Start reading THE ACCIDENT on your Kindle in under a minute. Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here or start reading now with a free Kindle Reading App.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

 
 
 

Try it free

Sample the beginning of this book for free

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Anybody can read Kindle books—even without a Kindle device—with the FREE Kindle app for smartphones, tablets and computers.
THE ACCIDENT
 
 

THE ACCIDENT [Kindle Edition]

C.L. Taylor
4.2 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (666 customer reviews)

Print List Price: £6.99
Kindle Price: £1.90 includes VAT* & free wireless delivery via Amazon Whispernet
You Save: £5.09 (73%)
* Unlike print books, digital books are subject to VAT.

Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition £1.90  
Paperback £3.50  
Kindle Summer Sale: Over 500 Books from £0.99
Have you seen the Kindle Summer Sale yet? Browse selected books from popular authors and debut novelists, including new releases and bestsellers. Learn more

Special Offers and Product Promotions

  • Purchase any Kindle Book sold by Amazon.co.uk and receive £1 credit to try out our Digital Music Store. Here's how (terms and conditions apply)

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought


Product Description

Review

"An ominous atmosphere, a tense tale of past and present colliding, and a narrator whom no-one believes: this book is a delight." Alex Marwood

‘Utterly compelling. I could not put this gripping, heart-stopping page-turner down’ Rowan Coleman

‘Twisty, dark and utterly compelling’ Lucy Diamond

‘I was gripped from start to finish. Everyone should read this book!’ Lucy Robinson

‘This fast, twisty psychological thriller has suspense on every page!’ Paula Daly

‘Gripping and terrifying’ Julie Cohen

‘One of the best books I've read in ages – the tension never lets up until the final pages. Page-turning suspense ratcheted up with every new scene. Sub-plots woven in effortlessly. Brilliant – my heart was racing as I drew nearer and nearer to the ending.‘ Mel Sherratt

Product Description

Fast-paced and suspenseful The Accident is perfect for fans of Before I Go to Sleep, Gone Girl and Sophie Hannah.

A gripping psychological thriller about the deadly secrets your children can keep …

Sue Jackson has the perfect family but when her teenage daughter Charlotte deliberately steps in front of a bus and ends up in a coma she is forced to face a very dark reality.

Retracing her daughter’s steps she finds a horrifying entry in Charlotte’s diary and is forced to head deep into Charlotte’s private world. In her hunt for evidence, Sue begins to mistrust everyone close to her daughter and she’s forced to look further, into the depths of her own past.

Sue will do anything to protect her daughter. But what if she is the reason that Charlotte is in danger?


Product details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 469 KB
  • Print Length: 395 pages
  • Page Numbers Source ISBN: 0007540035
  • Publisher: Avon (10 April 2014)
  • Sold by: Amazon Media EU S.à r.l.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B00G8SVBQU
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Average Customer Review: 4.2 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (666 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #288 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  •  Would you like to give feedback on images?


More About the Author

CL Taylor lives in Bristol with her partner and young son. Born in Worcester, she studied for a degree in Psychology at the University of Northumbria, Newcastle then moved to London to work in medical publishing. After two years she moved to Brighton where she worked as a graphic designer, web developer and instructional designer over the course of 13 years. She currently works as a Distance Learning Design and Development manager for a London university. She credits Roald Dahl's 'Tales of the Unexpected' for her love of a dark, twisted tale.

www.cltaylorauthor.com
www.twitter.com/callytaylor
www.facebook.com/callytaylorauthor

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?


Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very absorbing tale! 29 July 2014
By KellyF
Format:Paperback
I knew I’d like this novel from the moment I read the blurb, it was my kind of read and it didn’t disappoint.

Sue’s story, past and present, is cleverly weaved through alternate chapters. I warmed to the protagonist immediately. She felt very real and three dimensional. I could see that she’d been through a lot and was intrigued to find out more about her past and how she’d resolve the mystery of her comatose daughter’s accident.

I found the plot very engaging, and I enjoyed the twists and tenterhook moments at the end of most chapters. Although the book did have a couple of humours moments, it’s essentially a psychological thriller.

This novel was recommended to me by a friend on Facebook. It’s my first Cally Taylor read and it certainly won’t be my last. Quite possibly one of the best books I’ve read this year. I really enjoyed it.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Couldn't put it down 19 Jun 2014
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
I loved the way this was written, with the present being influenced by events in the past. Looking on from the outside it may seem strange that Susan puts up with the abuse for so long, but that is what happens unfortunately in the real world. When you are the victim logic plays no part in your decision making at times. The ending was a little abrupt, but an excellent read, highly recommended.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Breath taking! 16 Jun 2014
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
When I started this book I didn't know what to expect, as I hadn't read a blurb or a review prior to reading...for a little while I was a bit lost, I hadn't put two and two together relating to the two different stories, and then when the penny dropped it was like a light bulb moment!

