Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Learn more Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars27
4.7 out of 5 stars
Price:£23.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 4 November 2010
Every buyer needs to know the contents of a boxed set, which is currently lacking on the Amazon web. This boxed set contains 12 discs which are Adam & Evelyne, Woman Hater, Blanche Fury, Madonna of the Seven Moons, Caravan,The Magic Bow, Caesar and Cleopatra, Waterloo Road, Captain Boycott, Fanny by Gaslight, Love Story and The Lamp Still Burns.
Excellent value including some very rare films.
22 comments|88 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 June 2013
Stunning films at a fraction of the cost you would pay elsewhere. We have watched everyone in perfect HD black and white - if such a thing exists! Very good quality. A great bargain buy.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2011
As a 78 year old Film Buff I have very happy memories of these films in the 50's

After the war it gave us entertainment where the visit to the cinema was 3 times a week. Took all our worries away and......rationing.

Many thanks for making it possible to buy these and the superb service you give.
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2010
What a collection! Gypsy dancing, tight trousers, slick hair, whatever you want really, except that it does not contain the one film I wanted "Footsteps in the Fog". However that still is available.

I good watch with chocolate and chardonnay!
11 comment|23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 February 2009
THE QUALITY OF THE WHOLE COLLECTION IS PERFECT FOR THE YEARS THEY HAVE BEEN FILMED.

I AM A LADY OF 73 YEARS OLD, AND THIS ACTOR WAS ALWAYS ONE OF MY FAVORITES.

I HAVE ENJOY INMENSALE, THANK YOU.

ZULMA ANCIC
22 comments|49 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 September 2014
Excellent in every way - no loud background music, no car chases just lovely romantic scenes and good story lines. Pure bliss and wonderful escapism. Quality of the films, considering their age, is perfect. Definitely, to be recommended.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 December 2012
Stunning quality! Great collection of older, rarer films. Highly recommendable not only for Stewart Granger fans but all movie buffs.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 April 2011
It is said that Stewart Granger was the last of the swashbucklers. Before he became one in Hollywood he was the essential dashing hero of British films during and shortly after the war. This collection proves he was a great actor with looks to match. It is well to accept that the stories and some dialogue are from another age but then what's wrong with that? They are an insight and an education into moments of history, melodrama and even good grammar! The quality of these dvds is excellent and has two films in colour. But black and white or colour, Stewart Granger was the most handsome of all.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 September 2013
Great value for money, maybe a bit old fashioned but they're great entertainment - they don't make 'em like this anymore.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2013
What a pleasure to find such obscure films as 'Madonna of the Seven Moons' and 'Caravan' and 'Love Story' All acted as if life depended on it, as I suppose it did, for these films were part of world war 11. The were what thousands of people qude to see to take themselves away from the horrors going on all around us. they were pure escapism as they were ment to be, and despite there absurdities and sentimentality, are an important part of British film history It is a pity they have not been remastered and there is no information with any of them,and no cast lists on the actual films, but nonetheless a joy to have
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)