Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
48
4.8 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

They certainly do in this book.

Bought for my comic/superhero mad son (I have a collection of superhero comics from the 70's/80's myself) Super Graphic is a brilliantly 'visual' book full of masses of off the cuff and geek worthy information about DC, Marvel and Superheroes.

This is all presented in an infographic way such as 'Information is Beautiful' if you're familiar with those books/website. Here you are provided with huge volumes of data that you can consume quickly and clearly.

It's packed to the rafters with bar charts, venn diagrams, pie charts, hierarchies, tree maps, standard maps, time series data and many other infographic styles. A very small taste of what you can find in this -

- Walking Dead kill counter (just who has topped the most zombies?)
- The four faces of The Flash
- The pizzas of The Mutant Ninja Turtles
- The politics of Good v Evil
- Superhero kill counter (Just who has killed the most baddies?)

At 196 pages the quality of this book is excellent and it looks great too!

If you have any geeks leaning towards superheroes/data/graphs in your house I can thoroughly recommend this book!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 December 2015
Bought as a present for a nephew who LOVES it and couldn't put it down. Great for all ages and holds a wealth of information. Illustrations/graphics are well done and not overwhelming. Will be buying again for other relatives!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 September 2015
This book is the best. Some really good, obscure random stats. Every single one presented in a quirky, relevant, funny way. Great gift as well - I bought this and then bought 3 more to give away for Christmas and birthdays. The Punisher flowchart is my absolute favourite.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 October 2014
My partner loved 'Information is Beautiful' book and here is the same style of infographics for comic books.
There's a good cross section of comic books and characters referenced. Would recommend.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2014
"Geek porn" sums it up neatly. Not every chart, diagram, and line graph in this book is equally interesting -- how could they be? -- but there's something in here to amuse and/or inform every comics geek, regardless of age or gender.

Funniest entry, hands down: "If You Were the Punisher, What Would You Do?"

Best geography lesson: a world map showing the locations of Nanda Parbat, Neo-Tokyo, Latveria, Gorilla City, Wakanda, Themyscira, Santa Prisca, Smallville, Asgard, and Duckburg.

Bandes dessinées special: six pages of Tintin charts, including its 56-year publication history, and Herge's 32-year history of rewriting, redrawing, and re-editing his earlier, more controversial, volumes.

...And much, much more!

CAVEAT: The Kindle version may not be readable. Half a dozen reviewers on Amazon's US page have complained about fuzzy graphics and the frustration of trying to read two-page spreads that are split into two separate pages in the e-book. No such problems with the paperback version, of course.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2014
Ordered this for my husband for Christmas. He enjoys graphic novels/ comic book heroes etc. He was really pleased with the book and has been reading it a lot! It even encouraged him to revisit some of his old books.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 November 2013
I find it hard to choose a gift for comic lovers sometimes because you never know what they have already without asking outright, I bought this as a fun present, but it's high quality print, great presentation and packed with useless but fun information - this really is an unusual, top-notch gift.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 March 2014
Bought this for my partner as a gift and he loves it, I highly recommend this book for comic book lovers but also for designers interested in alternative infographics. Really beautifully put together and a really nice read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 June 2014
The infographics are fun and smart. There are a lot of pages given over to single joke charts, meaning you get less for your money than you'd think looking at it. It also covers a wide range of comics, from Spider-Man to Scrooge McDuck, which could be a positive or negative depending how wide your tastes range. If you love all things graphic then it's great, if you're in it for the superheroes then you might find it lacking.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 March 2014
I bought this as a birthday present for my friend, but when it arrived I almost didn't want to give it away! Its so interesting from a graphics point of view and a comic book one! My friend was so impressed with it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)