Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Image Unavailable

Image not available for
  • Sorry, this item is not available in
  • Image not available

Stravinsky: The Fairys Kiss/ Scenes De Ballet CD

Price: £14.19 & FREE Delivery in the UK. Details
Only 1 left in stock (more on the way).
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
23 new from £9.05 3 used from £6.98

Product details

  • Conductor: Volkov
  • Composer: I. Stravinsky
  • Audio CD (29 Mar 2010)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Format: CD
  • Label: Hyperion
  • ASIN: B0037TTQ3S
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 313,469 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

1. Prologue: Lullaby in the Storm. Andante
2. A Village Fete. Tempo Giusto
3. At the Mill - Pas De Deux. Moderato
4. Epilogue: Lullaby in the Land of Eternity. L'istesso Tempo
5. Introduction. Andante
6. Danses 'Corps De Ballet'. Moderato
7. Variation 'Ballerina'. L'istesso Tempo
8. Pantomime. Lento
9. Pas De Deux. Adagio
10. Pantomime. Agitato Ma Tempo Giusto
11. Variation 'Dancer'. Risoluto
12. Variation 'Ballerina'. Andantino
13. Pantomime. Andantino
14. Danses 'Corps De Ballet'. Con Moto
15. Apotheose. Poco Meno Mosso

Product Description

Product Description

BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra - Ilan Volkov, direction


What a joy to hear a conductor with the right instinct for tempo co-ordination and continuity,so vital in the rapid changes of the opening scene. i hope Volkov's stravinsky series continues. BBC music orchestral choice performance ***** recording **** --BBC music magazine,june 2010

One of the TOP ALBUMS OF 2010 --Sunday Times

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See the customer review
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

1 of 3 people found the following review helpful By P. Harlech on 12 Nov 2011
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
This CD contains ballet music of which I was previously ignorant. It has opened up a whole new world to me.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)

Amazon.com: 1 review
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
Volkov's 2nd Stravinsky disc is first-rate 1 Nov 2010
By Amazon Customer - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
Ilan Volkov's second Stravinksy disc for Hyperion is as brilliant and incisive as his first. "The Fairy's Kiss" is probably not the first, second or even tenth Stravinsky work that comes to mind when enumerating the great ballets of this composer. But this compendium of Tchaikovsky pieces is so admirably performed by the Scottish BBC Symphony Orchestra that it amounts to very persuasive advocacy of this score. I can only hope Volkov will make a third Stravinsky disc soon. "Scenes de Ballet", also in this collection, has a Pas de deux trumpet aria that is one of the loveliest moments in all of Stravinsky's music and its beauty is one of the highlights of this CD.
Was this review helpful? Let us know

Customer Discussions

This product's forum
Discussion Replies Latest Post
No discussions yet

Ask questions, Share opinions, Gain insight
Start a new discussion
First post:
Prompts for sign-in

Search Customer Discussions
Search all Amazon discussions

Look for similar items by category