FREE Delivery in the UK on orders with at least £10 of books.
Only 15 left in stock (more on the way).
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon.
Gift-wrap available.
Quantity:1
Stitch Head has been added to your Basket
Used: Very Good | Details
Sold by the book house
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: This item will be picked, packed and shipped by Amazon and is eligible for free delivery within the UK
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Stitch Head Paperback – Illustrated, 1 Aug 2011


See all 5 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Paperback, Illustrated
"Please retry"
£4.99
£0.17 £0.01
£4.99 FREE Delivery in the UK on orders with at least £10 of books. Only 15 left in stock (more on the way). Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.

Frequently Bought Together

Stitch Head + The Pirate's Eye (Stitch Head 2) + The Ghost of Grotteskew (Stitch Head)
Price For All Three: £15.97

Buy the selected items together


Product details

  • Paperback: 176 pages
  • Publisher: Stripes Publishing, an imprint of Magi Publications (1 Aug. 2011)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1847151833
  • ISBN-13: 978-1847151834
  • Product Dimensions: 12.9 x 1.4 x 19.8 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 4.5 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (8 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 122,639 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Author

Guy is an award-winning author, whose children's books series include Stitch Head, Teh Legend of Frog, Dinkin Dings, Atomic! and Secret Santa: Agent of X.M.A.S. In 2010 Dinkin Dings and the Frightening Things won a Blue Peter Award for Most Fun Book with Pictures.

Guy's has also written plays for both adults and children. He has previously been a theatre producer, illustrator, temp, gerbil whisperer and has acted his way out of several paper bags. The years he spent honing his 'funny voices' is finally put to good use recording his audio books.

Guy lives in London with his wife and no dog - yet.

Find out more and say hello at guybass.com

Product Description

About the Author

Guy Bass has worked as a theatre producer and writer. He has written plays for both adults and children. He is the author of the Dinkin Dings series and Secret Santa for Stripes. Guy lives in London with his wife. Pete Williamson was born in Derby but now lives in south London. He has worked as a designer for an animation company and also as a psychiatric nurse. Pete's interests include peculiar music, good books and drinking too much coffee.

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful By Ginger Nuts of Horror on 24 Jan. 2013
Format: Hardcover
titch Head carries on the fine tradition of Dinkin, where Dinkin was more a character that the reader laughed at for his silly fear of everything. Stitch Head is a much more sympathetic character, one that you actually feel sorry for and really care for. Despite being ignored by his creator, he still remains unwaveringly faithful to him. This gives him an almost sad little puppy vibe about him.

However don't fret, this isn't a sad story, yes there is a sad emotional core to the story, but Guy Bass surrounds this heart with layers upon layers of witty writing, tongue and cheek humour, and a great deal of excitement. To create a truly wonderful book. This is one of the finest books I have read this year.

It is the perfect sort of book for Dads to read to their kids. I guarantee that the dads will get as much enjoyment from this fantastic piece of literature than their kids will. Just be warned there is a bylaw that states all Dads must do silly voices for all the characters when reading this book.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By Ancient Mariner on 16 May 2015
Format: Paperback
Stitch Head was mad scientist Erasmus' very first Frankenstein-style creation. He and the boy scientist promised to be friends forever. But Erasmus grew up, went on to create more and bigger and wilder creatures, and forgot about Stitch Head. Now, Stitch Head wanders the Castle, uses his own skills to turn Erasmus' terrible creatures into calm and mild monsters, and pines for the old days and his creator/friend.

So, this is sort of like the thinking kid's monster story. There is a spooky castle, a mad scientist, terrifying (comical) creatures, conflict, drama, odd smells and threats galore. But, as a tale of lost friendships, new friendships, moving on from disappointment, becoming independent and rising to the occasion this book presents, subtly and lightly, many moments of real depth.

