Start reading Sword of Rome: The Complete Campaigns on your Kindle in under a minute. Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here or start reading now with a free Kindle Reading App.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

 
 
 

Try it free

Sample the beginning of this book for free

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Anybody can read Kindle books—even without a Kindle device—with the FREE Kindle app for smartphones, tablets and computers.
Sword of Rome: The Complete Campaigns
 
 

Sword of Rome: The Complete Campaigns [Kindle Edition]

Richard Foreman
3.7 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (6 customer reviews)

Print List Price: £8.99
Kindle Price: £3.99 includes VAT* & free wireless delivery via Amazon Whispernet
You Save: £5.00 (56%)
* Unlike print books, digital books are subject to VAT.

Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition £3.99  
Paperback £6.42  
Kindle Summer Sale: Over 500 Books from £0.99
Have you seen the Kindle Summer Sale yet? Browse selected books from popular authors and debut novelists, including new releases and bestsellers. Learn more

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought


Product Description

Product Description

The best-selling Sword of Rome novellas are collected together for the first time in one epic collection.

The Sword of Rome series of novellas follow Julius Caesar and his centurion Lucius Oppius during their campaigns in Britain, Gaul and the Civil War. The stories are a blend of action, intrigue and Ancient History.

Sword of Rome: The Complete Campaigns includes -

Sword of Rome: Standard Bearer:

Britain, 55 BC. Julius Caesar’s invasion of the wild and mineral-rich land is becalmed, a stalemate exists between the forces of Rome and Britain. But the standard bearer of the Tenth Legion, Lucius Oppius, is about to display a depth of courage that will change the course of the invasion – and history…

Sword of Rome: Alesia:

Alesia, 52BC. Caesar's army stands upon the brink of annihilation, caught between two enemy armies.

Oppius is ordered to venture north of Alesia to capture Vercingetorix's war chest of gold. He will be accompanied in his mission by one of Caesar's agents, the beguiling Livia - the centurion's former lover.

As Caesar and Mark Antony face a battle for their lives outside the walls of Alesia, Oppius will have to fight against the odds to find and secure the gold. Yet will completing the mission this time exact too high a price?

Sword of Rome: Gladiator:

Rome, 51BC. Lucius Oppius has left the battlefields of Gaul to venture to Rome. But he is about to discover the capital of the Empire can be every bit as dangerous as its provinces.

Under orders from Caesar to secure an item of intelligence that will help him become a Consul again Oppius is manipulated into taking part in a gladiatorial contest. Oppius soon discovers that while in Gaul your the enemies stand before you in a shield wall in Rome they stab you in the back...

Sword of Rome: Rubicon:

Ravenna, 50BC. Caesar’s forces stand upon the borders of Gaul and Italy. The prospect of a civil war grows ever likelier each day.

In Rome, Cicero attempts to secure a peace. Against him, a powerful faction in the Senate is bent upon destroying Caesar, for personal and political reasons.

War hinges upon the will of Pompey, the only man capable of stopping Caesar. Caesar stands upon the banks of the Rubicon, an enemy of the state. The die is cast. An empire will now be at war, spearheaded by the two great men of the age...

Sword of Rome: Pharsalus:

Pharsalus, 48BC. The battle will decide the fate of a civil war and empire. Caesar's forces are outnumbered, but he believes his veterans will not be outmatched.

For one veteran, Lucius Oppius, the battle will be about revenge rather than glory. Oppius has vowed to avenge his father's death. His enemy is Flavius Laco - a former gladiator and an agent of Pompey the Great.

Against the backdrop of one of Ancient History's most momentous battles two soldiers will wage their own personal war...

Caesar, Pompey, Mark Antony, Brutus and Cicero all feature in the climax to the bestselling Sword of Rome series.

For fans of Bernard Cornwell, Simon Scarrow and Conn Iggulden.

Richard Foreman's books have been widely praised.

Praise for 'Augustus: Son of Rome'.

'Augustus: Son of Rome forges action and adventure with politics and philosophy. This superb story is drenched in both blood and wisdom - and puts Foreman on the map as the coming man of historical fiction'. - Saul David, Author of the Zulu Hart series.

Praise for Raffles: The Complete Innings.

“Classy, humorous and surprisingly touching tales of cricket, friendship and crime.” - David Blackburn, The Spectator.

Richard Foreman is the author of numerous best-selling Kindle books, including 'Augustus: Son of Rome' and the Raffles series of historical crime novellas. He is also the author of 'Warsaw', a literary novel set during the end of the Second World War. He lives in London.

Endeavour Press is the UK's leading independent publisher of digital books.

Product details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 821 KB
  • Print Length: 358 pages
  • Publisher: Endeavour Press Ltd. (25 Nov 2013)
  • Sold by: Amazon Media EU S.à r.l.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B00E963OU4
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Average Customer Review: 3.7 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (6 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #9,503 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  •  Would you like to give feedback on images?


What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?


Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ideal light beach read for lovers of history 6 Aug 2013
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
I have reviewed a couple of the Sword of Rome novellas individually but just also want to recommend the collection. Books work well as stand alones and also as novel, although series is not without minor flaws.
Strengths are the humour in the books, whether it comes from witty word play or more laddish jokes. There's always a nice pace and twist to final action scenes. And characters are memorable and likeable.
Highlights for me were Gladiator and Rubicon. Last book could/should have been longer.
In general though The Complete Campaigns is an ideal light beach read for lovers of history and historical fiction.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great series - superb value for money 6 Aug 2013
By Nelson
Format:Kindle Edition
I bought a couple of the novellas individually (at 1.99) which I didn't think was too bad at the time, but the complete collection of novellas here is a bargain at 3.99. If you're like me and you can't get enough roman historical fiction, this collection provides the perfect fix. The novellas make for easy reading, the characters are well developed and there are running themes and jokes. If you're new to the series, I'd take a punt on this collection, or try Sword of Rome: Gladiator which ended up being a firm favourite of mine.

There's some politically incorrect humour, but many people will find this to be a bonus rather than criticism!
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Too much money for too short a book 16 Dec 2013
Format:Paperback|Verified Purchase
Book is not as its described Its not really five books but one book not even a hardback Richard Foreman is an Enjoyable read and talented writer up there with Simon Scarrow. Anthoney Riches. Conn Iggulden Etc But this book as far as im concerned was more like one book so dissapointed
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Would you like to see more reviews about this item?
Were these reviews helpful?   Let us know

Customer Discussions

This product's forum
Discussion Replies Latest Post
No discussions yet

Ask questions, Share opinions, Gain insight
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 

Search Customer Discussions
Search all Amazon discussions
   


Look for similar items by category