Start reading Sword of Empire: Centurion on your Kindle in under a minute. Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here or start reading now with a free Kindle Reading App.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

 
 
 

Try it free

Sample the beginning of this book for free

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Anybody can read Kindle books—even without a Kindle device—with the FREE Kindle app for smartphones, tablets and computers.
Sword of Empire: Centurion
 
 

Sword of Empire: Centurion [Kindle Edition]

Richard Foreman
3.8 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (13 customer reviews)

Kindle Price: £1.99 includes VAT* & free wireless delivery via Amazon Whispernet
* Unlike print books, digital books are subject to VAT.

Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition £1.99  
Paperback £3.99  
Kindle Daily Deal
Kindle Daily Deal: At least 60% off
Each day we unveil a new book deal at a specially discounted price--for that day only. Learn more about the Kindle Daily Deal or sign up for the Kindle Daily Deal Newsletter to receive free e-mail notifications about each day's deal.

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought


Product Description

Product Description

Rome 174AD.

As the war continues in the north Marcus Aurelius orders Gaius Maximus and Rufus Atticus to return to Rome. Enemies lurk in the shadows in the capital, spreading propaganda and sowing dissent. The praetorian guards must lure their enemies out – and defeat them.

Yet Maximus is returning home for something, or rather someone, else: Aurelia. The soldier will be caught between his duty and his happiness.

Rufus Atticus will also be forced to make a choice, between the duty he owes to his Emperor and the duty he owes to his family.

Triumph and tragedy may prove to be two sides of the same coin.

The centurions will be caught-up in a web of intrigue - as well as a battle on the streets of Rome - that will decide the fate of Marcus Aurelius and the Empire.

‘Sword of Empire: Centurion’ is the sequel to the best-selling novella ‘Sword of Empire: Praetorian’.

For fans of Simon Scarrow, Harry Sidebottom and Conn Iggulden.

Richard Foreman's books have been widely praised.

Praise for 'Augustus: Son of Rome'.

'Augustus: Son of Rome forges action and adventure with politics and philosophy. This superb story is drenched in both blood and wisdom - and puts Foreman on the map as the coming man of historical fiction'. - Saul David, Author of the Zulu Hart series.

Praise for Raffles: The Complete Innings.

“Classy, humorous and surprisingly touching tales of cricket, friendship and crime.” - David Blackburn, The Spectator.

Richard Foreman is the author of numerous best-selling books, including 'Augustus: Son of Rome' and the Sword of Rome series of historical novellas. He is also the author of 'Warsaw', a literary novel set during the Second World War. He lives in London. You can find him tweeting at @rforemanauthor.

Endeavour Press is the UK's leading independent publisher of digital books.

Product details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 441 KB
  • Print Length: 114 pages
  • Publisher: Endeavour Press (30 April 2014)
  • Sold by: Amazon Media EU S.à r.l.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B00K29ORTO
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Average Customer Review: 3.8 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (13 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #4,759 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  •  Would you like to give feedback on images?


What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?


Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
I thoroughly enjoyed 'Sword of Empire: Centurion'. Although the pace of the novel began quite steadily it increased dramatically in the middle and kept me hooked throughout. The distinction between the battle and romance scenes also added another dimension to the plot, as when I started reading I thought the book would focus solely on themes of battle and bloodshed. I sometimes struggled to keep up with all the different characters names and roles, though the differing sub plots and change in story line and location between the chapters kept me intrigued and wanting to find out more. I think the characters Maximus and Atticus were fleshed out really well, though I think Claudia was my favourite character as I ended up feeling a bit sorry for her. The ending was unpredictable and shocking as throughout the later chapters you are unsure as to which characters will survive. I have not read 'Sword of Empire: Praetorian' but after reading the sequel I definitely will. Would highly recommend Foreman's novel if you're looking for a fast paced and unpredictable read.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Accomplished Historical Thriller. 3 May 2014
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
Thoroughly enjoyable follow-up to Praetorian. Characters and plot are developed, but theoretically book can be read without having read first novella in series. There's probably less action in Centurion but at the same time there are a few more twists and turns towards the end. I don't want to spoil ending, but suffice to say readers won't see everything coming. As usual there are plenty of good jokes and, as well as spotlighting Marcus Aurelius and Ancient Rome, author is as much writing about the politics of now as then.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sequel has been worth the wait. 2 May 2014
Format:Kindle Edition
Book has short action scene at the beginning but then builds quite slowly, until long, involving battle at end of story. Soldiers and fans of ancient history and Conn Iggulden etc will especially enjoy Centurion but author includes a couple of engaging female characters and the middle of the book is concerned with a touching love story. Centurion has a lot going on and would recommend readers start with Praetorian, although it's not essential. A criticism would be that Foreman should turn his long novellas into novels too. Also the villains of the piece are not nearly as well drawn as heroes, Maximus and Atticus. Ending is bloody and for me it was unpredictable, but I don't want to say any more than that. Author created memorable portrait of Caesar in his Sword of Rome Caesar but was Marcus Aurelius an even greater man/emperor?
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars scintilating drama 11 May 2014
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
Once again Richard Foreman paces another great Rome adventure and keeps us hooked into Gaius' adventures. I hope we hear more from him soon.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
Book was recommended to me by a friend. Target market for book includes soldiers and fans of Ancient History but general readers should get something from Centurion too. I was surprised by the love story in the plot and also the black, satirical humour in places. Would read other books by same author, though am tempted to read biography of Marcus Aurelius first. Not necessarily something I'd normally read, but I'm glad I did.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An entertaining novella with unexpected ending 6 May 2014
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
Having thoroughly enjoyed Richard Foreman’s Warsaw, I was looking forward to downloading his latest novella, Sword of Empire: Centurion, to read over the bank holiday weekend.

The reader is re-introduced to characters from the previous novella in the series, Sword of Empire: Praetorian.

The story follows the journey of centurion Gaius Maximus and his quest for a happy ever after when he returns to Rome. It is an action packed adventure with blood and gore, yet still has a captivating love story at the heart of the narrative.

Without giving too much away, there are a couple of unexpected twists towards the end of the narrative. Although I did not get the happy ending I was hoping for I was left a satisfied reader and will read more titles by the author.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
After reading the first book In the series I was looking forwathetis the sequel in anticipation. I was not disappointed although at first I didn't think I was going to enjoy it as much as it was a bit slow in getting into the plot. However we soon got back to the intrigues which make this writer so enjoyable to me, a great mixture of both blood &substerfuge. Exciting right to the end although even though the hero has disappeared I do hope the author will be inspired to bring him back to entertain & excite us fans again.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Would you like to see more reviews about this item?
Was this review helpful?   Let us know

Customer Discussions

This product's forum
Discussion Replies Latest Post
No discussions yet

Ask questions, Share opinions, Gain insight
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 

Search Customer Discussions
Search all Amazon discussions
   


Look for similar items by category