Start reading THE ACCIDENT on your Kindle in under a minute. Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here or start reading now with a free Kindle Reading App.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Add Audible Narration
The Accident (Unabridged) Narrated by Jenny Funnell £13.99 £6.99
 
 
 

Try it free

Sample the beginning of this book for free

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Sorry, this item is not available in
Image not available for
Colour:
Image not available
 

THE ACCIDENT [Kindle Edition]

C.L. Taylor
4.2 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (901 customer reviews)

Print List Price: £6.99
Kindle Price: £2.99 includes VAT* & free wireless delivery via Amazon Whispernet
You Save: £4.00 (57%)
* Unlike print books, digital books are subject to VAT.

Free Kindle Reading App Anybody can read Kindle books—even without a Kindle device—with the FREE Kindle app for smartphones, tablets and computers.

To get the free app, enter your e-mail address or mobile phone number.

Audible Narration

Switch back and forth between reading the Kindle book and listening to the Audible narration. Add narration for a reduced price of £6.99 after you buy the Kindle book.

Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition £2.99  
Paperback £5.24  
Audio Download, Unabridged £12.24 or Free with Audible.co.uk 30-day free trial
Kindle Daily Deal
Kindle Daily Deal: Up to 70% off
Each day we unveil a new book deal at a specially discounted price--for that day only. Learn more about the Kindle Daily Deal or sign up for the Kindle Daily Deal Newsletter to receive free e-mail notifications about each day's deal.

Book Description

Fast-paced and suspenseful The Accident is perfect for fans of Before I Go to Sleep, Gone Girl and Sophie Hannah.

A gripping psychological thriller about the deadly secrets your children can keep …

Sue Jackson has the perfect family but when her teenage daughter Charlotte deliberately steps in front of a bus and ends up in a coma she is forced to face a very dark reality.

Retracing her daughter’s steps she finds a horrifying entry in Charlotte’s diary and is forced to head deep into Charlotte’s private world. In her hunt for evidence, Sue begins to mistrust everyone close to her daughter and she’s forced to look further, into the depths of her own past.

Sue will do anything to protect her daughter. But what if she is the reason that Charlotte is in danger?



Product Description

Review

‘An enjoyable rollercoaster of a suspense novel with multiple twists.’ Daily Mail

‘This dark and creepy book is a must read.’ The Sun

‘A thrilling crime debut’ Woman Magazine

"An ominous atmosphere, a tense tale of past and present colliding, and a narrator whom no-one believes: this book is a delight." Alex Marwood

‘Utterly compelling. I could not put this gripping, heart-stopping page-turner down’ Rowan Coleman

‘Twisty, dark and utterly compelling’ Lucy Diamond

‘I was gripped from start to finish. Everyone should read this book!’ Lucy Robinson

‘This fast, twisty psychological thriller has suspense on every page!’ Paula Daly

‘Gripping and terrifying’ Julie Cohen

‘One of the best books I've read in ages – the tension never lets up until the final pages. Page-turning suspense ratcheted up with every new scene. Sub-plots woven in effortlessly. Brilliant – my heart was racing as I drew nearer and nearer to the ending.‘ Mel Sherratt

About the Author

CL Taylor studied for a degree in Psychology at the University of Northumbria, Newcastle and currently works 4 days a week as a Distance Learning Design and Development manager for a London university, looks after her toddler son 3 days a week and squeezes in writing her novels when she should be sleeping.


Product details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 881 KB
  • Print Length: 417 pages
  • Publisher: Avon (10 April 2014)
  • Sold by: Amazon Media EU S.à r.l.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B00G8SVBQU
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Average Customer Review: 4.2 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (901 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #734 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  •  Would you like to give feedback on images?


More About the Author

CL Taylor lives in Bristol with her partner and young son. Born in Worcester, she studied for a degree in Psychology at the University of Northumbria, Newcastle then moved to London to work in medical publishing. After two years she moved to Brighton where she worked as a graphic designer, web developer and instructional designer over the course of 13 years. She currently works as a Distance Learning Design and Development manager for a London university. She credits Roald Dahl's 'Tales of the Unexpected' for her love of a dark, twisted tale.

www.cltaylorauthor.com
www.twitter.com/callytaylor
www.facebook.com/callytaylorauthor

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?


Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews
11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I couldn't put it down 16 May 2014
Format:Kindle Edition
Sue Jackson's daughter, Charlotte, walked in front of a bus and is now in a coma. Sue's husband, Brian, believes it was an accident but Sue thinks there is more to it than that and sets to trying to find out what really happened. Sue has demons in her own past which she also has to deal with.

