£7.99
FREE Delivery in the UK on orders with at least £10 of books.
In stock.
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
Quantity:1
Suncaller has been added to your Basket
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Suncaller Paperback – 11 Jul 2011

4.8 out of 5 stars 4 customer reviews

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
Paperback
"Please retry"
£7.99
£1.03 £0.88
Note: This item is eligible for click and collect. Details
Pick up your parcel at a time and place that suits you.
  • Choose from over 13,000 locations across the UK
  • Prime members get unlimited deliveries at no additional cost
How to order to an Amazon Pickup Location?
  1. Find your preferred location and add it to your address book
  2. Dispatch to this address when you check out
Learn more
£7.99 FREE Delivery in the UK on orders with at least £10 of books. In stock. Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone

To get the free app, enter your e-mail address or mobile phone number.




Product details

  • Paperback: 224 pages
  • Publisher: Deadstar Publishing (11 July 2011)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0956609090
  • ISBN-13: 978-0956609090
  • Product Dimensions: 13 x 1.2 x 19.8 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 4.8 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (4 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 2,887,393 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
3
4 star
1
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
See all 4 customer reviews
Share your thoughts with other customers

Top Customer Reviews

Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
Alright; here's the short version: I read this in great chunks, and when I had to stop to eat or sleep I kept on thinking about it. In my opinion, it is one of the best books I've read in the last year.

To be specific: this is a highly original fantasy adventure, merging a "real-world" storyline with a fantasy storyline that becomes increasingly real and interconnected. Although the structure and storytelling are innovative, in some ways it feels quite classic, with the protagonist staying in sharp detail (even as he grows and develops); it definitely has a solid grounding in monomyth, which makes it satisfying to read.

I said "Compelling", which is true in two ways; for one, the pacing clips along and the development of the plot keeps the excitement on a steady build. For another, the characters really stand out off the page. For a fairly short novel, it's impressive how the characters can be so well defined and believable early on, the grow and develop in a way that seems like a natural extension of their character. The evocation of being an awkward teenager left me outright nostalgic- if that's the right word. Although the protagonists are teenagers, there's a lot of maturity in it.

It's clear the author has gone deep into thinking up the backdrop, almost to an extent that reminds me of Tolkien- but thankfully he's had enough discipline to keep the setting supporting the story, and not the other way around. Clearly a lot of thought went into it, and the mythos really has a ring of authenticity to it.

The book starts on a sinister chord, and moves to grim reality- after the first chapter, I'd have provisionally given it three stars.
Read more ›
Comment 2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback
Suncaller is like Narnia for the jilted generation. The characterization is smooth and natural. The tone is tense and compelling, and the other world is thoroughly alien but hangs together well. The only shortcomming I found is there wasn't as much of it as I'd like. Very promising debut, I look forward to reading more from this author.
Comment 2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback
Fans of Pratchett, Bibby and Rankin will find a lot to enjoy in here. The characterisation is particularly strong: protagonist Mortimer mostly feels fairly believable, starting out like the kid you never spoke to at school and wondered about later, and developing. The "real world" supporting cast is strong and interesting, each having a distinct and believable voice.

The fantastical aspects were, for me, interesting, if a little confusing at times - many of the characters in the fantasy world Pandul have very similar names. To a software engineer, that is really hard because we like distinct names for easy memorisation! I'm a fantasy fan but perhaps my tastes are changing because I found the "real world" stuff much more engaging. That said, the main villain played out really well and had a satisfying arc.

Although I felt the book pushed its philosophical aspects fairly hard (which although interesting, some sat as specious with me personally), it was tempered throughout with a rich sense of humour which did make me LOL. The fresh tone of the novel is its USP for me; Liddle has a chatty, engaging and likeable style.

I'd say this is a promising book from a writer with an eye for character, and worth a read if you're a fantasy fan.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback
Well, I read it in a day. I enjoyed it to the detriment of all the little things I should've been doing, and now I'm trying to convince my wife that she should be reading it too.

I could say the same things as the reviewers before me (because they're correct), but they've all done a fine job of it, so read them for more info. I'm just going to recommend reading it.
Comment 1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Look for similar items by category


Feedback