The last ten chapters I read on the train on the way into work and several times I audibly gasped!!!

A brilliant, brilliant book! Can't recommend it enough!!!
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Captivating 11 July 2014
Format:Kindle Edition
A fantastic, gripping read. I read it within 24 hours, just couldn't put it down. Well written charcters and the use of Sue's past diary entries gave depth to the story. Highly recommended!
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The accident by c.l. taylor 28 July 2014
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
Could not put this book down from start to finish.
Brilliant storyline and characters. Really well thought out plot with so many unexpected twists and turns. Kept me on the edge of my seat and finished the book in one and a half days!
Such a cheap price but I have no idea why??!!!
A real bargain to snap up if you like thrillers.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply Amazing! 28 April 2014
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
Where do I start with this book? The synopsis really interested me, and once I started it, I literally could not put this down. The writing instantly grips you, you get sucked into the mystery. This book reminded me of 'Before I go to Sleep' by S J Watson, another book which I love, I hope 'The Accident' gets as much recognition as that one.

The story focuses on Sue's search to answer the question of why Charlotte felt so bad that she stepped out in front of a bus. The writing is absolutely superb, all the characters were great, especially Sue, you really get how she is feeling, and the rationale behind her thoughts.

Intertwined with this, are the journal entries from Sue 20 years ago, which talks about her relationship with James, and helps you understand why Sue is reacting the way she is to her current crisis. Due to this, I found myself constantly questioning if some of Sue's thoughts were just paranoia due to her past, or if she is understanding everything perfectly, when those around her don't. C L Taylor keeps you guessing, and I love it.

This book is just, simply amazing. One of my absolute favourites of all time. OK, I'll stop gushing now, just go buy it!!
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars 14 July 2014
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
Really enjoyed this book, cried buckets at the end
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyed this very much 14 July 2014
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
Enjoyed this very much, but would have liked it to go a bit further at the end. Well written and quite different, worth reading.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Would you like to see more reviews about this item?
Were these reviews helpful?   Let us know
Most Recent Customer Reviews
5.0 out of 5 stars Exciting read
5 star as I did not want to put it down...needed to read til the end....I had an idea it was who it was at the end but lots of red herrings.... Read more
Published 1 hour ago by miss jenny vickers
5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping
Excellent read.. gripping from the word go. Loved the way Sue' s past diary entries were intermingled with what was happening in the present. Helped me understand her behaviour. Read more
Published 1 day ago by karin
4.0 out of 5 stars Good read
Enjoyed the book although I did expect the outcome. Well written and not too confusing when skipping between the stories.
Published 1 day ago by P. Dixon
4.0 out of 5 stars I thought it was a great plot, but I am not a fan of ...
I thought it was a great plot, but I am not a fan of flicking back and forth in time throughout a book. Personally I prefer a storyline which stays on track throughout. Read more
Published 1 day ago by pastyw
4.0 out of 5 stars Do we know our own teens?? NO...read on and enjoy
Do we know everything about our children's lives - I do not think so, Sue Jackson thinks she has ther perfect family until her teenage daughter steps in front of a bus and ends in... Read more
Published 1 day ago by rhosymynydd
1.0 out of 5 stars Just woken up from a coma after reading this puerile drivel
I Cannot believe I have wasted so much time reading such utter rubbish when there are so many other better written books to be had.
Published 1 day ago by jaffacakes
3.0 out of 5 stars Average tale.
Quite a reasonable story and characters are good, but found the jumping about from past to present a bit too much for my liking.
Published 2 days ago by Mrs Dorothy Edwards
4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars
Decent read.
Published 4 days ago by Amazon Customer
5.0 out of 5 stars Carol
Was a very good book
great plot &character
a determined mum trying to get to the truth of her daughter's so called accident
loved it
Published 5 days ago by Carol Merralls
5.0 out of 5 stars I enjoyed it.
I took this on holiday . I enjoyed it.
Published 5 days ago by T.Grant
Search Customer Reviews
Only search this product's reviews

Customer Discussions

This product's forum
Discussion Replies Latest Post
Readers' Reviews 0 18 Jun 2014
See all discussions...  
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 

Search Customer Discussions
   


Look for similar items by category