Start reading A Strong Hand to Hold on your Kindle in under a minute. Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here or start reading now with a free Kindle Reading App.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

 
 
 

Try it free

Sample the beginning of this book for free

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Anybody can read Kindle books—even without a Kindle device—with the FREE Kindle app for smartphones, tablets and computers.
A Strong Hand to Hold
 
 

A Strong Hand to Hold [Kindle Edition]

Anne Bennett
4.5 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (6 customer reviews)

Kindle Price: £3.32 includes VAT* & free wireless delivery via Amazon Whispernet
* Unlike print books, digital books are subject to VAT.

Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition £3.32  
Hardcover --  
Paperback £3.50  
Audio, Cassette, Audiobook --  
Audio Download, Unabridged £12.24 or Free with Audible.co.uk 30-day free trial
Kindle Summer Sale: Over 500 Books from £0.99
Have you seen the Kindle Summer Sale yet? Browse selected books from popular authors and debut novelists, including new releases and bestsellers. Learn more

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought


Product Description

Review

Praise for Anne Bennett:

‘A powerful read that will have you gripped.’ Yours

‘[Anne Bennett is] blessed with a vivid imagination and a natural aptitude for writing’ Daily Post

‘An affecting story, populated with rich, beautifully drawn characters.’ Choice

‘The beauty of Anne’s books is that they are about normal people and are sewn through with human emotions which affect us all’ Birmingham Post

Product Description

A heartbreaking tale of love and loss in a time of war, perfect for fans of Katie Flynn and Annie Groves.

Jenny O’Leary is devastated one morning in 1940 when she receives a telegram giving her the dreadful news that one of her brothers has been killed in action. Grief threatens to engulf her, but as an ARP warden, tending to Birmingham’s injured after the nightly raids, she is well-used to the suffering that thousands are enduring every day.

Linda Prosser is just twelve years old and desperately close to her mother and two tiny brothers. As the bombs drop around them one fateful night, Linda takes a risk which has disastrous consequences. Terrified, and buried beneath a mass of debris after her home takes a direct hit, it is Jenny who crawls through the wreckage of the house to rescue her.

So begins a friendship which is last through the years. But when Linda falls in love with a man that Jenny despises, she is faced with sacrificing her future happiness for the friend who has given her everything…


Product details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 1213 KB
  • Print Length: 480 pages
  • Publisher: Harper (3 July 2014)
  • Sold by: Amazon Media EU S.à r.l.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B00I7K2FWQ
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Average Customer Review: 4.5 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (6 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #1,480 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  •  Would you like to give feedback on images?


More About the Author

Hi, my 18th novel 'A Girl Can Dream' was published by Harper Collins and released on 22nd May 2014. I began writing in 1995 when I was no longer able to teach, because writing was something I'd always longed to do. So I wrote 4 books for children, numerous short stories and a thriller before I found my niche as a saga writer and my first book, "A Little Learning" was accepted in 1997 by Headline Publishing. In 2001 I changed publishers and "Walking Back to Happiness" was published by Harper Collins and since then I have been producing a book for them every nine months.Details of all my books are on my web site www.annebennett.co.uk Check it out and get in touch if you'd like to. I would love to hear from you..

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?


Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
4.5 out of 5 stars
Most Helpful Customer Reviews
8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Strong Hand to Hold 23 Jan 2013
Format:Paperback|Verified Purchase
Really pleased with all my orders as I live in Canada and have them sent to my 84 year old aunt in Scotland. Service has been great any any used books that I have bought for her she says they all look like brand new books. She has read every Anne Bennett book that has been released. Would highly recommend Anne Bennett books as my aunt loves them.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
By ferdie
Format:Paperback
originally published in 1999, despite the author telling us this is her 24th book it is actually her third but worth a read if you didn't read it the first time around.
Was this review helpful to you?
5.0 out of 5 stars A strong hand to hold 16 July 2014
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
Enjoyed this book very much. The characters were believable and it was good to read about the war. Two women stuck together for the rest of their lives. A must read.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?

Customer Discussions

This product's forum
Discussion Replies Latest Post
No discussions yet

Ask questions, Share opinions, Gain insight
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 

Search Customer Discussions
Search all Amazon discussions
   


Look for similar items by category