published 1 day ago by Claire, Lulu
5.0 out of 5 stars gripping
excellent story telling. I agree with other comments , the ending was a bit rushed, but nevertheless it was a brilliant story.
Published 2 days ago by Brenda Knowles
1.0 out of 5 stars really bad
Waste of time! Slow, the main character is just frustrating and the end is just what you expected from the beginning!!
Published 2 days ago by Carolina Dominguez
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars
Excellent
Published 2 days ago by Mrs S Pond
1.0 out of 5 stars Would not recommend.
Returned for a refund. Badly written, and badly edited. Would not recommend.
Published 2 days ago by jean hogg
1.0 out of 5 stars a fair read
The book concentrated on an issue that was very close to my own work so found it a little exasperating. Not my topic but a ok read. Read more
Published 3 days ago by lorriabigail
2.0 out of 5 stars Two Stars
I found there was too much filler 1/2 - 3/4 way through.
Published 3 days ago by Chrisr
Search Customer Reviews
Only search this product's reviews

Customer Discussions

This product's forum
Discussion Replies Latest Post
Readers' Reviews 0 18 Jun 2014
See all discussions...  
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 

Search Customer Discussions
   


Look for similar items by category