Buy Used
Condition: Used: Good
Comment: This book is in good condition and fulfilled by Amazon which means it is eligible for Amazon Prime. The book itself may have been used before but will be largely free of stains and markings. Textbooks may have slight highlighting. Corners may be slightly bent and spine may be creased but overall in solid condition with money back guarantee.
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

The Stone Book Quartet Paperback – 14 May 1992

1 customer review

See all 3 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Paperback, 14 May 1992

Product details

  • Paperback: 224 pages
  • Publisher: HarperCollinsChildren'sBooks; 1st Collection Edition edition (14 May 1992)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0001842897
  • ISBN-13: 978-0001842892
  • Product Dimensions: 21 x 12.8 x 2.2 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 90,620 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Author

Alan Garner was born in Congleton, Cheshire, in 1934. His began writing his first novel at the age of 22 and is renowned as one of Britain's outstanding writers. He has won many prizes for his writing, and, in 2001 he was awarded the OBE for services to literature. He holds two honorary doctorates and is a Fellow of the Society of Antiquaries of London. In 2004 he co-founded The Blackden Trust

Product Description

From the Back Cover

'In the dark his hands could read. And in the dark his hands could hear…'

High up in the chapel steeple a child is astonished to feel his own name carved in stone by one of his ancestors from long ago. The skilful work of a family of craftsmen through the generations threads together the four stories in this book. With each story a masterpiece in its own right.

‘artistry that is nothing short of breathtaking…’
'Times Literary Supplement'

About the Author

Alan Garner was born and still lives in Cheshire, an area which has had a profound effect on his writing and provided the seed of many ideas worked out in his books.

His fourth book, ‘The Owl Service’ brought Alan Garner to everyone’s attention. It won two important literary prizes – The Guardian Award and the Carnegie Medal – and was made into a serial by Granada Television. It has established itself as a classic and Alan Garner as a writer of great distinction.

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See the customer review
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

Format: Hardcover Verified Purchase
I read this book many years ago and loved it. I was very surprised when a friend, who is a big fan of Alan Garner, said she hadn't read it. I found this copy on line and bought it for her. It was a really nice edition with good quality paper and complete with dust jacket. I haven't heard from her yet but I'm sure she will love it too. It is on my list of most favourite books ever.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on (beta) 2 reviews
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
A well crafted read . . . 3 Oct. 2000
By Tom Voaden - Published on
Format: Paperback
Alan Garner's quartet of novellas follows a working class family through four generations in Cheshire, (northern England). The stories are written in regional dialect, however, they are very accesible and enjoyable. Garner is, primarily, a writer of children's literature and it is perhaps, therefore, no surprise that his stories focus on the child characters in each generation. A little serious and quaint, however, the stories are engaging and intensely well crafted.
One of the best young adult books ever, to be read by all 16 July 2014
By Leitha - Published on
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
One of the most beautifully crafted books of all time. This is purportedly a children's/young adult novel but the writing is so fine, thoughtful and economical that it (as Garner's other works) can surely be called a classic for all ages. If you discovered it as a child/young adult it will accompany you your whole life long and you will find new beauty at each reread. Through the eyes of children, Garner describes the ancient crafts of the stonemason, the smith, the reaper, with an eye for fine detail, a feel for local habits of speech, and above all an acute sense of an almost mystical heritage, the beauty and accomplishment of the ancient crafts and the simple wisdom of their practitioners, past and present. The four books each delve into an event in the lives of four generations of craftsmen in northwest England, apparently based on Garner's own family. There is a clear emphasis on the physical, emotional and even spiritual links between generations.
Were these reviews helpful? Let us know