Start reading THE ACCIDENT on your Kindle in under a minute. Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here or start reading now with a free Kindle Reading App.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

 
 
 

Try it free

Sample the beginning of this book for free

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Anybody can read Kindle books—even without a Kindle device—with the FREE Kindle app for smartphones, tablets and computers.
THE ACCIDENT
 
 

THE ACCIDENT [Kindle Edition]

C.L. Taylor
4.2 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (679 customer reviews)

Print List Price: £6.99
Kindle Price: £1.90 includes VAT* & free wireless delivery via Amazon Whispernet
You Save: £5.09 (73%)
* Unlike print books, digital books are subject to VAT.

Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition £1.90  
Paperback £2.00  
Kindle Daily Deal
Kindle Daily Deal: At least 60% off
Each day we unveil a new book deal at a specially discounted price--for that day only. Learn more about the Kindle Daily Deal or sign up for the Kindle Daily Deal Newsletter to receive free e-mail notifications about each day's deal.

Special Offers and Product Promotions

  • Purchase any Kindle Book sold by Amazon.co.uk and receive £1 credit to try out our Digital Music Store. Here's how (terms and conditions apply)

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought


Product Description

Review

"An ominous atmosphere, a tense tale of past and present colliding, and a narrator whom no-one believes: this book is a delight." Alex Marwood

‘Utterly compelling. I could not put this gripping, heart-stopping page-turner down’ Rowan Coleman

‘Twisty, dark and utterly compelling’ Lucy Diamond

‘I was gripped from start to finish. Everyone should read this book!’ Lucy Robinson

‘This fast, twisty psychological thriller has suspense on every page!’ Paula Daly

‘Gripping and terrifying’ Julie Cohen

‘One of the best books I've read in ages – the tension never lets up until the final pages. Page-turning suspense ratcheted up with every new scene. Sub-plots woven in effortlessly. Brilliant – my heart was racing as I drew nearer and nearer to the ending.‘ Mel Sherratt

Product Description

Fast-paced and suspenseful The Accident is perfect for fans of Before I Go to Sleep, Gone Girl and Sophie Hannah.

A gripping psychological thriller about the deadly secrets your children can keep …

Sue Jackson has the perfect family but when her teenage daughter Charlotte deliberately steps in front of a bus and ends up in a coma she is forced to face a very dark reality.

Retracing her daughter’s steps she finds a horrifying entry in Charlotte’s diary and is forced to head deep into Charlotte’s private world. In her hunt for evidence, Sue begins to mistrust everyone close to her daughter and she’s forced to look further, into the depths of her own past.

Sue will do anything to protect her daughter. But what if she is the reason that Charlotte is in danger?


Product details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 469 KB
  • Print Length: 395 pages
  • Page Numbers Source ISBN: 0007540035
  • Publisher: Avon (10 April 2014)
  • Sold by: Amazon Media EU S.à r.l.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B00G8SVBQU
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Average Customer Review: 4.2 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (679 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #459 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  •  Would you like to give feedback on images?


More About the Author

CL Taylor lives in Bristol with her partner and young son. Born in Worcester, she studied for a degree in Psychology at the University of Northumbria, Newcastle then moved to London to work in medical publishing. After two years she moved to Brighton where she worked as a graphic designer, web developer and instructional designer over the course of 13 years. She currently works as a Distance Learning Design and Development manager for a London university. She credits Roald Dahl's 'Tales of the Unexpected' for her love of a dark, twisted tale.

www.cltaylorauthor.com
www.twitter.com/callytaylor
www.facebook.com/callytaylorauthor

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?


Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews
9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very absorbing tale! 29 July 2014
By KellyF
Format:Paperback
I knew I'd like this novel from the moment I read the blurb, it was my kind of read and it didn't disappoint.

Sue's story, past and present, is cleverly weaved through alternate chapters. I warmed to the protagonist immediately. She felt very real and three dimensional. I could see that she'd been through a lot and was intrigued to find out more about her past and how she'd resolve the mystery of her comatose daughter's accident.

I found the plot very engaging, and I enjoyed the twists and tenterhook moments at the end of most chapters. Although the book did have a couple of humorous moments, it's essentially a psychological thriller.

This novel was recommended to me by a friend on Facebook. It's my first Cally Taylor read and it certainly won't be my last. Quite possibly one of the best books I've read this year. I really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful to you?
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The accident by c.l. taylor 28 July 2014
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
Could not put this book down from start to finish.
Brilliant storyline and characters. Really well thought out plot with so many unexpected twists and turns. Kept me on the edge of my seat and finished the book in one and a half days!
Such a cheap price but I have no idea why??!!!
A real bargain to snap up if you like thrillers.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Breath taking! 16 Jun 2014
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
When I started this book I didn't know what to expect, as I hadn't read a blurb or a review prior to reading...for a little while I was a bit lost, I hadn't put two and two together relating to the two different stories, and then when the penny dropped it was like a light bulb moment!

