3 used & new from £58.95

Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Image Unavailable

Image not available for
  • Strange Tale of Captain Shannon and the Hunchback from Gigha
  • Sorry, this item is not available in
  • Image not available

Strange Tale of Captain Shannon and the Hunchback from Gigha

Available from these sellers.
1 new from £61.95 2 used from £58.95

Product details

  • Audio CD (7 April 2008)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: Sunbeam
  • ASIN: B0014BT7H6
  • Other Editions: Vinyl
  • Average Customer Review: 4.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 430,954 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

1. Hymn For Sylvia
2. Masquerade
3. Sucking On A Cigarette
4. He Who Knows All
5. The Lobster Quadrille
6. Butterfly Land
7. Purple Hazy Melancholy
8. Sing Me a Song
9. The Strange Tale Of Captain Shannon And The Hunchback From Gigha

Product Description

I will ship by EMS or SAL items in stock in Japan. It is approximately 7-14days on delivery date. You wholeheartedly support customers as satisfactory. Thank you for you seeing it.

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See the customer review
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

4 of 5 people found the following review helpful By Archy on 23 April 2008
Format: Audio CD
Having bought this on vinyl in the 1970s I've been looking forward to its official release on CD for many years, so was delighted that its time has finally come. It's a great album, better than Amaryllis, which was actually recorded at the same time, with a view to a double album release. The first side is heavier, the Dylanesque Hymn For Sylvia and the dark He Who Knows All being standout tracks. Later tracks - the second side - include a light hearted piece of Lewis Carroll, a couple of softer folk songs by Angie Rew, Carolyn Davis' beautifully sung Purple Hazy Melancholy, and the title track, surely David McNiven's greatest composition. And yet... I'm disappointed. The sound is flat; there's no atmosphere, no guts to this recording. I don't know who transferred it to CD, but my vinyl copy, which I listen to on tape, still sounds better than this after nearly forty years. A shame, but don't let this put you off hearing this brilliant, forgotten classic!
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)

Amazon.com: 1 review
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
Classic British Acid Folk 23 Aug. 2010
By PDR12 - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Audio CD
I have to admit I was always a little hesitant about buying this record because of the lack of proper reviews on the internet. Plus,I heard that Amaryllis was their masterpiece and that this record and their first could not compare. While, I do believe that Amaryllis is their best this beautiful record should not be ignored. It's not as ambitious as their 3rd but that is not really a bad thing! If you like side 2 of Amaryllis you should love this record too! This one consists of 9 tracks that range from upbeat electric acid folk to softer songs sung by the ladies of the band. Either way they sound tight, and cool. The final track is a long story that just keeps getting better and better with each listen. There is also a gorgeous break in the middle of track that sounds very trippy! However, the highlight on this for me is the track "He Who Knows All" to my ears this is the coolest track they ever did. It's highly psychedelic and the lyrics are very interesting(leaning towards questioning religion). The "Lobster Quadrille" is taken from Alice In Wonderland and is a complete joy. All other tracks are solid, some may be slightly twee but not more than say Kaleidoscope. In fact the title track on this record is done in a similar formula as "The Sky Children from Kaleidoscope's Tangerine Dream. If your a fan of good UK psych and psych folk you will with out a doubt love this record!
Was this review helpful? Let us know

Customer Discussions

This product's forum
Discussion Replies Latest Post
No discussions yet

Ask questions, Share opinions, Gain insight
Start a new discussion
First post:
Prompts for sign-in

Search Customer Discussions
Search all Amazon discussions

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?

Look for similar items by category