The story is told by Sue which really helps to ramp up the tension in this novel as she desperately tries to get to the truth, and there are diary entries from 20 years earlier which tell the reader what Sue had to deal with in her past.

The Accident is a fantastic psychological thriller which I read in 2 days. I raced through the last half, unable to put it down as the sense of foreboding grew.

This is such a good debut novel which I found exciting to read and I think the author has a good career ahead of her.

Thank you to the publishers and Netgalley for allowing me to review this book.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
Format:Paperback
I picked this up one Saturday morning, thinking I'd read the first couple of chapters and then get on with the day. I was still there on the sofa when the sun went down, having found myself utterly engrossed by Taylor's brilliantly-drawn characters and compelling storytelling.

It's Taylor's clever plotting that keeps you turning the pages. She skilfully intersperses the present-day story with flashbacks to Susan's younger years, spinning out the mystery in each storyline so that you want to read just one more chapter. And then another, and another...

Though it's the plot that pulls you through the book, it's her central character that keeps you involved. Susan Jackson is the heart of the book, a prickly and paranoid woman to whom you gradually warm as you realise how she came to be this way. As the book reaches its tense climax, you'll be rooting for her as if she were an old friend.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This Story Could Really Happen 26 May 2014
By Chris in Hampshire TOP 500 REVIEWER VINE VOICE
Format:Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
The story opens with a scene in a hospital. Charlotte, the daughter is in a coma, by her bedside are parents Brian and Sue. They are talking to Charlotte, who is hooked up to all sorts of hospital machinery and monitors, but can she hear her parents and what caused her to be in this state in hospital?

In the next chapter the reader is taken to the year 1990 to Susan's flat in London, where she is on the phone and arranging to meet a man called James. They are to meet in a pub in Camden for their date.

Chapter 2 takes us back to the present day where Sue is at home in Brighton. Husband Brian has gone to work and the only company Sue has at home is "Milly" their Golden Retriever. This chapter gives us some background history to the couple.

The next Chapter goes back to September 1990.

This alternation between past and present sounds disjointed and complicated, but I can assure it is not at all. It fits very well and as the story plays out is the best way of writing it. The past slots into the present as the reader is drawn into the mystery of why Sue is so frightened and her investigations into how and why the accident happened to her daughter and to have such devastating consequences.

The story is full of twists and turns and you will not be able to put this book down. You too will want to know the answers. You too will feel the fear the same as Sue. You too will be scared for her sanity and her safety. You will be led into the seedy world that is shady nightclubs. You will be as relentless as Sue to get to the bottom of all the events. The past merges into the present and like Sue, will wake up to the reality of it all.
Read more ›
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable suspense and mystery thriller 23 Nov. 2014
By Ajoobacats VINE VOICE
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
Forty-three year old Susan Jackson, a domestic abuse survivor, is the wife of an MP and has a fifteen year old daughter, Charlotte, in a coma. The eyewitness accounts suggest that Charlotte deliberately stepped out in front of a bus. Susan finds Charlotte's diary, which raises more questions about her daughter's state of mind rather than provide answers to what Charlotte was thinking. Susan soon realises that she knows very little about what was going on in Charlotte's life and is determined to get to the bottom of what actually took place on the day of the accident.

I really enjoyed this suspense mystery thriller, it was easy to read and hard to put down as each chapter unravelled Susan's discoveries about her daughter and the horrors she experienced in her past alternately. This alternation kept me at the edge if my seat in both scenarios, each chapter ending on a cliff-hanger. The characterisations were compelling and I really did like Susan despite her flaws.

The only minor issues that hugged me was some of the primary and secondary care medicine. I'm not sure what Susan's GP prescribed her but whatever it was a follow up in 6 weeks under the circumstances was negligent in my opinion. Also a monitored patient in a side room with an out of working order call button for days? I know the NHS has it's faults but I pray this never happens but I appreciate the old adage of never say never.

Overall a very readable and enjoyable suspense and mystery thriller from a new author, I do recommend this read very much.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Would you like to see more reviews about this item?
Were these reviews helpful?   Let us know
Most Recent Customer Reviews
Search Customer Reviews
Only search this product's reviews

Customer Discussions

This product's forum
Discussion Replies Latest Post
Readers' Reviews 0 18 Jun 2014
See all discussions...  
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 

Search Customer Discussions
   


Look for similar items by category