A Summer Of Discontent and over 2 million other books are available for Amazon Kindle . Learn more


or
Sign in to turn on 1-Click ordering.
More Buying Choices
Have one to sell? Sell yours here
Sorry, this item is not available in
Image not available for
Colour:
Image not available

 
Start reading A Summer Of Discontent on your Kindle in under a minute.

Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here, or download a FREE Kindle Reading App.

A Summer Of Discontent: 8: The Eighth Chronicle of Matthew Bartholomew (Chronicles of Matthew Bartholomew) [Paperback]

Susanna Gregory
4.5 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (21 customer reviews)
Price: 9.99 & FREE Delivery in the UK on orders over 10. Details
o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o
Only 15 left in stock (more on the way).
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
Want it tomorrow, 29 July? Choose Express delivery at checkout. Details

Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition 6.49  
Hardcover --  
Paperback 9.99  

Book Description

5 Jun 2003 Chronicles of Matthew Bartholomew (Book 8)
Matthew Bartholomew jumps at the chance to travel to Ely with Brother Michael, as it will give him a unique opportunity to study in the richly stocked library of the Benedictine priory. Michael has been summoned to the city by his bishop, but it isn't until they arrive that they discover the reason - the bishop has been accused of murder. The charge seems ludicrous, but Michael takes the investigation seriously and energetically sets about his task. Almost immediately he discovers that there appears to have been a series of unexplained deaths in the area. At the same time Bartholomew comes across an underground movement of rebellion against the church and the tithes they demand from the laity, and the two men also learn that there has been a spate of burglaries which are being blamed on a band of travellers. Then a fellow of the priory is murdered almost under their noses. Can this death be connected to the others? Are all the killings linked to the burgeoning rebellion in the city? Once again Susanna Gregory has created a superbly crafted mystery narrated with wit and style against a perfectly realised period background.

Frequently Bought Together

A Summer Of Discontent: 8: The Eighth Chronicle of Matthew Bartholomew (Chronicles of Matthew Bartholomew) + A Killer In Winter: 9: The Ninth Chronicle of Matthew Bartholomew (Chronicles of Matthew Bartholomew) + An Order For Death: 7: The Seventh Chronicle of Matthew Bartholomew (Chronicles of Matthew Bartholomew)
Price For All Three: 26.97

Buy the selected items together


Product details

  • Paperback: 528 pages
  • Publisher: Sphere; New Ed edition (5 Jun 2003)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 075153238X
  • ISBN-13: 978-0751532388
  • Product Dimensions: 20.3 x 7.9 x 3.3 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 4.5 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (21 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 25,839 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Author

Susanna Gregory was a police officer in Leeds before taking up an academic career. She has served as an environmental consultant, doing fieldwork with whales, seals and walruses during seventeen field seasons in the polar regions, and has taught comparative anatomy and biological anthropology.

She is the creator of the Thomas Chaloner series of mysteries set in Restoration London as well as the Matthew Bartholomew books, and now lives in Wales with her husband, who is also a writer.

Product Description

Book Description

The eighth chronicle of the mediaeval physician, Matthew Bartholomew, finds him in Ely where a visit to work in the Priory's library turns into a murder investigation when the bishop himself is accused of being a killer.

About the Author

Susanna Gregory is the pseudonym of a Cambridge academic who was previously a coroner's officer. Her series of mediaeval mysteries have gained a formidable following.


Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews
17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tops! 10 Sep 2003
By A Customer
Format:Paperback
Probably not the best of this excellent series, but great nonetheless. More black humour than some of the earlier books, and really merciless on the Church. Its great to see that Brother Michael, a far more interesting character than the too-good-to-be-true Bartholomew, continues his advance from bit player to co-star. He really is worthy of a spin-off series, that shows some of his often hinted at covert work for the Bishop of Ely. The plot, as always, is intricate, and has that rare quality of seeming to unfold as real events do, beyond the control of the characters. Excellent all round.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great read 16 Aug 2007
By Dodster TOP 500 REVIEWER VINE VOICE
Format:Paperback
I am steadily working my way through this series, and loving them.
The author skillfully draws you into the medieval world of Cambridge and its surrounds with engaging characters and portraits of life that seem very plausible.
I reckon this is the best so far.
There is far greater humour in this book and situations that made me laught out loud. As always, the plot twists and turns and the ending is never as you expect.
A must read for fans of Cadfael and Medieval type fiction.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, but getting predictable 5 Oct 2012
By Alex S
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
I have generally enjoyed the Bartholomew collection, and have steadily worked my way through them, but I have to say that I think that No. 8 might be the last. I can't really say that there is anything wrong with the book, as such, however I'm afraid that I find that I am starting to find them a bit formulaic; you just know that there will be umpteen murders, twists galore and then the murder will be unmasked before succumbing to natural justice. I suppose it could be said, "Well what do you expect"; and this it true, but still....Perhaps have I read too many in too short a time.
Having said all that, Gregory writes well enough, and there is a good feel for the period, and a fair sprinkling of humour. I didn't find this book as long as some, which can sometimes be overwritten and padded.
Perhaps I'll try no.9 in a few months, but then I have the latest Brother Athlestan to read, which I find eminently more satisfying.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
2.0 out of 5 stars A Summer of Discontent 10 July 2014
By Rich
Format:Paperback
A Summer of Discontent is Number Eight in this series.

Matthew heads to Ely with Brother Michael. A change is as good as a rest, but it seems as in Cambridge, murder and mystery follow.

The change in locale is nice, but the rest of this is depressingly familiar. Overlong, flat humour (are the antics of a mentally disabled sexuall active woman really comedy material). Worst of all, the identity of the killer as has been the case in the previous couple of books, blindingly obvious.

It seems that Gregory has established a formula with this series, one that she is sticking to. Time to try something a bit different with it.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant. 24 Oct 2013
By SuziB TOP 1000 REVIEWER
Format:Hardcover|Verified Purchase
I love these books, I literally can't put them down & pretty much as one arrives I order the next one. If I've finished the book before the next one arrives I'm nearly twitching with anticipation. Well written, great mystery.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
5.0 out of 5 stars Compulsive 30 Jun 2013
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
Susanna Gregory never fails to entertain and educate. I've learned more about 14th Century history from her novels than I ever did at school.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
5.0 out of 5 stars Jus another cracking good read! 18 April 2013
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
I'm a firm addict of this series of books. Always an unexpected turn and useful 'investigation' recaps throughout the book so as not to lose the thread!
If you enjoy medieval murder mysteries then get this book!
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
5.0 out of 5 stars Susanna gregory Matthew Bartholomew 24 Feb 2013
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
As usual I enjoyed this story, good characters and made you feel as if you are in Medieval Cambridge. Nice to meet favourite people again.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Would you like to see more reviews about this item?
Were these reviews helpful?   Let us know
Most Recent Customer Reviews
Search Customer Reviews
Only search this product's reviews

Customer Discussions

This product's forum
Discussion Replies Latest Post
No discussions yet

Ask questions, Share opinions, Gain insight
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 

Search Customer Discussions
Search all Amazon discussions
   


Look for similar items by category


Feedback