Start reading Summer of No Surrender on your Kindle in under a minute. Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here or start reading now with a free Kindle Reading App.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

 
 
 

Try it free

Sample the beginning of this book for free

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Anybody can read Kindle books—even without a Kindle device—with the FREE Kindle app for smartphones, tablets and computers.
Summer of No Surrender
 
 

Summer of No Surrender [Kindle Edition]

Richard Townsend Bickers
3.5 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (4 customer reviews)

Kindle Price: £2.99 includes VAT* & free wireless delivery via Amazon Whispernet
* Unlike print books, digital books are subject to VAT.

Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition £2.99  
Hardcover --  
Kindle Daily Deal
Kindle Daily Deal: At least 60% off
Each day we unveil a new book deal at a specially discounted price--for that day only. Learn more about the Kindle Daily Deal or sign up for the Kindle Daily Deal Newsletter to receive free e-mail notifications about each day's deal.

Special Offers and Product Promotions

  • Purchase any Kindle Book sold by Amazon.co.uk and receive £1 credit to try out our Digital Music Store. Here's how (terms and conditions apply)

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought


Product Description

Product Description

1940. The Battle of Britain.

In the skies over the Channel, young men were proving their courage to the enemy, to their comrades, and to themselves.

And the R.A.F. and the Luftwaffe are in a fight to the death - with the future of Europe at stake.

The British Officer Peter Knight and German Leutnant Erich Hafner have battled it out time and again and now they can identify one another's planes.

For both men, the war has become personal.

And each man is stalking his own special prey.

As their final deadly showdown looms it starts to affect the whole of 172 Squadron.

Will Peter manage to shoot down Erich and lead the British squadron to victory?

Or will his personal vendetta end in disaster for the entire unit?

'Summer of No Surrender' is an action-packed war thriller pitting one man's personal mission against the fate of the Battle of Britain. It is perfect for fans of Alistair MacLean and Jack Higgins.

Richard Townsend Bickers volunteered for the RAF on the outbreak of the second world war and served, with a Permanent Commission, for eighteen years. He wrote a range of military fiction and non-fiction books, including a biography of his friend "Ginger" Lacey, the top-scoring pilot in the Battle of Britain.

Endeavour Press is the UK's leading independent publisher of digital books.

Product details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 4360 KB
  • Print Length: 196 pages
  • Publisher: Endeavour Press Ltd. (19 Sep 2013)
  • Sold by: Amazon Media EU S.à r.l.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B00FBEOOJI
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Average Customer Review: 3.5 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (4 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #22,049 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  •  Would you like to give feedback on images?


What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?


Customer Reviews

3.5 out of 5 stars
3.5 out of 5 stars
Most Helpful Customer Reviews
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A convincing portrait 18 Nov 2013
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
One of the first 'grown up' books I ever read was Richard Bickers' biography of Battle of Britain ace Ginger Lacey, so when Summer of no Surrender came up for free on the Kindle store I downloaded it in a flash.

The novel is an account of the air war of 1940. Bickers was an RAF officer himself and he paints a convincing portrait of the physical and mental strains placed on young men who go to work each day not knowing if they're going to return. Told from both sides of the conflict, the story highlights that, although enemies, British and German aircrews had a lot in common.

The ending felt rather unresolved and some of the text feels rather dated, partly because it reflects the values of its time. Also this book is another victim of a Kindle edition being created from an inadequately proof read OCR scan.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
4.0 out of 5 stars Thoroughly enjoyable 28 Jun 2014
By Philip
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
Richard is a new writer to me and I was pleasently surprised by the depth of characters and detail that evoked a real feel for people in this traumatic time in Englands history
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars 3 Aug 2014
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
A VERY GOOD READ, HARD TO PUT IT DOWN ONCE YOU HAVE STARTED TO READ IT
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
1.0 out of 5 stars One Star 2 Aug 2014
By stewart
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
Very boring I have given up reading it
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)
Amazon.com: 3.6 out of 5 stars  11 reviews
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars all of us are human beings 11 Nov 2013
By uthabeam - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Kindle Edition
The fight was exausting for both parties.

Both of us lay down our humanity.
We became animals, wich destroyed everything what was considered
the honor of human beings.

As a German, I like the book very much, because it considered
both way's of inhumanidy in the same way.

All of us betrayed, what is meant to be human.
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WW II Battle of Britain in the air 23 Jan 2014
By Hill Country Bob - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
An interesting novel of WW II and the Battle of Britain between the Britons Royal Air Force (RAF) and the German Luftwaffe. The characters on both the British and the German side come alive.

Peter Knight was yellow flight section leader in fighter squadron 172. It was station at a fighter base with squadrons 82 and 699, an auxiliary squadron before the war. The squadron had two Poles, a Frenchman and an American as pilots, in addition to the British pilots. Britain was short of pilots and was grateful for the not British who could fly and joined the RAF. The British pilots are typical lot of young men under high stress. There are losses, and new pilots fresh out of flight school arrive who must be trained to be a contributing member of the squadron and protected until they learn how to keep alive. Most of the pilots are officers, but a small percentage are flying sergeants. Some of the pilots are married, some have girl friends and some have just casual pickups. A pilot is a great catch for a girl at the time.

On the German side is Leutnant Erich Hafner who flies a ME 109. Peter and Erich come to recognize each others aircraft as they encounter each others squadrons in the air. The Germans are stationed in occupied France, and their girlfriends and wives are back in Germany. Some of the Frenchwomen have come to believe that as France lost to Germany, that the Germans were there forever. Thus some of the women were willing to be girlfriends, and some whores to the Germans.

The characters and the romanic affairs come alive and reflect the pressures of the times on both air forces. Well written novel that should be enjoyed by people interested in WW II and the air forces in England.
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Summer of no Surrender 30 Oct 2013
By pat emmerson - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
I enjoyed the book it was free flowing and factual and too the point this period in our history needs to be remembered with good books like this
2.0 out of 5 stars Ok story but annoyingly written 15 Jun 2014
By Bryan Long - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
I bought this on a recommendation from Amazon. I am 70% through the book. The story is ok. I am struggling to get into it like I do other books. (I have read 6 novels excluding this one in the last 5 weeks) The most annoying thing I find is the amount of obscure words the author has used. I consider myself well read and understand most words, but with this book I have had to use the dictionary at least twice on each chapter. I am very glad the kindle has one built in.

Not on my recommendation list.
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting but a little repetitious 13 Jun 2014
By Bob Pella - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
Some very interesting historical descriptions but got the feeling a lot of similar activity taking place. Would recommend to an person with an interest in WWII action.
Were these reviews helpful?   Let us know
Search Customer Reviews
Only search this product's reviews

Customer Discussions

This product's forum
Discussion Replies Latest Post
No discussions yet

Ask questions, Share opinions, Gain insight
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 

Search Customer Discussions
Search all Amazon discussions
   


Look for similar items by category