It's not just farts and drooling monsters; it's not some heavy-handed message book; it's not cutesy; it's never tone-deaf - it's just cheerful, sad, entertaining, involving, and way better than it should be. And it is one of the few books for this age group, at least that I've read lately, in which the illustrations have their own independent charm and nicely complement the narrative. The result is that the whole enterprise is imbued with real cheer and good humor.

And as an added bonus, the characters include a totally kick-butt heroine who arrives half way through, a sneaky villain, a charmingly inept and yet insightful creature sidekick, and some real dramatic suspense. There are also a bunch of sly jokes for the adult reader to help keep mom or dad entertained if they read this along with the kids.

So, well worth a look as a slightly advanced chapter book type read.

Please note that I received a free advance ecopy of this book in exchange for a candid review. Apart from that I have no connection at all to the author or the publisher of this book.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By M. Teiwes on 16 Jan. 2012
Format: Paperback
I am surprised that this little gem of a book has not had more reviews yet because once started, any avid reader(that is children and the adults reading to them)and lover of mysteries,the Gothic with a touch of the Frankensteinesque, will love this book. The characters, the setting, the humour, all with a subtle morality behind it will soon capture young minds and older minds alike.

The main character Stitch Head, lovingly illustrated on the cover and throughout the book, reminds the reader of a Frankenstein's creation without the theme of revenge driving him. In fact, he is what Frankenstein's monster could have been had the rejection of his creator not had such a profound effect on him. Stitch Head shows loyalty, dedication and ingenuity in the face of rejection and loneliness. He is on a mission - to protect his creator from his ever more dangerous creations (and possibly himself) and from the potentially hostile intentions of the villagers living just outside the castle walls whose suspicions about the place might be raised at any moment with disastrous consequences. He really has his work cut out one day, when his master creates yet another dangerous monster which he needs to try and turn peaceful with his cleverly concocted potions. And if that is not enough, there is also a knock on the door from the director of a travelling circus, called Freakfinder, on the hunt for ever more 'weird and terrifying' creatures for his monstrous show. How is Stitch Head going to save the day, the castle, the monsters, his creator and himself?

The style of the novel appeals to a sense of humour and manages to tuck on the heart strings at the same time. Each chapter starts with a witty rhyme, foreshadowing some of the events to follow.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful By Jenny, Wondrous Reads TOP 500 REVIEWER on 11 Oct. 2011
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
Stitch Head is a new gothic children's novel similar in style to The Raven Mysteries and Undead Ed, and is the first book by Guy Bass that I've read. It's funny and kooky, while at the same time heartfelt without being mushy. It's also full of monsters, castles and mad scientists - what more could you want?!

Stitch Head is about a tiny boy who was Professor Erasmus's first ever creation. Erasmus makes all kinds of monsters with multiple limbs or missing eyes, and he does all this within the walls of Castle Grotteskew in the town of Grubbers Nubbin (population: 665). Poor little Stitch Head has been forgotten by the professor, so spends all his time roaming the castle ensuring that no new monsters eat anyone. Nothing changes for him until Fulbert Freakfinder's Travelling Carnival of Unnatural Wonders arrives in town and offers to make him unforgettable. Things don't go quite to plan, though, and Stitch Head finds himself on a very big adventure for a boy his size!

I loved this book right from page one. Stitch Head is a character right up my street: he's flawed, tiny and very, very brave. I felt really sorry for him and his loneliness within Castle Grotteskew, and I was glad when he made friends with a new creation called Creature. Over the course of this book, Stitch Head realises how important friendship is and how forty years of being a cobweb magnet doesn't mean he can't go out and almost-live. Aww!

My favourite children's illustrator, Pete Williamson, is a huge part of this book, and he makes Stitch Head and the other characters and settings come alive. He's made Stitch Head look like a cute, tiny boy that gets clothing tips from Dennis the Menace, while Castle Grotteskew looks super gothic as it looms over the town. He and Guy Bass make a great team, so much so that I'm very much looking forward to the next Stitch Head book. This series is definitely one for fans of The Raven Mysteries and Scream Street - it's dark, monstrous fun!
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Look for similar items by category


Feedback