Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars167
4.7 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 September 2013
A real page turner, couldn't put it down. Matt Drake at his best, this continues the team battling against the forces of the doomsday device that Alexander the Great tried to stop. I love books that blend history with the present and David Leadbeater has put together a gripping cast within these books that you can really empathise with. Wouldn't it be a great film!
Looking forward to the next one enormously!
0Comment4 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 October 2013
This is the 6th Matt Drake novel, and again it is a fast paced, no-put-down read. Almost the same team, and again, flying all over the World to right wrongs and stop the 'baddies' from gaining control. I am really glad I chanced on David Leadbeater with his first Matt Drake story, and am following all of his various stories.

I would certainly recommend it to anyone who likes a good adventure story.
0Comment3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 September 2013
A couple of pages in and your off!!! Action starts right to the end and then the teaser of what's to come next!! Gutted it ended,I could have easily kept on reading!! Really like the author,his characters and the Matt Drake series!! Really recommend these books if you love a bit of adventure....roll on Matt Drake 7!!
0Comment3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 December 2013
I love the characters who comprise the newly formed SPEAR, and as these stories continue they develop into people you care about. Although this novel stands on its own, it makes more sense if you have read the earlier ones, and clearly there is at least one more to follow. As with the other stories, Matt, Mai and friends have to decipher more codes, find the necessary sites and save the world from a disastrous end. I love the slightly manic storylines, willingly suspend disbelief and accept the stories for what they are..... Ripping Yarns in the Boys'Own tradition.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 September 2013
Matt Drake and friends once again have to save the world, like them the reader barely has time to pause for breath. David Leadbeater has once again delivered a story with action and adventure by the barrel load. Be warned once you start reading it is difficult to put down! I can't wait for number 7.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 September 2013
The Swords of Babylon continues the great Matt Drake adventures- moving rapidly from one continent to the next at breathtaking pace. The characters around Matt continue to grow and develop. The ancient mysteries combined with the modern day work so well. I am looking forward to the next episode!
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 May 2014
Mr Leadbeater is, without doubt, up there with the giants of thrillers and adventure novelists....I love his writing and his books should be made into movies. Here's a talking point for all of you reading this.....which actor would you choose to play matt drake on the big screen? there's a fortune to be made for the movie company who has the nerve to make it happen. Fortunately I am retired so staying up all night to finish a novel by David Leadbeater is not a sacrifice that others have to make but I still can't put his books down to finish at a later date....he's that Good!!! Keep writing David, you're making my life a lot more exciting.....and pleasurable....thank you.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 September 2013
David Leadbeater is without peer when it comes to fast-moving, high action thrillers. The Matt Drake series is an absolute scorcher and a must read for lovers of brilliantly conceived plots and gripping action. I think it's best to read the Matt Drake Series in order if you can, but failing that, jump-in wherever you can! I like the way the author gets to the point and stays there- no wasted words, no boring fillers. Matt and his team are likeable and believable and that's important to me. The Swords of Babylon is another winner from an author I plan to follow for as long he wants to keep writing! Highly recommended.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 October 2014
As with every Matt Drake adventure this one just sucks you into the story, keeps you there & makes you gasp & smash your palm off your own forehead ! Exciting isn't the word & this whole series has just been brilliant. All the characters are awesome & the mingling of history & action in my opinion has been bettered by no other author. Long live Spear and Matt Drake...Simply gripping & yes I feel rather smug having read all 8 Spear books so know hat happens next ! I will say no more but if you like Matt Drake do yourself a favour & buy David Leadbeaters Disavowed series of books. You won't be disappointed !!!
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 September 2013
Matt Drake is back and from the first page the action is fast paced and keeps you on the edge of your seat, not wanting to put the book down until the end. And what an end the promise of even more action with the SPEAR team and the Blood King to come! Another excellent book from David Leadbeater who continues to write exciting, fast paced books, the Matt Drake series improving with every book written. Can't wait for 7 & 8 to come out. If you havent tried these books but like action, twists and turns and an excellent thriller you cant go wrong giving this series a try!!
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.