Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars16
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
14
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£18.27+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 1 November 2006
A superb sitcom series and my personal all time favourite comedy series. This double feature DVD containing the only two Steptoe movies made, compliments very well the Steptoe series that were made prior to the films. A must have for Steptoe fans and I'm sure that if you aren't a fan, after viewing this DVD, you soon will be.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 July 2005
Steptoe and Son had an amazingly successful screening on TV and could only continue this success onto the big screen. This double feature DVD is great to have and gives you a piece of british acting and writing at its best.
However unlike previous episodes, the first movie, in my opinion, is a bit mature and emotionally packed for Steptoe and Son even though it is very good and the acting by Harry H. Corbett and Wilfrid Brambell is first rate. Steptoe had dealt very successfully with marriage (absence of), children etc in single episodes on TV before but they had always been light hearted and very funny with Albert trying to keep Harold at home with him as he would get lonely without him. In this movie it appears to be very deep and this is most probably due to the actors performance. In this first feature Harold actually gets married but for how long with Alberts menacing influence in the background. Overall very good but not 100% Steptoe and Son (maybe 90%)
Now for the best feature - Steptoe and Son Rides again. This is pure brilliance. This is 100% Steptoe. Again as expected the Steptoe's are in financial difficulty due to the horse retiring due to injury and of course financial wizard Harold goes to buy a new one. But what he comes home with would have a hard job pulling a horse and cart. There is the usual womanising by Harold on the rounds with some top stars and is on form. The bit with Albert's death certificate and doctor Popilwell is first rate.
An excellent double feature and excellent value for money. If you like Steptoe and Son buy it, if you like classic british comedy then buy it as well
0Comment|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 15 February 2008
The 1st film is the weaker, Harold's romance takes centre stage, and the comedy loses out a bit, but it still isn't too bad.
The 2nd is great, a feature length version that gets the balance just right, probably the best film version of any British sitcom of that era.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 May 2013
How many sitcoms can YOU think of that DIDN'T get a spin off movie or 2? I came up with Fawlty Towers and then could think of no more...anyway....moving on. I generally find these spin off movies to be, as the title of the review suggests, very hit or miss; but having never actually watched ANY of the Steptoe shows, I found the only appreciable way to approach these films was as films, and not as extensions of something I already knew.

The first film, if reviewed alone, would have got a pawltry 2 stars. It starts well, but then the main plot centres around Harold falling for a splendidly good-looking stripper. Yeah, a stripper. So, eyes duling rolling at the inevitability of the plotline, I proceeded to assume that she was "really a nice girl wot only took 'er clothes orf coz she needed the money but what she reeeely wanted was a nice man to love her for who she was", because, hey, this is the 70s, and stereotyping is not so much a norm as a constitutional right. Except.....that ISN'T the case.... she actually LIKES the exhibitionism of her work and enjoys the empowerment of her sexuality. Yippee. Happy days all round except it begs the question of WHY she wanted to go for the somewhat horse-faced Harold who is pretty classless, utterly penniless and emotionally stilted. But I'm reading too much into it because it's just a comedy, right? Well no. Because right from the moment the 2 meet you know the whole film is going to be set up to humiliate Harold. And it does. And you know how in comedy you find yourself laughing at people's ineptitude? Then you start to feel sorry for them and that makes the laughing at them seem ok, because now you care for them? Well Corbett plays the part TOO WELL so you bypass all that emotion and just end up really hating the other people in the film. I doubt that was the intention and it left me with a sour taste in my mouth.

However, the writers redeemed themselves immensely with the second film. It's rare to see a film that actually makes me laugh out loud, but that happened on this one many times. Without the troublesome third party, the plot can do what it needs to and centre around the two main characters. Their interaction and chemistry is joyous. Harold finds himself duped into buying a greyhound from a crook; not any old greyhound - one that can't see. There are chortles aplenty as the 2 attempt to recoup their losses, only to find themselves now in debt with a nasty London badboy and devoid of anything (apart from a myopic dog). The film saves its most clench your sides moments for the last half hour and not wishing to spoil it, I shall suffice to say it really is hilarious. There are also some pleasant additions of some well-loved actors in some scenes. Diana Dors shows up, all blonde hair and blue eyes, looking every bit the epitome of 70s chic; although her initial moments with Corbett were uncomfortably similar to the first blue film I saw - so much so in fact that I hastily fast forwarded to make sure that I wasn't going to see any of that nastiness again (I didn't - phew) - also Yootha Joyce, Bill Maynard and Olga Lowe to name but a few.

I'd recommend anybody to get this dvd double-pack, my strong suggestion is you watch the second film first!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2007
Steptoe and Son was the original British comedy which is superior in every respect to Sanford and Son, which over here in america is the poormans version of Steptoe and Son, and I am not just saying that because I am english originally.

This is a far superior comedy duo and comedy series in total those immortal words "Arold!" and the ever dieing of Wilfred Brambell was hilarious, when ever Stanley Corbet did something wrong, lol.

Those were the times and a lot less hassle in the world as such, I would relish going back to those times, however still living in america though, lol.
11 comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 June 2012
Ha ha simply two classic films, steptoe and sonwere, and will always be one of the greatest comedies ever, and these two film versions provide some great classic steptoe moments, from the old man picking up horse muck and eatin his sandwiches, or gettin out of a coffin at his own funeral after falling asleep. Sadly nowadays there are very few comedies in this caliber, and as they say, they dont make em like they used to.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 June 2013
I remember watching these films many years ago. Forty years later and they still make me laugh. I was looking for some time for the 'Steptoe & Son Rides Again' after viewing it on a Television channel. so funny. Overjoyed to find it on Amazon. These films are unique, the quality is excellent, a reasonable price. I thoroughly recommend this purchase.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 January 2014
Steptoe & Son will always be in my mind one of the great british comedy greats.Both films are full of great comedy moments and my favorite is from Steptoe & Son when Albert is having a bath in the sink and when he gets up to dry himself he gives his neighbor Mrs Moss such a fright !
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 October 2004
Brilliant DVD's, you would have to be a moron not to understand the quick fire humour, the gags come thick and fast. Maybe some of it is schoolboy humour but it's a great laugh. There are 10 good laughs in the first few minutes in the first one. It is classic comedy at it's best, coarse, bawdy and brilliantly funny, well written and well acted. Albert and Harold are great foils for each other. Never mind the politics, just enjoy the films for what they are, clever (although dated by todays politically correct prats) and simple.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 July 2013
Comedy is very subjective to different people but I find these brilliant and have also the complete box set of every episode ever made as well so found these going and had to buy them. British comedy at its best I would say.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)