The last ten chapters I read on the train on the way into work and several times I audibly gasped!!!

A brilliant, brilliant book! Can't recommend it enough!!!
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Realistic and gripping 28 Aug 2014
Format:Paperback
I bought this book as I was struggling to sleep and I thought having something to read a few pages of every night would ease me into a peaceful slumber, well I've had the book 3 days and I've read the whole thing. I could not put it down and after reading 3-4 chapters for 2 nights caved and read the rest today. This book is really well written in my opinion, it draws you in to the characters personalities from the first page, keeps you wanting to know more. I think it it portrays how one can be mentally manipulated so easily despite being strong and of sane mind. I will definitely be reading more from this author as I love her writing style, not to wordy but yet enough description to draw you in. I am very hard to please with books, if it isn't good from the start I struggle to get through the first few pages and it gathers dust somewhere. My only issue is now I have nothing to help me wind down for a good nights sleep
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply Amazing! 28 April 2014
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
Where do I start with this book? The synopsis really interested me, and once I started it, I literally could not put this down. The writing instantly grips you, you get sucked into the mystery. This book reminded me of 'Before I go to Sleep' by S J Watson, another book which I love, I hope 'The Accident' gets as much recognition as that one.

The story focuses on Sue's search to answer the question of why Charlotte felt so bad that she stepped out in front of a bus. The writing is absolutely superb, all the characters were great, especially Sue, you really get how she is feeling, and the rationale behind her thoughts.

Intertwined with this, are the journal entries from Sue 20 years ago, which talks about her relationship with James, and helps you understand why Sue is reacting the way she is to her current crisis. Due to this, I found myself constantly questioning if some of Sue's thoughts were just paranoia due to her past, or if she is understanding everything perfectly, when those around her don't. C L Taylor keeps you guessing, and I love it.

This book is just, simply amazing. One of my absolute favourites of all time. OK, I'll stop gushing now, just go buy it!!
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Captivating 11 July 2014
Format:Kindle Edition
A fantastic, gripping read. I read it within 24 hours, just couldn't put it down. Well written charcters and the use of Sue's past diary entries gave depth to the story. Highly recommended!
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyed this very much 14 July 2014
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
Enjoyed this very much, but would have liked it to go a bit further at the end. Well written and quite different, worth reading.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Read this book 2 Jun 2014
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
This is one of those books you feel compelled to read just a little bit more.
Great story. Could not put it down.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Would you like to see more reviews about this item?
Were these reviews helpful?   Let us know
Most Recent Customer Reviews
5.0 out of 5 stars a bit slow - but well worth sticking with
A novel that you need to stick at initially! Charlotte Is in a coma, the accident happened before the story begins. The story is built around why did Charlotte walk into the road. Read more
Published 7 hours ago by xenofan
5.0 out of 5 stars I love it
Great book!
Published 1 day ago by A. Jukes
3.0 out of 5 stars It's okay
Good holiday read
Published 1 day ago by Mrs J Trezise
5.0 out of 5 stars I love it
great
Published 2 days ago by Debra Harnell
4.0 out of 5 stars accident or was it?
A gripping psychological thriller about the deadly secrets your children can keep …

Sue Jackson has the perfect family but when her teenage daughter Charlotte... Read more
Published 2 days ago by E. Dale
4.0 out of 5 stars I like it
Easy book to get into. Story line kept me hooked and wanting to read more.
Published 2 days ago by Eve Evans
4.0 out of 5 stars good read
This book was a bit slow to start but then got to a point where I couldn't put it down
Published 3 days ago by Julie
5.0 out of 5 stars Good book
Enjoyed the book, liked how it was written. Will be reading more by this author. Liked the ending. Now to find another
Published 3 days ago by Absolutely brilliant a real laugh out loud book, reminds me a little of Bridget Jones so funny.
4.0 out of 5 stars a really good read
I got through this so quickly, loved the present and the past merging together.
Rather than give away the story, lets just say its a brilliant read - not necessarily a... Read more
Published 3 days ago by Mhughes
5.0 out of 5 stars Super read!
If you liked "While you were sleeping" you'll love this.
Published 3 days ago by Janine
Search Customer Reviews
Only search this product's reviews

Customer Discussions

This product's forum
Discussion Replies Latest Post
Readers' Reviews 0 18 Jun 2014
See all discussions...  
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 

Search Customer Discussions
   


Look for similar items by category