Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars14
4.6 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 24 August 2009
What a gem !This cornucopia of maritaime morsels is an absolute delight. All the way through this book there are bit size pieces of information, clearly and cleverly set out which makes it easily digestible.You can dip in and out at your leisure, with each section and subject easy to find and written in a pleasing style.
I recommend it for anyone who is curious about the sea,our linguistic history and particularly to Quiz setters.
If you run a pub quiz, you really shouldn't be without a copy.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 23 February 2010
Having read all the Kydd series, I eagerly grabbed this as soon as I saw it and was not disappointed; there are lots of interesting snippets from all periods of the great ages of sail, many of them overturning long-held popular misconceptions - great for those "Did you know ... " moments at the pub or a party.
Obviously Mr Stockwin had to do a great deal of research to provide the authentic background and "feel" to his novels, and has evidently squirreled away all those odd-ball facts and anecdotes for the future, in order to compile this little gem of a book.
Each entry covers about a page, usually with an illustrative drawing, artwork or portrait to accompany the text, and there are explanations of common phrases which have been derived from nautical tradition, which makes this a perfect bedtime read.
Thoroughly recommended.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 June 2010
I am a very experienced bosun's mate on tallships, namely the Lord Nelson and Tenacious, operated by the charity the Jubilee Sailing Trust, which are the only two Tallships in the world that take able and disabled crews to sea. Apart from that I am a Yachtmaster ex Royal Marine etcetara. Maritime Miscellany is a fantastic book of the golden age of sail. A collection of facts and history that is a must on any sailors bookshelf, whether at home or on board. I have rarely seen or read a reference book that is so easy to read and extremely interesting. If you want to win sea quizzes anywhere in the world this is the book you need at hand.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2010
Everyone will learn something new from this collection of tales and legends of the sea, plus the fascinating origins of current everyday expressions such as slush fund, hand over fist, wiping the slate clean. There is a mine of information in this ditty bag - and still some pirate treasure to be found - allegedly. Stockwin also corrects some of our best known maritime misquotes (Nelson's last words were not 'Kiss Me Hardy'). Some nice engraved illustrations add artistic detail to the stories. A great book to take when you head for the heads (look it up), or to impress your pub quiz friends.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2010
It is suggested that you read Maritime Miscellany before you with great pleasure ( I am sure) dig into 'The life of Thomas Kydd'. read them all, they are fantastic and each book is different. Good reading.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 September 2014
I was lucky enough to win a hardback copy of this beautiful book in an online competition, and very beautiful it is too! Great design of cover and interior are evocative of the gold age of the sea, and it's packed with well-explained facts and myths that will fascinate anyone with any connection with the sea, whether as a professional or leisure sailor or a lover of historical fiction and films set at sea. It's the sort of book that you have to keep sharing gems from with whoever happens to be nearby: "Did you know....?"

An easy book to dip into, ideal for the coffee table, guestroom or waiting room. A great gift too, especially in hardback.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 September 2009
A handy book of sea which is filled with interesting facts and information. Worth every penny!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 July 2014
Having read all his Kydd's novels (or should it be navel's?), this concoction of tales and anecdotes is a great read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 August 2014
It is to be recommended to any person interested in naval history and the derivation English terms and phases
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 May 2014
once i started it , i found it so interesting i did not put it down till the last page
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£7.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)